We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word "SPECTACULAR"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Palm Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Palm Villas
Save Saved
You added The Red Palm Villas to your Saves list
Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
albuquerque
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In one word "SPECTACULAR"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Being a terribly jaded American, I was skeptical when booking this vacation. I had heard many News reports of misrepresentation and scams in Costa Rica. Feelings I am now ashamed to admit. I apologize to you, Yateem!
From day one Yateem, the Manager, promptly, and graciously answered every email prior to our arrival. He arranged for Transfers to and from the Airport, and an ATV rental for our 8 day stay. All of which I paid for in advance. I had Daydreamed about the perfect 25th Anniversary vacation. My wildest dreams failed in comparison to what was actually delivered by Red Palms Villas.
Upon landing in Costa Rica, we were bombarded with at least 30 screaming Taxi drivers looking for a fare. Standing quietly was Martin, holding a sign " our name... Red Palms Villas". My Husband pointed to him in the crowd. We were quickly greeted with a huge smile, and escorted to our awaiting Van. He was very personable and willing to provide us with anything we wanted. Stopping for drinks, bathrooms, food, groceries, and wildlife along the way. He was a wealth of information on Costa Rican history, life and wildlife (more like a personal Tourguide). Martin pointed out Red Palm Villas from the road atop the hill. The grounds literally took my breath away! The moment we parked, we were greeted by the Recptionist, smiling and gathering our bags with Martin. We were escorted to our Villa. The exact, beautiful Villa shown on the Red Palms website. She gave us a tour of the entire Estate, and pointed out our ATV parked in front of our Villa. Everything was exactly as depicted on the Red Palms website. If anything, their description is somewhat understated. The grounds and the Villas were immaculately maintained. Our sparkling clean Villa greeted us with 6 gorgeous, exotic bouguets of flowers (refreshed daily throughout our stay) and a bottle of French Champagne chilling on ice. A gift from Mike, the owner, for our 25th Anniversary.
The next morning we walked next door to Milarepa for breakfast. A two minute walk across the spectacular gardens and beachfront. The food was extremely fresh and delicious. The welcoming staff asked if we were staying at Red Palms. Our friendly, well behaved escorts, and guides, Ceiba, Kaia and Cisco (RPV's dogs) gave us away. We were immediately invited to enjoy the pool anytime we liked. After breakfast we returned to RPV to find our footprints had magically disappeared. Every path was raked clean. Not a leaf out of place or a wilted flower remained. We were mesmerized by thousands of flowers, dozens of palms, Howler Monkeys in the trees overhead and the Ocean lapping at our heels. My Husband stated 'WOW! The garden smells wonderful! It's like you're sitting inside a Honeysuckle!" I though it can't get better than this. To my suprise, it did. Our Villa was exploding with flower blossoms lining every inch of the kitchen counters, dining table, coffee table, and our bed...WOW! I was speechless when I saw the masterpiece the Housekeepers created on our bed. Rows, and rows of tiny blossoms perfectly aligned around the entire bed, framing a beautiful, heartshaped centerpiece made out of bath towels and even more flowers...AMAZING! Our villa was spotless once again. All dishes washed and put away, every tile indoors, and out cleaned to perfection.
Yateem and Lucretia (reception) were readily available to arrange anything our hearts desired. Even if all we desired was enjoying the peace and tranquility of the absolutely glorious private estate, Everyone respected our privacy, yet were close at hand should we want for anything. Maps, tours, information, recommendations of activities, and restaurants were all delivered with a smile. Laundry, if needed, neatly folded and returned later that afternoon. I was truly in heaven! I highly recommend the Private Chef. A five course meal prepared in your villa. A truly decadent experience. Everyone providing services for Red Palms has a long standing relationship with them. Each one, honest, courteous, and completely professional.
My advice. Relax, and let Yateem arrange everything for you in advance. You will not be disappointed! Credit Cards and Travelers Checks are not readily accepted in Santa Teresa. It was worth it to me to pay for as much as I could in advance, despite the Paypal fee, to limit the amount of cash we had to carry while traveling. Yateem delivered everything he promised, and beyond!
Each evening we would sit in the loungers on the beach for a nightcap. If the dogs barked, the Security Guard would appear in seconds to make sure we were safe, and undisturbed. He would then magically disappear, just as our footsteps disappeared by morning. The pride exhibited by Mike, Yateem, and the entire staff was evident through every maticulous detail of the lavishly beautiful estate. We felt like we were staying with friends or family. Greeted by a warm hug from Lucretia when we returned "HOME" from our afternoon ATV excursions. Such a welcoming personalized atmosphere.
Red Palms Villas is by far the most beautiful, intimate property in all of Santa Teresa. From the Villas, to the gardens, to the beachfront, nothing else I saw could even come close.
To Mike, Yateem and the entire staff of Red Palms, Thank you ALL so very much for making our 25th Anniversary the GREATEST vacation and absolute BEST memories of our entire lives!
We consider each of you as our friends.
Jim & Sydnie
Albuquerque, New Mexico

