We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Raratonga to your Saves list
Hotel Raratonga
3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$39 (USD)
Ranked #10 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here as a couple back in 2010, its pete and amy. We stayed for nearly 3 weeks. Perfect location as short walk from the beach, very helpful staff. Alessia was amazing and always helped us with everything whenever we needed help. Thankyou for such a special time!

Room Tip: All good rooms, high ones get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our stay at Raratonga was perfect! Gianni and Alessia provided us with five star service!!! The room was very clean and the location was fantastic! They both were very helpful from start to finish and made our trip complete. Alessia was very helpful with trip planning and Gianni was there for anything we needed, even out on the waves!! He shared his passion of surfing and life in santa teresa and by the end of the week we felt like we were visiting with friends, not just staying at another hotel. We will definitely be back to Santa Teresa and Raratonga! Thanks for making our trip complete! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio de Belen, Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent location, very close to everything, very clean facilities, the service is outstanding, Gianni was the best, a highly recommended place and very affordable prices!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Jean
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I really enjoy my stay at the Raratonga hotel, Alessia & Johnny were very nice and very heplful. The room is very cute and very clean. The hotel is very close to the white sand beach if you like to be sit on the chair you must bring your . so quiet you have the beach for yourself !!!!!!!!! The hotel is close to everything, can be walking distance. Don't bring fancy clothes or shoes, the road are so dusty. If you like the dogs this is your country ...... the owner has 4 dogs, they are not dangerous , all dogs from Santa Teresa love people......PS they are healty very different than others country. I stayed for 13 days and wish could stay longer !!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very nice small hotell with beautiful rooms, great location near the best surfspot, very clean, wifi, good value. Alessia who owns the hotell is the nicest person and will help you with any problems. If I go back I will stay there again.

Marcus from Sweden

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

close to the fantastic beach of Santa Teresa
Nice and clean
exellent service
Wifi
Great value

I would love to come back one day:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are so glad we found the Hotel Rartonga! It is located in a perfect spot, very close to the beautiful beach and great surf. The grounds are very well maintained and it is such a calm, beautiful place to hang out at. Our room was clean, perfectly sized and a great value. The best part of our stay though was the owners - Alessia, Stephan, and Gianni. Helpful and knowledgeable from our first inquiry email to the last day of our trip. I can't say enough about the customer service they provided and the obvious pride they take in their hotels!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!! We will be back and our bringing our kids on the next trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga and Raratonga Apartments.Two places to choose from for travellers of any budget.10 units total,double rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments,swimming pool,A/C, private bathroom,hot water,safety box,wi-fi,daily cleaning.Rates from $35-$55 p/night p/double room.5 minutes walking from the best surf spot of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raratonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.