We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot on the beach....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Summit County Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect spot on the beach....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We rented the Casita at Casa Azul for 8 nights next to the larger house. We wanted more privacy, kitchen and a patio. We flew in on Sansa Airlines into Tambor, then shared a cab with other travelers to Santa Teresa ( Mali Pais) area which is 50.00 each way. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Richard's ( Owner) housesitters' Tess and Matt. Matt gave us the low down on the casita, ideas on restaurants, activities, and surf lessons.

The housekeeping was lovely each day- they changed our sheets, sweep, new towels and took the garbage...... The bed was comfortable. The shower was great- with hot H2O. We tried really hard not to use the air conditioner ( only when we slept) to keep the owners cost down. During this time of year- with the weather changing, new hatches of strange bugs appear- so we did buy some RAID one day.

The pool is a great feature, and the beach is right there. The grounds are very well kept.

The Casita is walking distance to good restaurants and bars, Ronny's Grocery etc.

We did rent a ATV one day, and with the help of Matt, we drove over to Montezuma for the day, hiked the waterfall over there and saw some sights.

The Kitchen in the Casita is perfect for breakfasts and lunches, coffee, keeping your beer cold and hanging out.

The patio is great for a book read in the hammick, and a game of Cribbage.

One thing at being in a third world country ( even with Amercian prices), you can't leave anything unattended, or the casitia unlocked at any time that you are not there... even at the pool or beach- which made us uncomfortable.. You must lock your valuables up at all times, and not leave anything on the clothes line or porch overnight. My boyfriend left his flip flops out ( too many cervasas) and they were GONE the next am, It was also loud on Saturday night from a club nearby.....

The beach is so pretty at Mali Pais! We did not want to leave. All the locals were nice and we felt welcome- the service in the restaurants was also good in the area.

Matt and Tess were an absoulute pleasure to hang out with, and very helpful, laid back and friendly- we are blessed to have made new friends. We were sorry to miss Richard- he was great with the booking of the casita!

Until next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
56
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Well what can I say about the Casa Azul? First off the house and the property are among the nicest we saw during our vacation and the kicker? It right on the beach! The whole week we were there we simply grabbed our boards and walked out the gate into surf that was good for beginers any time of day and attracted the more adventurous crowd every morning we were there.

We had a pretty large group that was well situated in the 2 ocean front rooms and the casita and wished we'd booked the entire property for some stragglers that found a place down the road.

A great place for groups or families as food, board rentals, excursion type charter places and groceries are no more than a 5 minute walk up and down the beach or on the main drag.

There is a bar next door that Richard was very worried would be making too much noise but in reality we hardly ever noticed it, and I stayed in the room closest to it. If you're worried I'd say take the far ocean view room or the Casita ( the best value in the whole place anyways! )

Overall a super experience that we would definitely repeat, many thanks to Richard and everyone at Casa Azul!

Room Tip: There is a bar next door, a family might consider the Casita which would be the best spot for them a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I write this review begrudgingly, as this spot is so fantastic I'd prefer to keep it to myself. But after staying at Casa Azul twice now, it's time to give this hotel its due. The beach is fantastic, and Richard has, hands down, the best spot on it. Right in the middle of town, on some really great breaks. Fantastic restaurants, bars, shops and rentals (cars, atvs, boards, you name it) are all a stone's throw away. Private pool for guests and nice rooms, especially the suite which has a roofdeck with a blockbuster view for sunsets. So long as you don't expect swanky accoutrements like spa services or buffet breakfasts, you'd be crazy not to stay here.

Ryan R

Room Tip: If you have four people, go with the suite. It's fantastic. The Casita is nice too, and the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We traveled with another couple who had been to Casa Azul before. Easy beach access, but we spent more time at/in the pool! Richard is a great host and his staff worked very hard at making it a wonderful experience. We had the 2nd floor of the main house with the added bonus of the roof top deck.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the casita. Hotel staff (Minor) was very helpful with recommendations & directions. Location is great with direct access to beach. There is an awesome restaurant just a few meters down the beach. Would stay here again if we ever venture down that way again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful located and surrounded by different trees and palms. Very nice pool area in front of the beach. Private beach access, nice surfspot in front of the hotel, very clean rooms and a absolutely friendly staff and owner. Muchas Gracias eduardo, minor and richard! If we return to santa teresa our joice will definitively be CASA AZUL!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Casa Azul is amazing. We have and will continue to return here. We stayed for a month and it was PERFECT . Great for families (like us) or couples or as a single. Quiet & peaceful....it is always nice to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning:) Walking distance to anything and everything you would need. Richard is very helpful providing any info/help you may need. His staff work very hard to keep the yard and rooms clean....the nicest people you could ever meet. Not a thing to complain about.
Thanks Richard we will be seeing you again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.