We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Costa Rica honeymoon to be remembered forever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Palm Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Red Palm Villas to your Saves list
The Red Palm Villas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
VILLAS AVAIL UNTIL DEC 28
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Costa Rica honeymoon to be remembered forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This was our first Costa Rica Vacation, we were celebrating our honeymoon, the entire experience was very impressive. To start, it's rare when you arrive to a resort and it actually exceeds your expectations based on things you saw and read from the internet but The Red Palm Villas definitely surpasses what you see in photos in a wonderful and delightful way. The whole experience made us feel like VIPs- the site, the warm staff and unrelenting service, and the amenities.

We booked their Costa Rica Honeymoon Package, it included private chef service, tours, and transfers, we're very happy we did, there were no hidden costs or surprises which was very nice for a change and in the end it had everything we wanted and still allowed us time to explore on our own and rest and relax as we were exhausted from working hard all year and planning our large wedding back home.

The Honeymoon Villa is so astounding that I got teary eyed at the beauty and even more amazed that we had the good fortune to stay there! It is modern yet has tasteful Asian like details everywhere and it was very spacious (you could have a great party here), full of splendid views of bright blue sea and the waves and white sand beach which you can enjoy from several
rooms, both bedrooms and the porch.

Each day we woke up, we went to the beach to enjoy our coffee or juice and just gave thanks for being so lucky to spend our honeymoon here in Costa Rica. We had heard a lot about Santa Teresa Costa Rica from our friends who travel a lot and actually twice last year randomly the The Red Villas came up...first time we heard it was from a friend who had stayed next door to The Red Palms, he said he actually saw Gisele Bundchen and her husband Tom Brady over there one day as he was walking down the beach, it turned out this is where Tom Brady's family was staying during their wedding which took place just down the beach. You have to imagine how wonderful it felt hearing we were sleeping in a villa that Gisele once slept, honestly, I'm a huge fan of hers, I could see why she choose this place, I felt like a princess the entire time I was there.

The staff is amazing-they keep the place immaculate, are always on site to help you, drivers are available to take you to town (5mins) or to tour you around the area all day. The staff is even there when you come home late at night to make sure all is well. We were unlucky to not meet the owners- they were away in another country where they just had a baby and were staying with family.

The place is really perfect, you quickly feel like part of The Red Palms family as everyone is so kind and gracious and sincere which was other highlight as well as the three dogs who roam the land in a playful way, always taking walks with us and keeping us company. We felt very fortunate to have such a great staff attending to our needs while enjoying 5 star accommodations at a reasonable rate. Great for families, retreats, groups, and yoga classes, so you have it all in exquisite splendor at an exceptional Costa Rica Resort right on the beach with one of a kind views unlike any place we have ever experienced.

If anyone who reads this is a planning a honeymoon, stop looking, you found the place, you will never find a resort more peaceful, private, beautiful, well staffed with such unique and wonderful homes. We're glad we found this place and as often as we say we don't like to visit a place twice, my husband and I know for certain this will always be a special place we will remember and try to visit as often as possible, it really is unique and earns the reputation as the number one spot, thanks everyone at Red Palms for a honeymoon full of magic to be remembered forever.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Wow, it's been 6 weeks since we returned from our vacation with good intentions to write a review and then real life intervened and here we are, where did the time go?
We found Red Palm Villas on line purely by accident and based on the website and the Trip Advisor feedback we decided really quickly it was the place to go. From the time of our first inquiry the standard of customer service was something every other vacation operator should use as their model. Nothing was too much trouble and response was almost immediate. Not only did we book the villa but Mike and his team sorted out all our transport and a nights accommodation in San Jose. As he had promised, his contact was there to pick us up at San Jose airport, took us to an amazing hotel on the hills outside the town and picked us up again next morning for our flight to Tambor. He even offered to come back that evening to take us to a restaurant but we decided to walk into the local area and find a bar. All this for a ridiculously low price. When we arrived at Tambor, sure enough there was a driver to take us the one hour drive to Santa Teresa where of course one of the Red Palm staff took us to our villa AND the quad bike that Mike also booked for us arrived about 15 minutes after us. This NEVER happens in real life!!! We were booked into Hummingbird Villa as we didn't think two of us could really justify the space of the other villas. Hummingbird was great with a lot of glass, oiled wood floors and a large kitchen. The only slight disappointment was that there was nowhere to sit outside, no veranda or deck, which to be fair was clear in the website but we hadn't taken notice. So we are lazing in a hammock on the beach right in front of the villas wondering if we had somehow died and woken up in another world when we noticed that Harmony Villa was not occupied and looked absolutely stunning. A short discussion later and we had paid to upgrade and were moving our freshly unpacked gear into our new home. Oh boy was that a good decision-- the whole ambience, open concept, extensive oiled wood, two floors and an air conditioned double bedroom moved our whole vacation to 11. Our advice to anyone thinking of going there is to book Harmony or Honeymoon Villa as your first choice-- you will not regret it, I guarantee. It was so nice we wanted to stay in at night to enjoy the sunset, animal noises and the evening/night thunderstorms, so in 15 nights we ended up buying fresh fish, salad, fruits, vegetables and the essential beer and wine for 10 of those nights and just hanging out in our beautifully designed and constructed villa! We were right on the beach so breakfasted to the sound of surf. Insects are around, especially no-see-ums but they are not bad. The howler monkeys are entertaining and we had iguanas, bats, frogs and crabs passing through the living room. The whole place is beautifully landscaped and surface water drains away very quickly after a storm. We never felt in any danger anywhere during our stay but it is reassuring to see a security guard wandering around the grounds all night. The staff were always helpful and available but also unobtrusive- everything was so easy. When we left there was a major tropical storm the day before and roads were in bad shape plus the flight from Tambor was cancelled. However thanks to a really helpful taxi driver (also obtained through Red Palm) who waited with us, we got a drive to San Jose where, although we had missed our flight he took us to a hotel which was like a Spanish hacienda and very reasonably priced. The moral here is do not try to get from Santa Teresa to San Jose for an afternoon flight that day. Next time we will plan for a night at the airport.
We could say so much about our trip, the town, the jungle, the beach, the food, the people and the restaurants but it has all been said in words and photos in other reviewsand everyone enjoys something different. Suffice to say we had an amazing time and 2 weeks is a good vacation there, we had no negative experiences and we have many wonderful memories. If you are looking for a beautiful location in an unspoilt part of South America which has enough Western supplies and habits to make it a vacation not an adventure trip then you could find nowhere better than Red Palm Villas in Santa Teresa