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
121
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendallville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

The staff was extremely helpful and on top of things. The harmony villa was cleaned every day when we were gone, and the bed was very comfortable. The howler monkeys were cool and the lime tree made for some great refreshing drinks. The only slight annoyance was the lack of curtains on the big windows. The bedroom was completely private, but the other areas were not. Overall, we had a fantastic stay at Red Palm Villas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at Red Palm Villas for our honeymoon. It was the perfect honeymoon spot. Mike made the booking of the trip a breeze, replying to questions over email in record time. When we arrived Yateem and his team had chilled champagne waiting for us. They were very helpful in booking day trips for us and giving us great info on restaurants and other things to do.
We stayed in the harmony villa, it was perfect for two people. It does not have an ocean view, but it's about a 19 second walk to the beach. And if you want to be right on the beach, you can stay in any of the other houses on the property - they are all amazing.
I wrote a full review of our Santa Teresa experience - if you want complete detail on our experience, check it out here: http://www.shaunpinney.org/bid/62053/Santa-Teresa-Costa-Rica-Honeymoon

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

On arrival at Red Palm Villas its beauty is truly overwhelming… gorgeous tropical plants and flowers… cute bridges and amazing wood bungalows all spilling out onto the natural splendor of the Pacific. We started out at the Harmony Villa which is a cute and completely comfortable villa with a dining room, kitchen, sitting area, bedroom and bathroom that is outside just a few steps away. The whole villa has a ton of floor to ceiling windows that created a light and airy tropical atmosphere. We moved to the Honeymoon Villa next which is a two story love nest with superb views of the beach and a great front porch. This villa was perfect as we prepared for our upcoming nuptials! If you want to truly indulge have the staff contact Torsten Radtke, a personal chef, to create you a mouthwatering dinner!!!

There are many simply incredible things about the Red Palm Villas (the views, the dogs, the accommodations, and delicious restaurant recommendations and reservations) but above all is the service. The staff at Red Palm is simply marvelous. From having out ATV delivered to suggestions on things to do… and booking them for us! But about all else was the effort and the attention to detail they put into our wedding. Even though our wedding was just the two of us it felt like the staff was giving us as much attention as they would a large wedding. They gave us the fairy tale beach wedding for two that we had been dreaming of. We cannot thank them enough for all their great service they gave us during our trip…. Except to recommend Red Palm Villas for your family vacation, romantic getaway or wedding! You will not be disappointed! We cannot wait to come back for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I cannot thank the staff at Red Palm VIllas enough. Upon arrival we were taken to our honeymoon sweet and presented with a gift certificate to the local spa, chilled champagne and a fruit basket. We were able to schedule a couples massage that evening, and surf lessons and yoga class for the next day. Everyone we encountered could not have been nicer and more accomodating. The massage was excellent, the yoga instructor (Chris) was so patient with us (it was our first yoga class). Mick, our surf instructor, managed to have both my husband and myself standing up on our surf boards during our first lesson. Yateem was there to meet our every need and set up any activities we wanted. It was so nice to not have to worry about anything.
We stayed in the honeymoon villa and all I can say is that the pictures don't do it justice, from the spotless open air bathroom and kitchen to the airconditioned master suite every detail was perfect. Three of the nights we stayed we had a private chef (Torsten) who prepared decadent menus for us. We watched the beautiful sunset from the beach and then returned to our outdoor dining area and were treated like a king and queen. We woke up each morning to the sound of howler monkeys and watched the staff as they raked all the leaves, set up the hammocks, and prepared a beautiful setting for the guests to enjoy another relaxing day at the beach.
I cannot say enough good things about the Red Palm Villas. My husand and I will definately be returning. It was truly one of the most memorable experiences of our lives.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Although we have been all over Costa Rica, this was our first trip to Santa Teresa, and we chose to stay the whole week in one place. We were traveling with our teenage daughter, and our plan for the entire week was surf lessons, yoga and relaxation. We couldn't have picked a better place for this pursuit than Red Palm Villas. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon Villa. The villa itself was incredible. It is set back from the beach but close enough to have the sound of crashing waves, the view and the breeze. The upstairs room had a bed area with a sheer curtain for some privacy, a complete kitchen, and several sitting areas. (NOTE: ALL food should go in the small fridge. The ants will get anything that is left out -- as we discovered with a box of cereal). It was open all around and set right in the trees so you really felt like you were always outside -- watching the iguanas and squirrels scrambling around. Downstairs there is a bedroom with AC, and a lovely bathroom with a partially outdoor shower. Our favorite part was the huge outdoor patio sheltered by a roof, but otherwise open, with rocking chairs, day bed style seats and a hammock. The only awkward part was the lock system. The main door, downstairs bedroom and bathroom all had separate locks with separate keys, and you had to use a key to lock the door from the inside. This was awkward one morning when our daughter was sleeping and we wanted to go to breakfast next door -- there was no way to lock the door without locking her in. We decided to just leave it unlocked. I mentioned this to Yateem and hopefully this will be addressed.

