We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE IN PARADISE !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Palm Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Red Palm Villas to your Saves list
The Red Palm Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% to 50% OFF Right Now!
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT PLACE IN PARADISE !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We came to Santa Teresa for the first time and immediately fell in love with this quiet, beautiful and peaceful place right at the beach. A friend recommended Red Palms who stayed here a couple of years ago. The friendly communication and care-taking in advance such as our pick-up in Jaco where we stayed previously as well as the boat transfer to Santa Teresa already excited us weeks before we even left Berlin. The owner Mike and also Yateem who manages this wonderful place intrigued us by their full service and always organized anything, even on short notice. Yateem also took care of our car rental and organized the car delivery to the hotel on the day we had to leave. The first day we arrived he booked us into surf lessons with Mick who was also a very patient and great instructor. Everyone at Red Palms including Lucrecia and her colleague as well as the night guards, masseuse and cleaning women were incredibly friendly and helpful.
The place itself is located directly at the quiet end of Santa Teresa s beach and offers some comfy lounges and hammocks as well as a natural garden where you can find iguanas, monkeys and of course not to forget the three cute dogs of Red Palms who hung out at the beach with us and followed us whenever they could. We stayed in one of the suites next to the reception and enjoyed the mixture of open living room and kitchen and inside bed- and bathroom. The suite was cleaned everyday, towels as many as you need and they also put fresh cut flowers into the rooms. You can tell why the name is Red Palms since there are many red palmish trees around and at night there are some very scentic trees filling the air with a wonderful smell. We liked the fact we had a minibar service in addition to using our own kitchen for breakfast and dinner. If you want full room-service and dislike the idea of being really close-and we mean REALLY- to nature and define your vacation by hanging inside watching TV this place might not be for you. But who loves nature will love Red Palms that might be said as a final statement. You can hear all kinds of animals at night but still enjoy a well-tempered room due to the AC. If you are interested in a trip to Tortuga island or anywhere else, Yateem and his associates are happy to help. We left for Playa Grande after having stayed there for 4 nights and we already miss this place!! When we left, Yateem also had print outs ready with our route we had to drive up and he practically called up everyone to see and secure that the road we chose driving up to Samara was safe and not a problem for us. We had to cross 3 rivers but at low tide no prob, just fun. :) we can fully recommend this place to anyone who wants to come up here and we will definitely come back. Hopefully very soon. Good place for all kinds- lovers, families and elderly.

Annika & Florian from Berlin

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
135
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We came to Santa Teresa for the first time and immediately fell in love with this quiet, beautiful and peaceful place right at the beach. A friend recommended Red Palms who stayed here a couple of years ago. The friendly communication and care-taking in advance such as our pick-up in Jaco where we stayed previously as well as the boat transfer to Santa Teresa already excited us weeks before we even left Berlin. The owner Mike and also Yateem who manages this wonderful place intrigued us by their full service and always organized anything, even on short notice. Yateem also took care of our car rental and organized the car delivery to the hotel on the day we had to leave. The first day we arrived he booked us into surf lessons with Mick who was also a very patient and great instructor. Everyone at Red Palms including Lucrecia and her colleague as well as the night guards, masseuse and cleaning women were incredibly friendly and helpful.
The place itself is located directly at the quiet end of Santa Teresa s beach and offers some comfy lounges and hammocks as well as a natural garden where you can find iguanas, monkeys and of course not to forget the three cute dogs of Red Palms who hung out at the beach with us and followed us whenever they could. We stayed in one of the suites next to the reception and enjoyed the mixture of open living room and kitchen and inside bed- and bathroom. The suite was cleaned everyday, towels as many as you need and they also put fresh cut flowers into the rooms. You can tell why the name is Red Palms since there are many red palmish trees around and at night there are some very scentic trees filling the air with a wonderful smell. We liked the fact we had a minibar service in addition to using our own kitchen for breakfast and dinner. If you want full room-service and dislike the idea of being really close-and we mean REALLY- to nature and define your vacation by hanging inside watching TV this place might not be for you. But who loves nature will love Red Palms that might be said as a final statement. You can hear all kinds of animals at night but still enjoy a well-tempered room due to the AC. If you are interested in a trip to Tortuga island or anywhere else, Yateem and his associates are happy to help. We left for Playa Grande after having stayed there for 4 nights and we already miss this place!! When we left, Yateem also had print outs ready with our route we had to drive up and he practically called up everyone to see and secure that the road we chose driving up to Samara was safe and not a problem for us. We had to cross 3 rivers but at low tide no prob, just fun. :) we can fully recommend this place to anyone who wants to come up here and we will definitely come back. Hopefully very soon. Good place for all kinds- lovers, families and elderly.

