We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to return next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cecilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cecilia to your Saves list
Casa Cecilia
Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to return next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Don, the manager is a wonderful, helpful, friendly person. He makes you feel so comfortable and he is a terrific resource for whatever information you need. Pia is another worker that is also a wonderful person. I can't say enough about them. This was our second year staying here and we cannot wait to return next year. The rooms are spotless and I am a clean freak so I appreciate that. The beds are super comfortable and the air con works perfectly. It is right on the beach so I was able to sit in a hammock and watch my husband surf right out front. The breakfast is included and it is awesome. I was full all day! You will love it here! Thanks Don and Pia.
Kyle & PJ

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

found this place on here and loved it. amazing service, beautiful location, nice small feel and all around amazing. I can't wait to come back her and try experience this again.

Its difficult to find nice affordable places on the beach and this was it exactly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

You simply CANNOT beat the location, hospitality/service, beauty, cleanliness and overall tranquillo vibe and "la familia" feeling that you get at Casa Cecilia. Oh, and the beds are VERY comfortable! If you are a surfer, then, you are in for an extra-special treat, because one of the best beach breaks in the area and a right-hand reef-point lie right outside your door! If you don't surf, no worries - the beach is absolutely beautiful, and watching the outstanding surfing out front and the horseback riders galloping down the beach should be enough to relax even the most stressed-out big city business warriors. Don Martinez, the manager, will cook you an EXCELLENT made-to-order breakfast everyday, and is the most friendly and helpful hotel manager you will ever encounter. He is fluent in English, Spanish, and surf, so no worries on communication barriers. Don also know ALL the best local restaurants, and will even suggest dishes off their menus, if you would like (all the restaurant and meal recommendations we got were off-the-charts delicious); as well as all the nearby activities/sights/daytrips. My wife and I stayed for a week, and could've stayed for a lifetime. We WILL be back to Casa Cecilia, maybe even later this year; and maybe even annually. I have no need or desire to search for better accommodations in the Playa Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area. This is it. This is the best, and by far the best value and best managed/staffed. I give Casa Cecilia my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Located just north of the main town so away from the noise and dust, but close enough to enjoy when wanted. The hotel is small meaning you share the beach with very few other people if any while you soak up the sun or lounge in the shaded areas with chairs and hammocks. It is one of the only truly beachfront places in the area, so you wake up, have delicious coffee on the beach, eat a wonderful cooked to order breakfast in the outdoor dining area whenever you want it, and then walk twenty steps to hammocks on the beach. Hotel has boogie boards and surf boards for use or you cam swim in the water right out front as it is not rocky like other areas. There is a tide pool to the north for snorkeling that is an easy short walk away also. For lunch and dinner you can enjoy one of the amazing restaurants within a short walk, drive to other amazing places around santa teresa, or use the full kitchen facilities available to guests to cook (grocery store about a quarter mile away). The rooms are perfect; clean, all ocean views, safes, refrigerators, fan can be used with open windows with screens to keep cool, also air conditioners though we didnt need it, good water pressure and hot water. Common areas with tables and chairs, sofas, bottled water, outdoor shower, foot bath. The staff are amazing, helpful,friendly and go above and beyond to cater to guests. Don is the manager, Pia is an assistant and both helped us book activities, make restaurant reservations, arrange transportation anywhere anytime, and generally made you feel you had the service of a huge resort, but in the beautiful seclusion of casa cecilia.

Basically, this is the perfect place on the beach in costa rica and is an incredible value for the service and the location you receive. we will definitely be back! We travel abroad frequently and rarely write reviews unless we LOVE a place, so hopefully you will find this helpful and stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I chose Casa Cecilia because of good reviews on Tripadvisor and it exceeded my expectations and blew me away. Don, the manager, helped my boyfriend and I settle into our vacation the moment we stepped off the plane in Tambor. Don knows all the local activities offered and can help you book if you want to do something in addition to swimming, surfing and hammocking. I know it's hard to find activities listed online in the area and even TripAdvisor is somewhat limited but Don knows all the local offerings. It seems like people will do what they love everyday regardless (surf, fish, dive, hike, farm, etc) but will take you along for a fee. All the locals are very friendly and honest-to-goodness want you to have a pleasurable experience.

Our room was beautiful and very very clean. I have a minor bug phobia and even though the hotel was literally on the beach and adjacent to the jungle, there was nary a bug in sight in our bedroom. Splendid! The new renovations gave it a spa-like atmosphere due to all the wood detailing. The room was equipped with Wifi, AC, mini-fridge and safe. They provide towels and soaps. Bring everything else with you. They are also dog friendly.

The location of the hotel was slightly outside the main Santa Teresa strip which my boyfriend enjoyed because it was quiet. However, both slightly upscale restaurants and cheaper local cafes ("Sodas") line the street behind the hotel within walking distance. A nice beach bar and grill, Rocamar, is Casa Cecilia's beach neighbor. We went during high season where it is very dusty on the main road. The best way to do anything outside of the immediate area next to Casa Cecilia (Santa Teresa town, Mal Pais, Cabuya, Montezuma) requires a car, taxi or ATV. Ask Don for booking rentals and also food recommendations. He gives me the impression he is a foodie at heart. He cooks an excellent and plentiful breakfast and uses locally sourced and often organic foods. Try the local yogurt + granola! It's glorious. Also, try all the local condiments.

A wonderful experience through and through. We will try our best to return next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We looked for a nice place on the beach and came across this place by chance. Boy, how luck we were! this place is beautiful, right on the beach, amazing view, clean and well managed. They make great breakfast! Don, the owner is extremely nice and friendly, he will assist you in any way he can, just to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar and face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California, United States
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a week at Casa Cecilia and it was unbelievable! The rooms were great and the location was absolute perfection. It is right on the beach with hammocks in the palms right above the high tide line, and fantastic waves all over out front. Plus Don is the man to go to there, and he brings it all together. He takes such amazing care of every person that walks in there, you can tell immediately you are in good hands. Go for his breakfast burrito with 'todo' (everything) on it and a couple cups of his famous Tico coffee to get your day started! You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Address: Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Cecilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.