The property has a small yoga platform under the trees by the beach. Each morning we had a private yoga session with either Cristina or Lory -- both were great. What a wonderful way to start the day! My husband and daughter took daily surf lessons with Mick from Mongrel Surfing. The stretch of beach all the way north from Red Palms is exceptional -- for surfing, playing in the waves or just walking.

A few things to know -- staying at Red Palm Villas is more like renting a house that has an exceptional concierge service. There is no restaurant or shop on the property, nor are there activities per se. Because the property is fairly far south from town, I highly recommend renting ATVs if you don't have a car. Our first day we walked to the grocery store -- which is only a 15 minute walk, but it is quite hot out during the day. After that day, Yateem arranged ATV rentals for us and we kept them for the week. This really allowed us to explore town, easily get around for meals and explore further south to Playa Hermosa and the more remote places. Be aware that this time of year (March) it is very dry, so the roads are VERY dusty. You are best off with eyewear and a bandana.

There are 2 ATM's in town. You can withdraw colones OR US dollars, and every business takes dollars. A few places take credit cards, but will charge a fee (sometimes 6%) so you are better off with cash. We flew to San Jose, then a small plane out of Tobias Bolano airport to Tambor. It is about a 45 minute drive from Tambor to Red Palm Villas.

Although the cell service was not good for our phones, there is wi-fi in the villa. No TV, no phones, no radio, PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

First, the service and staff here are outstanding. Yateem and his crew - particularly Lucretia (sp?) and Cosephina - make it very easy for a family like us (who speak almost no Spanish) to organize activities, transportation and provide great advice/recommendations on where to go in the area. The horseback riding tour they recommended in Manzanillo was a surprise hit as was the tour to CURU and Montezuma. Yateem works with specific tour hosts that he knows are exceptional. The housecleaning staff were great too - smiley, happy and excellent.

If you like dogs, you'll love this place. Kaia, Ceiba and Cysco are very friendly and add to a great atmosphere here. Somehow they know who is supposed to be at the resort and who isn't - uncanny.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Villa. Its not cheap, but its so worth it. Gorgeous layout and perfect for a family of four - kids stayed in the king bed upstairs and we were in the suite downstairs. Check out the photos of this villa on their website. Our friends stayed in the Hummingbird Villa across the way which is also very nice (and worked well for their family of 5). The location is simply the best in the whole area - maybe 30 steps to the beach (with perfect shade trees and hammocks between the villa and the beach) and at the north end. Walk 50 yards to your left to Roca Mar for great simple local fare (breakfast/lunch) overlooking the beach, or walk 50 yards to your right to an excellent breakfast/lunch/dinner venue.

We had never surfed before, but wanted a lesson our first day. We all got up and had a ball (whitewater only though!). Yateem lined us up with Mick Horrocks and his mates - they were great fun and incredible surfers. They also care about the place - saw Mick save a couple lives during the week. NOTE OF CAUTION: when the surf is up, the rip current right out from the villas can be brutal - there's a reason they call it Suck Rock. Better to head out when the tide is low unless you're very experienced.

Bottom line: We love this place and can't wait to come back. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and it was honestly very hard to leave.

Room Tip: Check with Yateem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Address: Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, private, awesome views, #1 honeymoon villas and suites, full service.A 24 hour front desk.Daily housekeeping included in the room rate.Private bathroom for each unit.If there is a minimum-stay requirement, it must be no more than 3 nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Palm Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.