Annika & Florian from Berlin

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our first trip to Costa Rica as a family. My husband and my daughter and I spent 13 days in Costa Rica celebrating Grace's 7th birthday and Christmas. From our first contact with Red Palm Villas, through the owner of the property, Mike -we knew we were in for a great experience. Booking was a breeze and from there we were placed in the very capable hands of Yateem, Josefina and Lucretia.

Yateem scheduled any and all activities we were interested in, from zip lining to kayaking to the best restaurants in Santa Teresa all with a smile and a great attitude. All of the activities Yateem scheduled for us were top notch - great service, great experiences, he made reservations for us at local restaurants, had ATV's delivered to our door and was incredibly generous with his time and intimate knowledge of the area. Lucretia and Josefina were always on call with recommendations for babysitters and fun things to do for kids. Every detail of our daughters' birthday was handled before we even arrived: a horse back ride through the jungle, a visit to Rainsong animal sanctuary and finally one of the best chocolate cakes we've ever had.

The property itself is absolutely breathtaking, right on one of the best beaches in Costa Rica. We stayed in the Hummingbird Villa which was amazing - all open air and beautiful woodwork. The property was spotless upon our arrival with a well stocked fridge and fresh flowers all over the house. The grounds are very well maintained and we woke every morning to an impeccably clean beach thanks to the incredible maintenance staff.

Overall the only negative thing we could report would be leaving Red Palm Villas - its really that great.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We recently had our weddingmoon at Red Palms Villas and it was dreamlike! We loved everything about the Red Palms especially their staff which was very accommodating and treated us like royalty. We started our stay in the Harmony Villa and ended it in the Honeymoon Villa. Both villas were amazing!

The Harmony Villa is set in the middle of a beautiful garden with plenty of room to relax in a stunning sunroom area. It’s so peaceful! When we arrived waiting for us was a fruit basket, champagne, and delicately placed flower petals with 2 towel swans forming a heart on the bed. Very romantic! These are the types of things that the Red Palms does that make it stand out from the other places we stayed at in Costa Rica. I thought it was a little different and liked the fact that the bathroom in the Harmony Villa is outside. Don’t worry though, it’s no outhouse; the path to reach it is covered and it has a regular toilet, sink, and shower. The howler monkeys liked to jump on the roof of the shower while we were in there.

The Honeymoon Villa is the king of villas though. It is a 2 story villa right on the beach surrounded with breathtaking views. It has the best of both worlds: an air-conditioned bedroom downstairs to cool off in and an open air upstairs bedroom where you can fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. Two of the highlights of the villa are the huge covered patio area where we liked to relax at night and an extraordinary ocean view open air mosaic tiled shower. The Honeymoon Villa was definitely the nicest place we stayed in Costa Rica and looking back we really wish we would have booked it for longer.

The location of the Red Palms is probably our favorite thing about the place. The whole time we were there we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. Our main mode of transportation around town was an ATV that the Red Palms had the rental place drop off for us. Renting an ATV made just cruising around town fun. Santa Teresa and Mal Pais have nice little downtown areas that are right down the road from the Red Palms. Erik, the Red Palms GM, arranged a number of activities for us and helped us with where to go and what to see. Our favorite place we went was the Rainsong Wildlife Sanctuary, a habitat that rescues injured animals and nurses them back to health, where we got to hold baby howler monkeys. Our favorite activity was the zipline in Mal Pais. The zipline operators made it a lot of fun and it has some incredible views. The Cabo Blanco Hike was a little strenuous in the heat, but the breathtaking beach at the end made it worth our struggles. The Montezuma Waterfalls are worth a visit and a perfect place to cool off after the ATV ride there.

Having our wedding at The Red Palms was great because every detail for the ceremony was taken care of for us and they knew the perfect locals to use for each task. Lucrecia, the Red Palms event coordinator, was there for us every step of the way from the planning stages to helping us with the last minute details the day of the ceremony. And I haven’t seen a more beautiful spot for a wedding than the beach in front of the Red Palms. Our photographer they recommended took outstanding pictures and had them edited and on a disc for us before we left. The videographer that they work with made us a memorable keepsake for us to show to everyone that couldn’t make the event. Their officiate/lawyer did an excellent job of putting the ceremony together and is taking care of all the paperwork for us to make sure our marriage is legal. The guitar player was a nice touch for our ceremony and I was able to arrange a song with him beforehand that he played for us while I sang to my new wife. They also arranged for private chef James Kelly to cook us an incredible 4 coarse wedding dinner in our villa and he then served it to us on our patio overlooking the beach. It was the best meal I had in Costa Rica and maybe even in my whole life. The Red Palms put together a destination wedding that far exceeding our expectations.

