We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Monkey Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Funky Monkey Lodge to your Saves list
Funky Monkey Lodge
center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Large room fo 8 people
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

One off the best places in the world.
They have a really cool place with Pool, yoga dojo, lots of rooms, really good restaurant with the really good Chef Alex.
Lots off adventures, really good surf town, all the staff is really friendly given u the best vacation ever. The owners Emilio and Gabi are simply great, i felt that i was part off there family.
I love u guys and i hope too see u soon...
Funky Monkey ROCKS

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
49
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

What an excellent time we had at the Funky Monkey. Alex makes great food. It's very eclectic and he will do whatever he can to please your palette. Bruno is the bartender/everything else. He's fun to talk to and will give you a run down of what's available to do and how to get to places. They make a great team. The owners are very nice and did us a huge favor, which I won't mention because no-one should expect them to go as out of the way as they did for us.
We did a lot of research before we went to Costa Rica. We knew we wanted to be on the Pacific side and be able to see sunsets etc. We knew it would be hot and there would be bugs. My biggest piece of advice to anyone going would be to prepare and understand what you are getting into. There was no A/C for a week. You sleep with just a ceiling fan and you have to have a mosquito net over the bed. It's very hot and there really isn't much of a breeze. The ocean is for surfing, don't expect to go wade or swimming in gentle waters.
Having said all that, the pool is very nice all times of day to cool off. It's very relaxing to walk along the beach and there are almost always surfers out to watch. We went every morning at 7am to get a cafe con leche and go watch the waves for an hour before breakfast. There are lots of great places to eat in town (Burger Rancho has excellent tuna burgers and veggie burgers, the fries are good, too) but I recommend getting the meal plan and eating what Bruno and Alex cook for dinner and breakfast. Try the Tico Burrito.
With the help of Gabi, one of the owners, we took an ATV to Montezuma for the day (7 hours was $63 which included our gas). We went on the zipline that goes to some waterfalls. It was a great day trip. Getting there was easy and Gabi was very helpful.
Getting to Santa Teresa from San Jose was interesting. Follow Gabi's instructions and take the bus. It takes a little longer than some other methods but it is much more affordable. We took a cab which cost two of us $140 total. It was actually a good thing because it was raining and there were landslides that made the buses take even longer.
Overall it was romantic, rustic, and relaxing. We ate well and really enjoyed our time there.
Thank you very much, Emilio!!!!! It was a great way to end our trip knowing we had a few bucks left in our pockets.
Thank you to everyone there for taking care of us so well and making it an enjoyable experience. Alex and Bruno, you ROCK!!!

Room Tip: Drink tequila and read on the bungalow porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I just spent two weeks at the Funky Monkey in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. I've stayed at many hostels/hotels in my days, and the Funky Monkey rates at the top of the list. The owners, Gabi and Emilio, are great hosts, and the staff is very friendly and hospitable. It felt like a home away from home. The accommodations are perfect for the location. My room was clean, airy, with a killer porch for afternoon reading and relaxing. The food was also excellent. I explored town to check out restaurant options, but ended up eating most meals at the Funky Monkey because the food was the best in town, and the environment was friendly.

Room Tip: ask for the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The Funky Monkey is a nice place to stay, especially if you simply want to relax. It is located above the main strip that runs through Santa Teresa. So it is nice and quiet and close to the beach. I went there with a group for a week and got to know the crew that keep it going - I can't think of enough nice things to say about them. :-)

I also enjoyed relaxing by the pool and getting to know the local iguanas that like to stop in to see what everyone is up to. Listening to the sounds of nature at night that surround the property. Sipping Imperial beer while watching the Stanley Cup playoffs with other lodge guests from Canada and learning interesting facts such as, Sean Avery is not a huge boob like he is when he's on the ice - I believe it too. The rooms are comfortable bungalows with little porches that have two chairs, small table and hammock.

Do not come here if you are not prepared for the weather. It is a very hot, sticky tropical environment. In this part of Costa Rica water is scarce and must be conserved at all costs. So, there is a probable chance that you will be limited to one shower per day. Also be aware that it is very buggy here. There are a lot of skeeters and other creepy crawly things that like to feast on people. If you do not like to be eaten alive, have allergies to bites, you may not want to visit this part of Costa Rica.

If you don't care about that kind of thing, have a sense of adventure, love to surf and meet nice people come to Santa Teresa and stay at the Funky Monkey if you can. :-)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

1. Alex, the chef at the restaurant, is nothing less than amazing! Menu changes constantly and he will try to satisfy your appettite with the best dishes you've ever had in your life.
2. Bruno's mixed drinks and hospitality. He was extremely courteous and helpful. He also makes the most delicious drinks and makes tons of jokes :) (tell Alex and Bruno that Karen from Orlando sent you if you want special treatment... trust me)
3. Gabi's yoga classes. Yoga classes in the middle this place while you listen to the ocean and the sounds of nature is simply amazing.
4. The pool is perfect for an early morning dip or even one in the late afternoon.
5. Atmosphere... I have backpacked in Europe and other places in South America but I had never found a place that made me feel so relaxed and at ease.

When I got to Funky Monkey I was expecting to only stay here for 2 days and ended up staying here for 6 days!!! I miss the staff and everything about this place... I wish I could go back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at the Funky monkey lodge in March for 4 nights ! The people were great : staff and the guests ! Always avalaible to give us some surf advices, .they have a great pool, nice kitchen ! Nothing better in the afternoon to go the grocery, buy some fruits, come back to the Funky Monkey, make a nice fruits plates and enjoy it in the pool ! But just expect that you are in hut, so you always hear the wildlife at night : monkeys, roasters, dogs and party people ! But it was an amazing place, great food and nice people ! Thanks to all of you guys !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We ended up at Funky Monkey by accident, and we loved it. Nahuel, Guillaume, Guillaume's novia (I forget your name!) - all of you guys made us feel really at home (Meghan & Brian from Canada). Here's what we liked:
- service was excellent - everyone was so nice and helpful, and always tried to find solutions to our problems, treated us like friends
- location: really close to the beach, a short walk
- facilities: we loved the pool, the pool table, the kitchen, the communal area for hanging out, watching TV, having a drink
- the beds were good, comfortable

things we didn't like:
- it was noisy in the morning! but that happens everywhere in Costa Rica, pretty much
- it was so, so hot - again, not the fault of the hotel!

That's really all I can think of... we had the most fun staying at Funky Monkey, I wish we could've stayed there for our whole time in Santa Teresa! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Monkey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Monkey Lodge

Address: center of Santa Teresa | 200m From Public School, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach lodge on a natural hill in the middle of a private jungle, away from the main street but only 200m walking from the main surfer beach, famous for its white sand and perfect waves. Great place for solo travelers, couples, families or groups. Clean and comfortable rooms with daily maid, free wireless, free and secure parking, safe place with restaurant and swimming pool. Great getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Funky Monkey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Monkey Hotel Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Santa Teresa
Funky Monkey Lodge Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Monkey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.