We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Raratonga to your Saves list
Hotel Raratonga
3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, Great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ended up staying 2 more nights than what we originally intended! we loved the place and the room. First of all the service was amazing and all the staff was very helpful with anything we needed whether it was transportation, excursions or just tips on where to go. The rooms are cleaned everyday which makes it that much more enjoyable to come back to the room after a day at the beach. The mattresses are out of this world, we slept like babies every night. There are roosters outside the hostel in the morning but nothing to really be worried about, you get used to them and eventually learn to like it, as a result of you experiencing more of what it is like to live the costa rican lifestyle. Great location 2 minutes walk from the beach and surf! lastly the price is really good for what you get!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    25
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
72
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

First things first.
I read a review that stated a few negative things about this place. I'd like to say that anyone posting a negative review of this hotel should simply not travel to Santa Teresa. Santa Teresa, is a place with natural wild life, pristine beaches and limited development. The roads are not paved and Yes, there are monkeys, roosters and dogs running around. Anyone, who does not enjoy natural habitat is best to stay at a sandals resort somewhere else.

This place is great! The owners are sooooo nice and the rooms are really comfy. It is located at the quieter end of town and situated across from one of the best surf locations. It is priced well, safe and very hospitable.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone (especially couples) travelling to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: second floor was great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Raratonga Apartments for three days (June 29 - July 1) and it was amazing! We're hoping to visit again soon.

When Alessia welcomed us, she gave us tips and recommended a couple of places for us to visit. Once we got to step into the apartment, we were surprised at how nice it was! The kitchen is fully equipped and the dishes and utensils seemed new and neat. The bathroom was really big, clean, and it had hot water.The rooms were simple, but spacious with enough room for your stuff. Some felt that the beds were a bit hard to sleep on, but it was not a big deal. The whole apartment was equipped with A/C, fans and plenty of windows. Its location is pretty close to the beach, about a 5 minute walk, and it has several restaurants and supermarkets nearby (all at walking distance). And the pool was really nice too.

We drove there in a rented sedan, but would definitely advise you to get a 4x4 wheeler, just to make sure your car can make it to everywhere.

Overall, it was of great value and definitely recommend this place if you plan on visiting Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here as a couple back in 2010, its pete and amy. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks. Perfect location as short walk from the beach, very helpful staff. Alessia was amazing and always helped us with everything whenever we needed help. Thankyou for such a special time!

Room Tip: All good rooms, high ones get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our stay at Raratonga was perfect! Gianni and Alessia provided us with five star service!!! The room was very clean and the location was fantastic! They both were very helpful from start to finish and made our trip complete. Alessia was very helpful with trip planning and Gianni was there for anything we needed, even out on the waves!! He shared his passion of surfing and life in santa teresa and by the end of the week we felt like we were visiting with friends, not just staying at another hotel. We will definitely be back to Santa Teresa and Raratonga! Thanks for making our trip complete! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Belen, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent location, very close to everything, very clean facilities, the service is outstanding, Gianni was the best, a highly recommended place and very affordable prices!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jean
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I really enjoy my stay at the Raratonga hotel, Alessia & Johnny were very nice and very heplful. The room is very cute and very clean. The hotel is very close to the white sand beach if you like to be sit on the chair you must bring your . so quiet you have the beach for yourself !!!!!!!!! The hotel is close to everything, can be walking distance. Don't bring fancy clothes or shoes, the road are so dusty. If you like the dogs this is your country ...... the owner has 4 dogs, they are not dangerous , all dogs from Santa Teresa love people......PS they are healty very different than others country. I stayed for 13 days and wish could stay longer !!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga and Raratonga Apartments.Two places to choose from for travellers of any budget.10 units total,double rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments,swimming pool,A/C, private bathroom,hot water,safety box,wi-fi,daily cleaning.Rates from $35-$55 p/night p/double room.5 minutes walking from the best surf spot of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raratonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.