We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hands down still the best place in town. Just left Santa Teresa after spending some quality time on the beach. Nobody has a better location than Casa Azul. Great surf right out in front, excellent restaurants within walking distance and a wonderful staff.
Casa Azul is my favorite place in Central America to leave everything behind and relax. I can't wait to head back there next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My boyfriend and me have been in Casa Azul from 16th till 21st of June 2012. It was a wonderful time! An American couple - Matt and Tess - took care of us in a very helpful and relaxed way. They had great ideas for having dinner (Pasta Basta, Brisas del Mar), visit the region (waterfalls in Montezuma) or rent a surfboard.
There is a beach in front of the beautiful garden which seems to belong to you in the low season. If you plan to stay some nights and are lucky, you can get a good price for one of the bigger rooms.
There is no stove in the kitchen, but we were allowed to use a barbecue. Drive to the small viallge of fishers and get some really fresh fish!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Casa Azul was the setting for my week of "being" this past month. It is perfect:
small, private, beautiful, calm, everything within reach... I am planning my return with friends and family next year. It has a wonderful combination of feeling "out of the western world" with all of the comfort and amenities to provide a letting go into a childlike existence. Get up in the morning, put on that bathing suit and pull on shorts or a sarong and wander under the tree canopy to the end of a long private drive. In that short walk monkeys may be above your head with bright orange squirrels and green parrots active in their daily work. Watch out for that giant spider along the driveway waiting also for a meal!
Staff of Tess, Matt, Eduardo, Megelli, and Danny were wonderfully friendly and efficient!

Have a meal or cup of coffee in a variety of lovely open air restaurants and cafe's within a block or two. Yoga on the hillside is just 3 blocks away with a setting as in the movies - open air
platform about the trees with a view to the vast Pacific.

Then back for the most beautiful pool or the best ocean water you've been in since???? well
for me it was the best in my life! The waves are just big enough to have constant fun, the temperature perfect. And the sunsets unrivaled.
Maybe I'll see you next year!

Room Tip: Any room fine depending on your budget as most of time is spent in the gorgeous out of doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We took our 3 kids (two teenagers & a 10 yr old) on a trip to Costa Rica & are spontaneously staying at different places. Casa Azul has been the BEST place we've stayed so far! Matt & Tessa were very helpful & chill. The place itself: long private "driveway" lined with trees with lush lawn on either side. At the end of the driveway - a blue two-story house on the left & a casita on the right (with another brand new casita almost finished next to it). Beyond the house, in the backyard, is a pool. Beyond that - about 50 feet away - is the beach. We stayed in the casita. It slept 6, perfect for our needs. Everything was clean. The windows were excellent (a lot of places in CR don't have screens and the windows are old and thin. These windows were new, sturdy, thick, and had screens). I felt safe and secure - there's a lot of petty theft in CR - so feeling safe is important to me. The kitchen had everything I would've needed to cook had I wanted to. But we ate at Ritmo's up the street - one of Matt's suggestion - fabulous! And we ate at The Place the next morning - another one Matt's suggestion - excellent! The whole town had a cool vibe, unlike Montezuma (very touristy, crowded, and chaotic). For some reason when I stay at a private place I want to know more about the owners. You can tell a lot about them by looking at their facility. I want to thank these owners for caring about quality construction, design, considering the guests' needs, keeping everything clean and repaired, and for hiring Matt & Tess. They took our stress level down a few notches and we were totally able to relax. And the price was perfect for us. We had been ripped off the night before at the Tioga Hotel in Puntarenas so it was a relief to pay a reasonable price for the casita.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here two nights as we made our way around the southern nicoya peninsula. This was our favorite place of the entire trip. Everything was very clean, beautiful construction, and really functional. Delicious ceviche was made in the kitchen with fish caught earlier in Mal Pais. The kitchen in the casita was fully stocked, and we really enjoyed cooking in there. The location could not be better, the hotel is beachfront, and has a beautiful pool. The supermarket (Super Ronnys) and bakery/coffee shop are only a few hundred yards away. If we ever make it back to Santa Teresa / Mal Pais - we'll stay here the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit County Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We rented the Casita at Casa Azul for 8 nights next to the larger house. We wanted more privacy, kitchen and a patio. We flew in on Sansa Airlines into Tambor, then shared a cab with other travelers to Santa Teresa ( Mali Pais) area which is 50.00 each way. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Richard's ( Owner) housesitters' Tess and Matt. Matt gave us the low down on the casita, ideas on restaurants, activities, and surf lessons.

The housekeeping was lovely each day- they changed our sheets, sweep, new towels and took the garbage...... The bed was comfortable. The shower was great- with hot H2O. We tried really hard not to use the air conditioner ( only when we slept) to keep the owners cost down. During this time of year- with the weather changing, new hatches of strange bugs appear- so we did buy some RAID one day.

The pool is a great feature, and the beach is right there. The grounds are very well kept.

The Casita is walking distance to good restaurants and bars, Ronny's Grocery etc.

We did rent a ATV one day, and with the help of Matt, we drove over to Montezuma for the day, hiked the waterfall over there and saw some sights.

The Kitchen in the Casita is perfect for breakfasts and lunches, coffee, keeping your beer cold and hanging out.

The patio is great for a book read in the hammick, and a game of Cribbage.

One thing at being in a third world country ( even with Amercian prices), you can't leave anything unattended, or the casitia unlocked at any time that you are not there... even at the pool or beach- which made us uncomfortable.. You must lock your valuables up at all times, and not leave anything on the clothes line or porch overnight. My boyfriend left his flip flops out ( too many cervasas) and they were GONE the next am, It was also loud on Saturday night from a club nearby.....

The beach is so pretty at Mali Pais! We did not want to leave. All the locals were nice and we felt welcome- the service in the restaurants was also good in the area.

Matt and Tess were an absoulute pleasure to hang out with, and very helpful, laid back and friendly- we are blessed to have made new friends. We were sorry to miss Richard- he was great with the booking of the casita!

Until next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Well what can I say about the Casa Azul? First off the house and the property are among the nicest we saw during our vacation and the kicker? It right on the beach! The whole week we were there we simply grabbed our boards and walked out the gate into surf that was good for beginers any time of day and attracted the more adventurous crowd every morning we were there.

We had a pretty large group that was well situated in the 2 ocean front rooms and the casita and wished we'd booked the entire property for some stragglers that found a place down the road.

A great place for groups or families as food, board rentals, excursion type charter places and groceries are no more than a 5 minute walk up and down the beach or on the main drag.

There is a bar next door that Richard was very worried would be making too much noise but in reality we hardly ever noticed it, and I stayed in the room closest to it. If you're worried I'd say take the far ocean view room or the Casita ( the best value in the whole place anyways! )

Overall a super experience that we would definitely repeat, many thanks to Richard and everyone at Casa Azul!

Room Tip: There is a bar next door, a family might consider the Casita which would be the best spot for them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.