We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cecilia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cecilia
Nicoya peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“5* Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Home from home with Don and team providing a 5* service. Don's local knowledge is invaluable and he is well connected to make your fishing trip or other excursion memorable. oh - and the surf break in front of the house is awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am a constant guest in Casa Cecilia, every time we come to Costa Rica we stay here, it´s an excellent place on beach location!!! It´s perfect if you want to stay in a place that resembles a house, rather than a hotel! It would be nice to have a swimming pool sometime soon! I simply love Santa Teresa and Casa Cecilia !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If the howler monkees, the parade of crabs at night, the nightly postcard sunsets, the hammocks on the beach under the palms, the ocean and the surf and the waves that lull you to sleep at night when you hear them from your room, the delicious breakfast with the best yogurt ever, the tranquility, the peace, the sweetest vibe of how a vacation, even life, is supposed to be; if none of this stuff gets your imagination going and your heart growing a little bigger, then maybe don't stay at this sweetest of places. If you don't like a host that is genuine and generous and doing something he loves, which is sharing his bliss for this place with the people who visit, then maybe Don is not your man. But...
If you wanna have the kind of vacation that makes you question why you would ever want to go anywhere else, go here. I read a review before I booked at Casa Cecilia, and it said 'go here, now', and they were right. Do it. You won't ever want to leave.
My sweet woman and I stayed a week, physically, but we are still there, in our souls, lying in hammocks, sipping delicious drinks and staring out into Big Blue. Man oh man, as soon as we got home, we started planning how to get back there as soon as possible. I'm serious; this place is where I spent my most favouritest days in a long time.
As soon as we checked in, Don asked us what we wanted to do, arranged a sailing trip for us with Captain Curt (do this, too), got me a surfboard, and gave me a six-pack of beer. That was in the first ten minutes. Throughout the week, he drove us around to get stuff, arranged an atv for us, tried to get us on a domestic flight so we could stay an extra day, 'cause we didn't wanna leave, recommended the most delectable pizza place that we ordered from twice, chilled with us and, best of all, became a friend. Good luck getting that at some big, fancy-pants resort.
We stayed in the casa for the first few days, which was big and clean and nice, but then we moved to the suite, with the ocean view, and loved it even more. For a couple of days, there were no other guests, and at night we were completely alone, and it was like being at home, if your home was about a hundred times more awesome.
Get a surf lesson from Pia, who's in charge when Don is surfing Cabuya. She's the sweetest, and she also made sure we had some breakfast the morning we left. Ruth, who was the housekeeper, gave us freshly picked mangoes, and was so sweet and nice. she also waitresses at Habanero's, go there and eat, it's delicious, and give her a fat tip. Go to Hermosa Beach, too, it's beautiful.
And do all this, you know why? Because life is short and this is the stuff you remember and you wanna keep doing and you share with the ones that you love and makes you feel full, in your heart. That's why. These guys will help you do that, if you're open to it.
In the words of good old Joseph Campbell- 'Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again.'
We'll be going back to find ourselves again, soon.
the end.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Steps from the beach. Best place for those looking for the wave action. This is away from the dust of playa Carmen. Why lonely planet editors didn't write this place up is a shortcoming of the guide.
There are hammocks to lounge in and the stay comes with breakfast which is terrific.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed our week long stay soooo very much!! The accommodations are clean, fresh, tropical & beautiful beyond my dreams! Everyone is treated like family! To wake up to fresh coffee and tea, walk out of my room and be on the beach to start my morning was the best! Evening sunsets on the water were amazing. The weather is so beautiful, you could be playing in the waves and feel like you're a part of the sunset!! I recommend Casa Cecelia to all my friends! I will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Don, the manager is a wonderful, helpful, friendly person. He makes you feel so comfortable and he is a terrific resource for whatever information you need. Pia is another worker that is also a wonderful person. I can't say enough about them. This was our second year staying here and we cannot wait to return next year. The rooms are spotless and I am a clean freak so I appreciate that. The beds are super comfortable and the air con works perfectly. It is right on the beach so I was able to sit in a hammock and watch my husband surf right out front. The breakfast is included and it is awesome. I was full all day! You will love it here! Thanks Don and Pia.
Kyle & PJ

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

found this place on here and loved it. amazing service, beautiful location, nice small feel and all around amazing. I can't wait to come back her and try experience this again.

Its difficult to find nice affordable places on the beach and this was it exactly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Address: Nicoya peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Cecilia to your Saves list