We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Azul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casa Azul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Santa Teresa is amazing and this is a great place to stay, everything is within walking distance and the hotel is beautiful, will definitely come again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
53
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay. Richard was helpful and took good care of us. Thanks for everything! - Guy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

we had the best time in casa azul. the hotel is beautiful and Richard the owner is very nice.
Clean & quiet rooms. great pool. nice garden. located on the beach. not expensive.

Dor & Maya (Israel)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

It is hard to find anything new to add to the other "Excellent" reviews.One thing that has been mentioned is that Richard (the owner)is an real gem, which is true. He keeps the property beautifully maintained. He also makes sure that anything that is not quite right is corrected immediately - such as replacing an air conditioner that had stopped working.

The building(s) themselves are lovely - colorful and full of great paintings. We visited at a very hot time, but slept well in the air conditioned bedrooms.

The location is interesting because one would think that Casa Azul is miles from civilization - however the main street of Santa Teresa is just at the end of the driveway. We could saunter down the driveway to get lattes and baked goods for breakfast, and ice cream in the afternoon. It was the best of both worlds.

We were visiting with friends/family and filled up the Casa and Cassita with our party. A terrific place for a family reunion! We will be back to Casa Azul, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

First things first: Casa Azul is a little beach front resort in a little beach town. It's not the Hilton Honolulu, so don't expect pool service or to get fresh sheets and towels every night.
That said, in this little spot of Costa Rica Casa Azul has the absolute best location and private surroundings. The owner, Richard (ex-pat American) was there during our stay and was very attentive to any questions or concerns we had.

My wife and I stayed in the casita with our two small kids, and it was perfect. Just the right amount of amenities. We were there at the start of the rainy season, and the tin roof during the nightly thunderstorms was quite an earful! (not complain'...it's all part of the local ambiance)
The pool on the property was lovely. Good for the kids and for a cool dip.
The beach is literally right outside the back gate.
Lots of lizards and even monkeys hang around the spacious property, set back from the road. The water is from a private well on the property (i.e. CLEAN to drink!).
There was a good safe in our casita, which was a must. WiFi internet would have been nice, buy hey, they have that for free at any local bakery or cafe, so it's no big deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hands on owner is an asset to this hotel. His attention to detail and keeping the buildings and grounds in excellant shape made our stay fabulous. We had our three children and their spouses,the 3 grandchildren with us, two very close friends, and it was akin to renting out a private house property on the beach. We had all but one room,vertually the property to ourselves, and the large 2 bedroom upper apartment was a wonderful gathering place for meals and just visiting. The pool was in constant use by us, Jobbie's surf lessons and shop are close by, the sand and sea are just outside the beachfront gate, and the dining out was fabulous. A great place to be when not out doing other activities. Ross and Carol

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Would definitely stay here again. We were very disappointed after reaching our original destination....went to the bakery for Lunch (also fabulous) and spotted Casa Azul during lunch...walked up and rented the "bungalow" on the beach.. Thankful for RIchard and his hospitality!... Highly Recommended...Would DEFINITELY stay here again...Changed the outlook of Santa Teresa for my sons and I!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.