We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casas de Soleil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casas de Soleil
Save
You added Casas de Soleil to your Saves list
300 M North of Cruce, Santa Teresa 93306, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I've been here with friends three years in a row and there is a reason why we always come back. We have stayed in both Casa Mirador and Casa Grande and both houses are very very nice, with great hangouts either by the pool or in a hammock. Also, the location is great (Playa Carmen just between Mal Pais and Santa Teresa).

The owners (Trent and Soraya) knows so much about the area (restaurants and activities) and they are always super helpful. I always rent surfboards from Trent which has the garage full of good boards.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 5 days in Casa Romantica and had a fabulous visit to Santa Teresa. Soraya and Trent are great hosts who make you feel welcome, safe and comfortable. The house we stayed in is well described below, and was a great fit for friends staying the week. We were able to hang out, have our own space, plus lounge on the hammock and area outside. It is a perfect location and nicely tucked away so a quiet oasis. It is a really short walk to the beach which has crashing surf all day long.

In particular we loved all the dogs who greeted us and followed us as we came and went. Each of us had our favourites and they were great companions!

Highly recommended and thanks to Trent and Soraya.

ps if you need something to do, Trent can connect you with Freedom Riders Stand Up Paddle Boarding (see activities). Andy & Edit the owners are lovely and will get you up and going in no time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelCT36
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Casas de Soleil. We stayed in "Casa Grande" which is nestled nicely in the flora and fauna of the property. The house had 2 comfortable air conditioned bedrooms downstairs with very comfortable beds and linens. Upstairs was a large spacious living room / kitchen / dining room with a terrace and great views of the canopy. During happy hour we watched a family of howler monkeys climb across the tree tops. The kitchen has everything you'll need to cook a meal. Daily housekeeping service was excellent. The house was so comfortable we didn't want to leave. The beautiful beach is a short 5 minute walk and we could hear the surf from the house. There are several shops and restaurants nearby. Soraya was a gracious host and made us feel at home. She gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Have been to Costa Rica many times and this was by far the best accommodations.

Room Tip: Check out pictures on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just got back from celebrating our 10 yr anniversary at Casa de Soleil, specifically Casa Grande and it was amazing! Soraya was very helpful and informative and seemed to always be available when we needed her. A few of our concerns were quickly alleviated upon arrival as the house is VERY close to the beach and the town, literally within a block, but also any concerns regarding safety were also quickly disregarded. With the great team she has, from groundskeeper to security to daily housekeeperswe felt like we were always in good hands. Someone was always on site to assist us, but we certainly enjoyed our privacy as well. We never saw anyone else at the pool the whole time we were there! We loved the friendly, feels like family approach to the rentals here and the grounds are simply stunning! We will absolutely be back and hope to bring our kids next year. Thank you for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Mirador is the Mac daddy but Casa Grande is beautiful and a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from a great trip and I cannot say enough good things about Casas de Soleil. The villas are gorgeous, and the property is beautiful and quiet. Trent is a great surf instructor and Soraya is so welcoming and helpful, you feel like family not guests. They also have 5 guard dogs that are incredibly friendly. One night one of them escorted us to dinner (15 min walk away) slept under our table (not once asking for food) and then walked us home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in Mirador and had a private pool to ourselves. The quality of the buildings and cleanliness was so impressive. They are in a gated area which made us feel very safe the whole time. I am looking forward to coming back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I must preface this review by saying that we fell in LOVE with the dogs at Casas de Soleil so our feedback has a bit of an emotional touch. The houses are amazing and the architecture is truly phenomenal. One of the owners (Trent) is an American carpenter and his craftsmanship shows in the outstanding detail that is portrayed in each of the houses. Soraya (Trent's wife) should be the mayor of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. She offers the best recommendations and has a hotel background from working in the US so she fully understands the importance of customer service. Trent and Soraya will go out of their way to book tours, offer suggestions, and ensure that you have an amazing time.

The location is great (a short walk to the beach) and there are two great dining options at the bottom of the road. The best super market (Super Ronny's) is a 4 minute walk away and the kitchens at Casas de Soleil are overly equipped for cooking lovely meals.

Now about the dogs... We fell in love with Chiqui, but all of the dogs are lovely. The dogs will follow you for a walk to the beach and they love to chase a stick. Guard them closely when you walk near the bottom of the road because they like to chase the chickens as well, and it gets Soraya in trouble.

Other than that, just keep in mind that you're in Costa Rica so Howler Monkeys may wake you up early and they are so fun to watch (don't look up when they are above you). ;) The pool is great and there are tons of hummingbirds around. I work in the hotel industry and this place is amazing!!

The other staff are also lovely. Make sure to buy Santos and Mr. Coykey an El Gringo pizza from The Bakery before you leave, because you will appreciate all of the hard work they do for you. We stayed here for a month and only wish we could stay for a year!

Room Tip: Casa Romantica offers one large bedroom, a large living room, kitchen and is very reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casas de Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Soleil

Address: 300 M North of Cruce, Santa Teresa 93306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casas de Soleil is a 3 acre property with four different homes privately positioned within the tropical gardens on the property. Our property is private and quiet, but a short walk to the town center and equally easy walk to the beach. We offer luxury homes to fit the needs of your vacation group. Our 24 hour staff is here to assist you. Rest assured when you show up to Casas de Soleil, everything will be perfect for your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casas De Soleil Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casas de Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.