We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice last minute stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Lodge

Save Saved
You added Funky Monkey Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Funky Monkey Lodge
center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice last minute stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here after a last minute change in our trip! The owners were so nice and were able to squeeze us in the last room available! The rates were very reasonable- would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Book early so you can get the best choice of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    27
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
49
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of a bodyboarding holiday and what a great place to be. A short 5 minute walk to one of the most beautiful beaches in the world plus some amazing wildlife right in front of your room. We also enjoyed the friendly relaxed service and very good breakfasts. IT was also nice to chill out by the shady pool in the hot sunshine.

Overall we would strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed in one of the little bungalows and really enjoyed my experience there. The best part of this hotel is having your own balcony. My sister and I ate all of our meals there and spent some time reading on rainy days (you are protected from the rain!). The kitchen was convenient, quite well stocked, not the cleanest place I've seen but still veyr functional and convenient when trying to save money on restaurant meals. The beach is gorgeous and only a 5 minute walk from the lodge. We took a surfing lesson with their instructors which was great, and cheap. We each had our own private instructor for 3 hours, at the cheap cost of 35$ each! The bungalows are not closed up, so bugs and reptiles in the room are to be expected. As well, bear in mind that you will wake up every morning at 4am because of the howler monkeys, barking dogs and roosters!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

we meant to stay for 2 nights. it was easy to extend for another night even for a week if time wasnt too short. mal pais is a real nice place with beautiful sunsets every night but what made us feel special and comfortable from the very first minute was the lodge itself and mostly the wonderful crew of the lodge. special thanks for an awesome 4 days to leon, nara, tali, sebastian, nacho and amanda! u guys are f..... amazing!!!
much love and pura vida,
farida and sina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

From a surfers perspective The Funky Monkey is perfect. A super cool staff and communal vibe from the guests with lots of knowledge of surf breaks. Like most anywhere, the tides and swell direction are important so it's good to know what the local scoop is. The food at FM was awesome. My friend and I stayed in one of the rooms up on the hill and there was plenty of space. The only down side was after waking up every morning overlooking tree tops and an ocean view in the distance, I didn't want to leave. Santa Teresa and the Funky Monkey will leave you pondering life... Pura vida.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cariari, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Funky Monkey was a treat. The pool table, ping-pong table, and bar all added to the laid back atmosphere. The howler monkeys at night made you feel like you were in the middle of a jungle. Welcoming staff. Went over Thanksgiving week in 2011 and went back to visit during October 2012. Nothing seemed to change which is a good thing.

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Funky Monkey for a week with 20 girls for a surf camp, then stayed an extra couple nights by myself. The staff was really friendly, the food was amazing and the accommodations were clean and comfortable (despite a ridiculous rainstorm and mud slide).

The bunk rooms were comfortable for a group and the smaller bungalows were very nice.

There is a comfortable communal area where regulars play board games and a little guitar music. Everyone is really comfortable and makes you feel at home.
The bar closes early so it's pretty quiet most nights.

The lodge is about a quarter mile from the beach (with the surf shops about 1/2 way between), an easy walk in flipflops.

The pool is beautiful and quiet.

There is an open air silk yoga studio that has a beautiful view and the instructor is also an owner.

As a female traveling alone I felt very comfortable both in Santa Theresa and at the Funky Monkey. The staff can help you get around or book or recommend any activities you have in mind.

Room Tip: There are rooms both "downstairs" near the restaurant and common area, and rooms "ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Lodge

Address: center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach lodge on a natural hill in the middle of a private jungle, away from the main street but only 200m walking from the main surfer beach, famous for its white sand and perfect waves. Great place for solo travelers, couples, families or groups. Clean and comfortable rooms with daily maid, free wireless, free and secure parking, safe place with restaurant and swimming pool. Great getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Funky Monkey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Hotel Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.