We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bungalow on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Awesome bungalow on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We lucked out finding Casa Azul in Santa Teresa. We looked at the beachfront rooms but ended up staying in the Casita (separate bungalow) on the property after the owner Richard offered us a great rate. It is beachfront and central to many stores & restaurants. Not many properties in Santa Teresa are right on the beach so this was a definite bonus. The casita was very clean and spacious. The kitchen was convenient for breakfast, and there is a great bakery across the street (ended up going there to grab our morning coffees).

Note if you're staying here on a Wednesday or Friday night, the bar/club next door blasts their music well into the night. You will need earplugs if you need quiet to sleep. Richard gave us full disclosure on this though, so thankfully we weren't surprised. Even with the club next door, I'd still stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in the casita if it is available (currently there's only 1 but a 2nd is being built)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I had spend a few weeks traveling through costa rica before making it to Santa Teresa. We didn't have any hotel accommodations upon our arrival to the town but we quickly found Casa Azul and were so happy we did!! We were greeted by Richard who was extremely nice and knowledgable about the area, things to do etc. We ended up staying in the casita which was clean, private, modern (but not too modern) and very pleasant. We were only supposed to stay for 2 nights then continue our travels but we were so happy with Casa Azul and Santa Teresa as a whole, we ended up staying there until the end of our trip! In fact, I love this area so much, I'm going back mid October for a few months - which reminds me...time to put in a reservation request at Casa Azul!!

Room Tip: I recommend the private, bungalow casita - Its very private, clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Reading the other reviews, not sure who Tess & matt were... but, I went in off season (Aug 2012)... I moved to Casa Azul after being down in St Teresa area. I loved the Carmen area way better.

It really is perfect if you want to be on the beach and a lower cost.

I stayed in the oceanview room for a couple nights, then 4 nights in the casita. The casita is the way to go. I thnk the best view, and privacy from the main house/rooms. The hammock out front of the casita has a great view of the ocean. I sat in that hammock most of the time, and read/listened to music. Enjoying the view.

So, noise wise. There is a club next door which Richard is very honest about noise level. I didn't mind it at all. Most of the nights they were playing music (does go until 3am), but I liked most of it so I fell asleep to it, or put in ear plugs if I didn't. It's not a huge deal.

I highly recommend this location. I really enjoyed the small B&B feel and on the beach. The staff here is extremely family hospitality. The pool is wonderful in case the surf is too strong to go swim in the ocean. Being right there on the beach is the best part of it as well like their marketing slogan says... Closer to the waves :)

Thank you again Richard - and crew for the nice time. I hope to return again. also a great place for a wedding :) ha ha. I thought when I get married, what a great locale if you can talk the management into it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a good time @ Casa Azul. Matteo and Thess were very friendly and supported us in every situation perfectly. They organised also some nice dinner for us. Visit also Vista de Olas, with an amazing view over the coastline and fantastic filet mignon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I just had the pleasure of spending some much needed R&R at the wonderful Casa Azul in Santa Teresa. Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly, Matt and Tess, who were extremely helpful and gave great recommendations for all things Santa Teresa. The house had everything you needed without being too connected to the outside world. It's the perfect place to go and get away from the daily stresses of life. The house was clean and absolutely beautiful with a gorgeous pool out front that overlooked the beach 50 feet away. The beach had some of the best surf you could find in the Santa Teresa/Mal Pais area. The property was a great place to view the exotic animals of Costa Rica. Iguanas of all sizes, tropical birds, colorful butterflies, and a family of monkeys were frequent visitors to the grounds. Santa Teresa has everything you could possibly need on vacation, while still maintaining that small beach town feel. Surfing, ATV rentals, yoga classes, horseback riding, and fishing are just a few of the numerous activities it has to offer. It has fantastic restaurants within in walking distance and great shops to visit as well. I'm already planning my return trip for next year and I know Casa Azul will be a regular vacation spot for me from now on! If you're planning a trip to Santa Teresa I highly recommend you spend your time at Casa Azul! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for one week and had a fantastic week. Tess and Matt our hosts gave us great tips and recommendations and were always really helpful for us. The house is clean, beautiful with a fantastic garden and an own beach access. The surfing spot is just in front of the house. Simply heaven. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hands down still the best place in town. Just left Santa Teresa after spending some quality time on the beach. Nobody has a better location than Casa Azul. Great surf right out in front, excellent restaurants within walking distance and a wonderful staff.
Casa Azul is my favorite place in Central America to leave everything behind and relax. I can't wait to head back there next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.