We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Great Hotel (House) on the beach with a great pool. There is a cold kitchen shared with 3 rooms. 2 in front with great views and hammocks and a smaller back room. Still plenty of hammocks for all. I did not go in the private house, bu it looked nice. I like that the gate which allowed me to not have to use the AC. I prefer the heat. Great location in town and short wak to everythoing you. Peaceful and relaxing. Great surfing beach, but never crowded. Owner lives upstairs or caretaker if you need something.

Room Tip: facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Casa Azul was the perfect vacation! A beautiful vacation spot with a beach you could walk for miles and the grounds perfectly serene to match. Richard, the owner who also lives here, makes you feel like his personal guest. He makes accommodations for almost anything and his down to earth/laid back attitude truely makes you feel at home. The pool is just a few feet off of the private patio and the beach just a short walk beyond that. Since the hotel is really more of a B&B without out the breakfast, there are only a few rooms keeping the number of guests to a minimum. It's like having your own private pool the whole week. There are hammocks scattered throughout the grounds creating multiple places to nap or read a book. Casa Azul is located in the middle of town with restaurants and bars in walking distance. I was pleasantly surprised that the local cuisine was amazing and fairly priced. Also, I highly recommend renting a 4-wheeler and driving to Cabo Blanco. It's a great way to see the area. The trip was overall relaxing and beautiful. If you're looking for a great place to get away and completely disconnect from the real world, this is the place!! The only drawback is the local club that plays their music a little too loud at night. However, closing the door and turning on the air condition worked well enough to drown out the noise. Otherwise, a perfect vacation spot and I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Casa Azul has a primo location in comparison to some of the other accommodations in the area. The grounds are beautiful, the atmosphere is tranquil, and Richard makes sure things are dialed. From where to find the best bite to the best board, you're taken care of. The waves out front are insanely consistent with most breaking chest to head high. If you're into surfing or just looking for a killer beach to chill out on, check out Santa Teresa an make sure you stay at The Blue House.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Back in the states for almost a week now and wish everyday that I were swinging in a hammock on the porch at Casa Azul. The owner Richard has done an excellent job of creating a little home away from home for everyone who visits. The only house on the beach Casa Azul offers a truly one of a kind experience. Just a short walk down the driveway puts you minutes from the best restaurants in town. I will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Be Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Santa Teresa at Casa Azul. I was pleasantly surprised to find that Casa Azul is one of the only spots in the area that is almost directly on the beach. You can check the waves from your room and walk 25 meters to the beach to surf, swim or watch the sunset.
The grounds were beautiful. Casa Azul is conveniently located right across the street from the Bakery - a great spot for breakfast and lunch.
Richard, the owner, was helpful and friendly. He had great recommendations for surf lessons and restaurants as it was our first time to the area.
Casa Azul is one of the places in Costa Rica that I would love to return to.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

When I arrived in town I had no set plan and just needed to crash for a nite or 2. After a couple days at casa azul u couldn't have paid me to switch hotels. I loved it so much!! I was spellbound by the location. Right in town surrounded by restaurants, bars, and most importantly right on the beach. Most places say they are near the beach but this one is directly on the beach!
Beautiful landscaping and fruit trees. I ate my share of fresh mangos! Iguanas all over the place!
The one thing missing was wireless Internet but the owner said he could arrange one those USB Internet sticks if u request it. I just ended up crossing the street and using the Internet at the local bakery. If someone can show me a better place in town than this, please show me!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I just had my second wonderful stay at Hotel Casa Azul and highly recommend the place to anyone who wants a beautiful place right on the beach. The lush landscaped grounds are a welcome contrast from the noise and dust covering most other places on the main drag.

My family and I have been coming here for years and each time I am thrilled to be able to walk right out of our private and secure little oasis out on to the beach and be in the water in seconds. It really is a luxury leaving your stuff right there in your room and not having to worry about bringing a towel, etc. down there with you.

The owner Richard is a nice guy and has had his staff on for a very long time. They are courteous and efficient at keeping the place comfortable. We always feel very safe and are able to fully enjoy our vacation at the Casa Azul. If you plan ahead and get reservations this place is ideal for big groups because you can rent it all out and have the whole hotel to yourselves!

Pura Vida,
Kevin S.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best at Casa Azul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.