We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Santa Teresa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cecilia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Casa Cecilia
Save Saved
You added Casa Cecilia to your Saves list
Nicoya peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best spot in Santa Teresa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here back in February of this year. We were in Santa Teresa for a wedding and Casa Cecilia worked out perfect for our group. We had the whole place rented between several couples/roomies. Don was the man as far as anything goes, just ask Don (and he was always there to serve breakfast). Great way to start the day! The beach was fantastic in front of the house, and the area in general is about the best it gets for Santa Teresa. You are just far enough down from the busy, dusty, main part of town; but it's still easy to walk, ride to if and when needed. Santa Teresa itself is years behind the modern world, but that is what makes it so unique. We took a plane to get to Santa Teresa, it was wild, I liked the boat ride from Montezuma to Jaco much better. Either way, all was well, have fun!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa Serena, a separate little cottage. It worked out well for us, and I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
57
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our family stayed at Casa Cecelia for 1 week in June and absolutely loved it. You can't beat the location and the friendly laid back vibe. Don (manager ) made our stay very special .We had no car and Don took my husband and son 3 times to a special point break when it was to big out front to surf . Delicious breakfasts and coffee ready at 6am every morning .Grab your cup and walk 30 feet to sit in the hammock and watch the surf . We plan on returning .

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at Casa Cecilia, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! We were traveling on a budget and were so excited to find such a reasonably priced, cool spot, directly on the beach. You can sit at the breakfast table in the open-air shared "living room," and the only thing between you and the ocean are some palm trees, and a row of hammocks! The location is incredible; quiet, secluded, and pristine. You are in close walking distance to plenty of fantastic restaurants, and the market. The manager, Don, is very personable and helpful, and will cook you a delicious breakfast made-to-order every morning. We loved getting to know the other guests, and felt comfortable and well taken care of the entire time. We would love to return with the whole family one day! Thanks Don!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I had our honeymoon/surf vacation and stayed at Casa Cecilia for 2 weeks. The location is perfect for just about anything you can possibly do on the peninsula. You can wake up and watch the surf right out front or the villa. Don the manager is simply the man! He made us a killer breakfast each morning, was a great mentor for learning to surf, and was an excellent host. He recommended all kinds of great places to eat. You will have some of the best fish in your life. We surfed everyday right infront of the hotel. The location is also a good jumping off point for other surf locations on the peninsula. We were fortunate enough to meet a bunch of great people who came in and out throughout our stay at Casa Cecilia. It is close to all of the restaurants and things to do right in Santa Teresa and Playa Carmen. Casa cecilia is a super chill place to relax right on the ocean. It would be a great spot to stay at with a group of people too. I cant say enough good things about Don and Casa Cecilia. We were there at the beginning of the "green season" and we didn't have 1 bad day of weather. Any rain that did occur came at night. When it rained, it poured!.. but it was usually very quick and at night. Highly recommend the first weeks in May. It is the end of the high tourist season so rates are lower, and weather was still perfect.. as was the surfing conditions.

Room Tip: If you can, stay a few nights upstairs in the Villa. It is super spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were staying near Casa Cecilia and walked over to have breakfast one morning. As it turned out they do not sell breakfast -- but the manager, Don, was wonderful and made us a breakfast burrito anyway. It was yummy! What a fantastic location -- right on the beach, and it is an amazing beach. I understand that they are going to renovate the place soon, but the manager promised that they will keep the laid-back beach vibe. From what we saw, and based on the manager's helpfulness and friendliness, we can highly recommend Casa Cecilia!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Cecilia for a few days in May 2012; we stayed in the upstairs suite which was exceptional. In a few words, wood structure and furniture, very clean, comfortable beds, great view on the beach, hammacks on the beach. Fridge in the room which is convenient.

The hotel manager was very friendly and accomodating, possibility to rent a surf board, breakfast served every morning, try the burritos!

The beach is great, all sand which is rare on this portion of the Pacific coast.

We will return for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I spent a week at Casa Cecilia in January, and two weeks in March and have to say it is the best value anywhere in Costa Rica. It has the best beach location anywhere with shade trees and hammocks where you can relax without the crowds of other places in St Teresa. As a surfer, the beach break here can be seen from every room, and is the best in St Teresa. As the original developer of the Florblanca hotel located a stone's throw away, I can honestly say that I like it here better, and will stay here whenever I come to visit. Don is a great host, and takes care of anything that you need to do on your visit. The facilities are modest, but well thought out, and very clean. Use of the kitchen by guests is a great idea, and facilitates getting to know other guests and their families if you choose to. Great internet and cell phone service here as well.

Room Tip: All rooms on the first floor are equal, the larger rooms on the second floor have an even better bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Address: Nicoya peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cecilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.