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We held our wedding (approximately 50 guests) at Red Palm Villas. We were fortunate to actually visit Red Palm Villas on a previous trip to Costa Rica, prior to deciding to make this our location for the wedding. I saw an advertisement for it on Craigslist, and it turned out to be a gem of a find. We really enjoyed the easy going/laid back feel of the property. We fell in love with the villas, they were exactly what we were looking for (and reflected our personalities), luxurious mixed with a little bit of rusticness. We chose Red Palms as the venue because it is a beautiful property on an amazing beachfront. Red Palm Villas is such a magical place. My family enjoyed our 5 days stay there. All five villas are outstanding and unique! They really are a place for individual peace and relaxation but also a place for family and friends to get together, large enough for everyone to come over and enjoy our "home".

Santa Teresa was a perfect location. The town has a variety of accommodation types to fit any of your guest's budget; from dormitory rooms (hostels) to high end boutique hotels, private villas, or something in the midrange category. There are also supermarkets, restaurants and a phenomenal beach that you can gaze at for endless hours from a hammock or go surfing.

From my very first contact with Mike, the owner, I always received first class service. As a bride planning and preparing for her wedding, I most appreciated his communication style – responded quickly and always addressed every question/concern that I had. We also got to know him more on a personal level, talking about our experiences and families. He kept to his promises and original quote and always worked with us. There was no surprise costs related to the venue and accommodations. I chose not to hire a personal wedding planner – mostly to save on costs for work that I could do myself. The wedding preparation was relatively stress free (even planning it from afar). He made things easy for us, helping wherever he can, even the little things like facilitating payment to vendors on our behalf. He also has a fantastic team of staff onsite at Red Palms, working to create that special day.

Mike has all the contacts and vendors you would need to create the wedding of your dreams. Music, caterer, photographer, lawyer, entertainment, etc. The vendors Mike recommended are first rate - quality & reliable. From the vendors Mike suggested to us, we chose to go with the mandolin guitar player, caterer, and hair salon stylist. The other vendors we used were found through other sources.

A quick mention of the vendors that were used for the wedding: Soma Chefs catered the reception and our guests enjoyed the food. Dave, mandolin guitar player for ceremony music. Los Mojitos, latin jazz live band, were amazing (also found through craigslist)! Jen the female vocalist has such a beautiful voice and was a nice filler at our reception between all our other wedding festivities. I cannot also say enough about our wedding photographer, Fernando. I found Fernando by googling weddings in Costa Rica (www.weddings.co.cr). His 600+ online wedding albums display his talent and photographic skills, but does not show what a wonderful and passionate person he is. I also got a few of our wedding ideas by reviewing his online gallery. He responded quickly and was always ready to help. He even ended up officiating our ceremony for us (spiritual only - non legal binding) and also has additional vendors/contacts that would be used for the wedding day. What a memorable wedding day we had, Red Palm Villas, beachfront, live band, DJ, fireworks, delicious food, wedding couple piñata, and fresh coconuts/copos (snow cones).

