We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are coming back. Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Raratonga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raratonga
3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$39 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Landskrona, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We are coming back. Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A nice quiet little hotel. The owners are very helpfull and very friendly. Very clean rooms and close to the beach. We stayed there with two small children and they loved the pool and garden. We really recomend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    23
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
68
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and the boys stayed in Raratonga Apartments for about 1 month in the summer of 11'. The place is a little piece of heaven. Alessia (hi! remember us? 3 frenchies boys from Canada!?) , her husband Stefano if I have a good memory) and their dogs (are such nice people and they are always there If you need anything (help for the bus, restaurants, planning, etc.) We had a very lovely cleaning woman who make our bed and did the dishes at morning, perfect when you are hangover or when you just came back from surf and it's done! (we are just lazy, but gave tips!).

The location is perfect, 5min away from the beach, directly on the main road where all the fun stuff happens. It's really a surfer town with a lot of activities. From there you can go easily to groceries, surf shop, bars, club & Montezuma (best place ever). The apartments are perfect, clean woods and flowers everywhere, very stylish and well equipped (the Air Conditioner = blast).

Just email Alessia she's very friendly and don't miss Raratonga if you're in Santa Teresa. It's the place to stay! Otherwise you may find yourself in a ugly overpriced hotel too hot to sleep and full of bugs and snake wishing you were at Raratonga's.

Antoine and the boys (Oliver & Felix)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Let's just start by saying that Johnny over there is one of the nicest people we've ever met. He seems to genuinely care about our day, our plans for the next day, our trouble, our needs. He's always close by, even when everything in the hotel is close for the night, to hear our story, offer advice or tips about the areas, care for us. Really, we enjoy him more than anything and we are usually not very marked by staff, one way or the other. Thank you Johnny! That beeing said, the others who worked with him were just as nice!

Accomodation, especially the outside part, is really really nice. Neat, clean, tucked, cared for, well design. The pool is great, just a few feet from our room. The little garden is well maintain, fresh in this torrid weather, and work as little fences and barriers against the dust of the town. The patio of each room is very nicely furnished. Well constructed from beautifull wood benches, table, lawn chairs. Also a hamock. Flowers. The inside is pretty basic but you have everything you need. Cooking surface, coffee maker, fridge, plates, glasses, utenciles... The bathroom is big and also well design. Hot water. But you can't really drink the water here. Nice bedroom with AC and fan. Comfy beds. Little safe. And a little lounge area with a sofa (I imagined it's some kind of bed as well). The hotel ground is close at nit with a gate (you have a key for it) as almost everywhere in Costa Rica. Wifi also works great. Everything in here worked very nicely for us, the only thing maybe is that your are somewhat close to your neighboors. Firtunately, there aren't many of them here!!

To get around in town is a bit complicated. You an walk to grocery store, restaurant including a soda and the beach. Farther than that (to reach the cross or the fisherman for example) you need a ride. You can rent a bike, a ATV or a 4WD car. We rented a 4x4 for the week and had a blast! We went all around town, to beaches, fishing, went to Manzanillo and Montezuma, went to Cabo Blanco with it. Paid 55$ a day for 5 days. Be carefull to rent a new and well maintained one. You can call a cab but it seems they were very expensive, think 20$ to go from one edge of the city to the other. For us, it was cheaper to rent the 4x4... (in case you are reading this Johnny, I forgot to tell you before we left but the ATV guy from just around the corner treated us very well, no hidden charges, no repairs cost, nothing, great service! Thanks for taking care of us on that one!). Raratonga offered to book all kind of service, from laundry and ATV to fishing outings and more.

The hotel is 100m off the main road, which is perfect to avoid noise and dust.

The town Is very very very dusty. Very. We saw people wearing scarf in front of their nose and mouth, helmet with visor, ski mask, even surgical mask, while running their moto/bike/ATV. We wore the visor of the 4x4 helmet during daytime, near downtown and on the main road to Cobano when "traffic" time. Otherwise, just sunglass is enough. But it makes for a weirdly "dirty" city, which we did not expect. The bright side is that everything (bathing suit, towel, clothes, hair) dry in minutes!

The more north you stay, the more frenetic the city is. Surfer, bars, party, people. For our taste (we are quiet, relexing people who don't go dancing at night) we would probably have enjoy more the southemost part of Malpais (but then, we wouldn't have met Johnny and stayed at the Raratonga!).

One last thing, for the ones of you who enjoy fishing, can we recommend the kayak fishing excursion. The office is almost right outside the hotel, on the main road, a few meters south, sea side. They are nice guys running a friendly business. You rent a well equiped kayak with all the trimmings to fish for 60$/3h. It comes with a guide that will help you paddle and find good spots. We saw them on their outings (we hired a fishing charter) and we later found them in town but it was too late to go with them, we were leaving. It's one of our few regrets, to have miss them! Go with them if you can!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a really good stay att Raratonga when visiting ST over Christmas/ New Year. They were very welcoming and helpful throughout. They gave us good recommendations and made reservations to various activities/transportation etc... for us. The room was accomadating and had just what we needed! The strip of beach nearest the Hotel was, according to us, the best strech on the long, long beach! Perfect for the morning swim and evening sunset. All in all we were very pleased and would not hesitate to recommend Raratonga to others nor would we hesitate to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here for just under a month and from the very start of the booking process the staff were beyond helpful, from splitting up our stay between two apartments, to helping us book fishing and snorkel trips to advice on Santa Teresa and the local area.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, a well stocked kitchen and a super cold fridge and freezer were provided. We had clean towels and bedding every day and the mini bar restocked regularly.

Some of the best surf is only a five minute walk, all you have to do is slip your boardies on, neck some coffee and you're in the water before you have time to think.

Would recomend the Raratonga Apartments to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I spent a month at Raratonga Apartments with my husband to surf.
We booked everything online and reserved the place by email. Since then the staff was really attentive, answering all my questions.

To get there by bus from San Jose it wasn't easy, but when we arrived there we REALLY didn't want to leave. That place is amazing.

The apartment is cozy, and has all the equipment we needed. It's close to the shops so we could cook everything at our place, saving a lot of money and eating well.

It has A/C and fan for the hot days and to save us from the mosquitos.

The pool is refreshing and clean, so are the rooms/bathroom. Gisele was the cleaner for that period, a friendly and helpful lady. Gianni the manager was SUPER SUPER helpful and nice to us. He made our stay in Santa Teresa really special, joining us for some breakfasts and dinners.

The place is really quiet, relaxing helping us to sleep in almost every day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ended up staying 2 more nights than what we originally intended! we loved the place and the room. First of all the service was amazing and all the staff was very helpful with anything we needed whether it was transportation, excursions or just tips on where to go. The rooms are cleaned everyday which makes it that much more enjoyable to come back to the room after a day at the beach. The mattresses are out of this world, we slept like babies every night. There are roosters outside the hostel in the morning but nothing to really be worried about, you get used to them and eventually learn to like it, as a result of you experiencing more of what it is like to live the costa rican lifestyle. Great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and surf! lastly the price is really good for what you get!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga and Raratonga Apartments.Two places to choose from for travellers of any budget.10 units total,double rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments,swimming pool,A/C, private bathroom,hot water,safety box,wi-fi,daily cleaning.Rates from $35-$55 p/night p/double room.5 minutes walking from the best surf spot of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raratonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.