When booking our trip with Mike, the owner, he told us that we’d be sorry that we were not spending more of our time in Costa Rica at the Red Palms and he was right. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

My husband and I just returned home to Atlanta this past Sunday night from spending 8 days at Red Palm Villas on Santa Teresa Beach. What an amazing experience! We chose Red Palm Villas as the place for our "weddingmoon". We wanted somewhere private, somewhat secluded and beautiful, and Red Palms delivered all of this! The staff, Lucrecia in particular, was outstanding coordinating and handling all the details of our wedding ceremony. She really went the extra mile to make everything so special and beautiful for us. We had a private chef prepare dinner for us in our villa the night of our wedding ceremony, and the food was absolutely delicious! Throughout our time there, we took many walks along the beautiful beach, drove our ATV down by Playa Hermosa and to Montezuma - both had breathtaking views of beach, rainforest, and the wildlife. We spent time relaxing inside of our beautiful Honeymoon Villa, listening to the sound of the waves and the birds around us. There are also 3 dogs who live at Red Palm Villas. These dogs were so sweet and were wonderful companions for us during our stay. We hold a very special place in our hearts for Red Palm Villas and their staff. The staff were readily available and very helpful with anything we needed. They made our wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. We hope to return again for our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadview Heights, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Red Palm Villas was one of the most unique and beautiful places we've ever stayed. We felt like we were living in a treehouse in the Humming Bird Villa--albeit an extremely beautiful, comfortable and exceptional treehouse with the soothing sound of thundering waves and the fabulous beach just steps away. It is the ideal location if you're looking for privacy, seclusion and just some rest and relaxation surrounded by your own tropical paradise. The grounds are well cared for as there seemed to always be someone working hard to make them fabulous looking , and every once in a while you may spot a monkey high up in the trees. The staff is excellent and accommodating and will do everything to make your stay an unforgettable one including arranging all of your excursions, i.e. canopy tours, surf lessons, atv or bike rental, restaurants, etc. Hope to go back someday..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I have been coming to Red Palm Villas for a couple years and am in love w this place. I come every year and simply cant wait to go back.
Last time I came, I came w my mom and my brother. We got to relax and spent quality time together and we have such great memories of this magical place.
I have been fortunate enough to stay in both the beach front villas. I really can't say which one I love most. The hummingbird villa is all made out of wood with such detailed work and the stained glass on the doors and wooden molinillo post are like nothing I've ever seen before. For sure I'm the queen of the jungle here! The view and the sounds of the ocean and crickets and howler monkey is WOW... not to mention you can see the squirls and the iguanas play on the trees right infront of you!
Ok so the honeymoon villa is a bit bigger and if you like a more modern look rather than rustic and a bit more space,this is the place for you. I recomend this place for familys. There is a big patio outside for your big meals and sharing w your loved ones. The bedroom down stairs is big, comfortable and surrounded by windows and there is ac. The bathroom is huge! Double sink and the huge mosaic of a wave is undescribable! I heard it took around 4 months to make. Its open so you can also see the waves as you shower. The second floor is all open w a view all around. There is a bed here to, don't worry there are curtains for privacy. So when I stay here this is where I sleep, I call it ...the Princess bed. I'll fight anyone to sleep here. I love to experience the real thing .... sunrise, the ocean the howler monkeys, the birds singing in the morning. I want it when I'm here. If you perfer no bugs and quiet then the ac bedroom would be for you. I guess its like a loft you could say, the kitchen is open and large, for cooking familys. For me, I just wake w a big smile on my face and get my coffee and sit out in front,enjoy the scenery, the wind in my face. Oh and later on you absolutely have to be free to watch the sunset, w the pink and reds and oranges.. its just breathtaking!!
The decorating in the homes from the colors chosen to the curtains and throws and ceramics and the beautiful fresh birds of paradise and ginger flowers is just all so well thought of. The architecture..The wood work..Everything is handmade w such detailed work. When I look at it, all I think is of the love Mike has put into it to make it so perfect and unique. It just had to be made w love and passion for it to turn out this way. Its perfect.The land is beautiful and clean and well kept, with chairs outside for you to sit in and hammocks also.
Red palm villas crew is amazing always so attentive when u need anything. Everyone is just wonderful! They will help u anything from information of the best restaurants, to any tour, to transportation. There is soo much you could do here.
All I could say is I really can't wait to go back next year and thank you for making my stay so wonderful and memorable! I guess the only down fall about coming here is the broken heart you deal w when its time to go...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Address: Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, private, awesome views, #1 honeymoon villas and suites, full service.A 24 hour front desk.Daily housekeeping included in the room rate.Private bathroom for each unit.If there is a minimum-stay requirement, it must be no more than 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Palm Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.