Red Palms is more of a boutique style retreat. There are not a lot of "amenities" at Red Palm Villas like you would get in a resort/hotel; however, this suited our needs just fine. It was intimate and casual, but, you can make the venue however you want it. Many items needed for the wedding reception will need to rented and brought in depending on the size of your wedding. We had approximately 50 guests. For example, chairs, tables, cutlery, tableware, coverage space in case in rains (Red Palms has a covered patio area for about 30 people).

Unfortunately, Mike was overseas still during our wedding day and also during much of the planning. During our five day stay, Yateem and the rest of the Red Palm staff made our stay laid back, stress free and most enjoyable. Yateem assisted us in checking the weather forecast prior, arranged a tent rental, and was available during the wedding day to facilitate the vendors for the event. The floral arrangements for the reception tables and lighting provided were perfect for our tastes. The staff provided great restaurant recommendations and points of interests locally and helped arrange ATV rentals, etc

Thank you for sharing Red Palm Villas with us and for Red Palm's assistance these last few months. Not only do you provide such an outstanding product, but also outstanding service. I cannot say again, how much I appreciated their timely responses/ communication. Hope our paths cross again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This place is fantastic!
Amazing gardens and suites.
My suite was custom finished, very clean, and it had AC!!
Unlike most places, you actually have access to your own beach, and they provided beach chairs.
Great staff.
I`d stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We initially decided to stay at Red Palm Villas becuase of the very first email response we got from the mgmt. to our initial availability inquiry email. Something about how helpful they were in their response made me feel at ease, and ultimately made our minds up that we were going to stay there. This feeling was validated immediately upon our receipt. The mgmt. at RPV made our trip the most incredible experience, directing us to sights, actiivitites, and restaurants that ensured we got the most out of our time in Santa Teresa.

The facilities themselves were immaculate. The pictures you see on their website dont lie, in fact if anything, they dont do it justice. You really have to see it in person. The accomodations are literally right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We made a habit of pausing for about 30 min each night to watch the sunsets from Red Palm's lounge chairs before heading down the beach to find a spot for dinner. The rooms are very well kept and decorated, and the bedrooms are air-conditioned for a cool night's sleep.

We've also never felt more safe anywhere we have stayed before, as RPV has 24 hour security guards who ensure there are no unwelcome visitors. (Not that it is even necessary, as the area in general felt very friendly and safe, but it was an added comfort).

If surfing is your thing.... you are in the right spot at RPV. The waves directly out front can reach up to 15-20 feet. Directly next to RPV is a beachfront restaurant, where we quickly found out was a meeting spot of sorts for local surfers and those that just wanted to watch.

I could go on and on.... but to sum it up.... we've always said we would never travel to the same place twice, as there are too many places in the world to see, but our visit to Red Palm Villas in Santa Teresa has changed our minds. We will be back without question.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

A friend was getting married in Santa Teresa and did all the research, gave us a list of places to stay and said Red Palm Villas was the best. Without doing much research, I booked the two bedroom Hummingbird Villa. My friend arrived there before I did, let me know that the place was paradise. I had no idea what an understatement that would be. It's right on the beach - you can see and hear the waves roll in, watch unbelievable sunsets, see monkeys, geckos, iguanas, squirrels and tropical birds. The villa itself was extremely private, immaculate, breezy, filled with fresh flowers and every convenience (including Wi-Fi, even though we pretty much forgot about the outside world on day one). Three dogs live on the property - making us feel extra welcome and safe. One of the dogs even smiles -- you must see this to believe it.

Santa Teresa itself is quiet, private, with gorgeous beaches sparsely populated with visitors (unlike one neighboring beach town we visited which was crowded, more touristy). From the Red Palm Villas we were able to walk down the beach three minutes in either direction to quaint little restaurants with very good food. The Red Palms staff also suggested a couple of other outings -- our favorite was a visit to the Rain Song Sanctuary that rehabilitates animals. Holding an orphan baby howler monkey was a moment we'll never forget.

After our week long stay, it was so hard to leave this place. By far the most peaceful, rejuvenating vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehorse Yukon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My Wife and I spent a little over a week in the Harmony villa ,we were celebrating our 25th anniversary , we were more than pleased, from the airconditioned villa ,to the helpful staff to the beautiful private beach, to the attention to detail by everyone , to the friendly dogs to the location, to the fishing ,to the walks on the beach to the ATVing adventures, to the wonderful resteraunts, to the friendlyness of the locals ,to the wildlife , it was a wonderful 10 days relaxing and kickin back, and the Red Palms were a huge reason why , we would go back to the Red Palms in a heartbeat BEAUTIFUL!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Address: Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, private, awesome views, #1 honeymoon villas and suites, full service.A 24 hour front desk.Daily housekeeping included in the room rate.Private bathroom for each unit.If there is a minimum-stay requirement, it must be no more than 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Palm Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.