We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cecilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cecilia to your Saves list
Casa Cecilia
Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great get-away location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My mother and I had a fabulous time at Casa Cecilia. We stayed in the suite upstairs so we had air conditioned sleep at night, a great view of the ocean during the day when we were reading, getting ready to go to the beach, or just relaxing. Don and Kelsey were very helpful and generous with their time, made sure we had a great vacation and gave us tips on the best boogie boarding spots on the beach :).

Breakfast was delicious. I tried both the eggs and the homemade granola and locally made yogurt; all excellent. If you are lazy like us, the location is perfect, because you've got delicious lunch and dinner spots just a beach-walk away. This was our second time in Santa Teresa and we still haven't made it in to town (apart from getting an amazing locally-made swimsuit that actually stays on your body in the waves!! :)!!)

Highly recommend Casa Cecilia and we look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed at Casa Cecilia for two weeks in mid-April. I stayed in the unbelievable master suite where I may have had the best sleep of my life falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean. Certainly I had the most beautifully surreal waking moments, gazing out at the ocean framed by the charming peaked roof.

Don and Kelsey were wonderful hosts both unobtrusive and readily available for booking activities, providing a lift or just having a chat.

Casa Cecilia is also ideally located in between the outer limits of the Santa Teresa "big city" action and quiet Playa Hermosa. I easily walked to both along the beach or by road. This came as a particularly salient feature during Semana Santa when Santa Teresa was packed and being able to escape the action without waiting for a taxi was particularly desirable.

I hope circumstances bring me back to Santa Teresa and if they do I would choose Casa Cecilia over some of the more typical beachfront resorts.

Thank you Don and Kelsey for an amazing time!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Great time at a great place! Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Delicious breakfast in the morning. Owner Don was super friendly and helped us get some car trouble straightend out while keeping calm and cool. A must stay in santa teresa

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Surfers and beach lovers alike need to look no further for the most welcoming, easy and comfortable spot in Santa Teresa. A super simple authentic beach house turned B&B offered all the comforts of home and a prime location. Don and Kelsey were perfect hosts, serving up delicious food (best ever goat's milk yogurt and homemade granola, although my son would argue Don's breakfast burrito rocked), plush beach towels daily, clean clean clean rooms, a warm and welcoming common area, and best local scoop on all things authentic and tasty. As surfers, we couldn't have been happier with our location right the beach, hammocks aplenty, and the convenience of a board shack and outdoors showers on property. We will definitely return and I hope to find everything just as before! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

we were introduced to Casa Cecilia by our Costa Rica guide Percy Fischel - percy@pachamamarides.com - we could not have have been more pleased with the location and accommodations. we had the beach house which sleeps an easy 3 to 4 people. only negative is Safe didnt work well but we were offered office safe when needed. The manager -Don and co-manager -Kelsey - who prepared each mornings breakfasts - not only good cooks but make our stay so welcoming it felt like we were with old friends. the outdoor kitchen and shower make the experience over the top. Percy was our constant help -he took us on rainforest walk and Ziplining thru canopy. he is excellent guide that adds immeasurably to our experience in Costa Rica

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

we stayed there for two weeks ad its was just great.
the location is right on the beach and its perfect!!!!
you can watch the sunsets from your porch while sitting on the rocking chair.
the rooms looks new and comfy.
the place is very clean and organized.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We wish we had stayed longer at Hotel Casa Cecilia. This place is right on the beach away from the noisy hubbub of town.
Don is the prefect host, he's warm, welcoming and has excellent local knowledge; he massively helped us with our car when it started falling apart sending us to the local mechanic. he also recomended the wonderful Alma and Koji's restaunts to us.
Breakfast was simple and non-Tico which was such a bonus, the omlets where lovely but we definately recommend the local yogurt with Kelsey's homemade granola- yummy scrummy!
The rooms are super clean, simple, modern and SO comfortable; our double bed was huge!!

The place was spotless and we would hightly recommend people stay here for a few days, relax in the hmock on the beach, munch wonderful food and take a suf lesson or two with Kelsey. We wish we had stayed longer

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Address: Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.