We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Lodge

Save Saved
You added Funky Monkey Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Monkey Lodge
center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time I have visited Santa Teresa and the first time staying at the Funky Monkey. I loved the place, very nice and comfortable accomodations. It was relaxing and quiet. Loved the food, the chief Juan is such an artist! The whole staff was just delightful and very helpful with figuring out the tours. Gabby and her husband are so nice. Thank you for this wonderful experience! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    27
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
49
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Funky Monkey Lodge with Chica Surf Adventures, if we had arrived with expectations reality would have blown them away. The property is situated perfectly in the hillside, close to great cafes, surf shops, the beach entrance, and the market. The echo of the crashing waves lulls you to sleep and in the morning the monkeys and chickens make sure you wake up!! Its' heaven on Earth, this piece of Santa Teresa. Gabi offers acrobatic silks classes and is a great teacher, the studio is always accessible, for yoga as well. With the breeze coming in off the Pacific it was one of my favorite places to hang out, followed by a dip in the tranquil pool. The food they make here is amazing. Breakfast made me smile every morning, always lots of fresh fruit and strong coffee. Dinner was always fresh fish, like, the fish truck just drove through town fresh, and was served every nights with my favorite salad ever. The guys who work there take pride in the food they serve and they are awesome. We really enjoyed all of our meals at the Monkey and just hanging at the bar or losing at pool. This place is amazing and you should for sure stay here!!

Room Tip: The apartments have AC and a great ocean view, but there are a LOT of stairs to get to them, I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Absolutely a great place for backpackers with great service and food! The people working there are very nice. It is also great for solo travelers I have to say. However, it is not a five star place, people come here for the atmoshpere and great dinners/drinks in the evening

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My group of friends and I stayed at the funky monkey for a week on a surf vacation. The layed back relaxing atmosphere in combination with the welcoming friendly staff is the perfect representation of the wonderful pace of life in Santa Teresa! We started our morning with a great breakfast and hot coffee prepared by the staff, and after a full day of all that Santa Teresa had to offer we came back to a fantastic dinner of fresh caught fish. Our room had a great ocean view, and all rooms have access to a community kitchen for the option of preparing our own meals with the option to save some money. I would recomend this to anyone looking for a place to stay! I will be back to Costa Rica and I will be staying at the funky monkey!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about staying at the Funky Monkey. I randomly heard about it from a girl on a plane two years ago and decided to go for it. After having other hostels/hotels recommended to me, I still settled on the Funky Monkey after reading the reviews.

I stayed in the "hostel" room with bunks. They are very clean and surprisingly extremely comfortable. Even in the dorm beds, the beds were made everyday and the rooms were cleaned. Although there are lockers available and it's always good to be safe, I never locked my passport/money up and felt completely safe about it. The only downfall (which isn't really a downfall) was the shower which barely had any water coming out of it. However, it was the dry season and it isn't much different anywhere else.

Being a 21-year old woman, I was a bit nervous about traveling alone, and this was the perfect place to be. It's so easy to meet people, including other solo travelers and just to have a place to hang out. Gabi, Bruno, Nacho and everyone else were so nice and helpful. I recommend booking directly through the Funky Monkey.

I always had someone to surf with and someone to go to dinner with/do anything else that I wanted. It's a really chill but social atmosphere which is exactly what I wanted. It is about five minutes from the beach which was a bit of a hike with a 7-foot surfboard but I got used to it. It is about three minutes from a supermarket where I would grab fruit for lunch and really in the middle of everything you want. I liked the fact that I wasn't staying all the way to one side of the town. It's about a 15-minute walk far down either end and the Funky Monkey is perfectly in the middle. Not to mention, the beach access is to what I think is the best stretch of beach in the area.

I saw the Funky Monkey as a sort of combination between a hotel/lodge just with two hostel-like rooms. The hostels on the beach seemed louder and nowhere near as clean. I met a few people who moved from other places to the Funky Monkey for those reasons. STAY HERE! You will not regret it. Also, the food is amazing.. the bar is a little pricey but the food is similar to anywhere else in Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are above the communal kitchen, which is up a MILLION stairs. I would not want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here after a last minute change in our trip! The owners were so nice and were able to squeeze us in the last room available! The rates were very reasonable- would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book early so you can get the best choice of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of a bodyboarding holiday and what a great place to be. A short 5 minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world plus some amazing wildlife right in front of your room. We also enjoyed the friendly relaxed service and very good breakfasts. IT was also nice to chill out by the shady pool in the hot sunshine.

Overall we would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Lodge

Address: center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach lodge on a natural hill in the middle of a private jungle, away from the main street but only 200m walking from the main surfer beach, famous for its white sand and perfect waves. Great place for solo travelers, couples, families or groups. Clean and comfortable rooms with daily maid, free wireless, free and secure parking, safe place with restaurant and swimming pool. Great getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Funky Monkey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Hotel Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.