We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Save Saved
You added Hotel Raratonga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Raratonga
3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
St-Jean
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Peace on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I really enjoy my stay at the Raratonga hotel, Alessia & Johnny were very nice and very heplful. The room is very cute and very clean. The hotel is very close to the white sand beach if you like to be sit on the chair you must bring your . so quiet you have the beach for yourself !!!!!!!!! The hotel is close to everything, can be walking distance. Don't bring fancy clothes or shoes, the road are so dusty. If you like the dogs this is your country ...... the owner has 4 dogs, they are not dangerous , all dogs from Santa Teresa love people......PS they are healty very different than others country. I stayed for 13 days and wish could stay longer !!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very nice small hotell with beautiful rooms, great location near the best surfspot, very clean, wifi, good value. Alessia who owns the hotell is the nicest person and will help you with any problems. If I go back I will stay there again.

Marcus from Sweden

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

close to the fantastic beach of Santa Teresa
Nice and clean
exellent service
Wifi
Great value

I would love to come back one day:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are so glad we found the Hotel Rartonga! It is located in a perfect spot, very close to the beautiful beach and great surf. The grounds are very well maintained and it is such a calm, beautiful place to hang out at. Our room was clean, perfectly sized and a great value. The best part of our stay though was the owners - Alessia, Stephan, and Gianni. Helpful and knowledgeable from our first inquiry email to the last day of our trip. I can't say enough about the customer service they provided and the obvious pride they take in their hotels!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!! We will be back and our bringing our kids on the next trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the affordable price, Raratonga Apartments was a great choice. You could even save more money if you have friends stay with you and split the apartment. They were clean, simple, wifi was fastest I found in town, A/C worked, pool was nice, and the short walk to the beach was easy. It's also right next to surf shops and Zwart Cafe - yum.
Our friends were staying in two of the other apartments and the guys who worked at Raratonga were super helpful to all of us. From lost bags by the airline to our friend losing his keys. You also saw our hosts around town and they always said hello.
There were also Iguanas all over the property which we thought was pretty cool.
If you want to spend your money on surfing and exploring vs. a private bungalow, or perhaps you are traveling with friends on a budget, this is a great spot for you.
Thanks Raratonga!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel Raratonga! It met our needs in a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay with a price that was reasonable. The location is near quality restaurants, cafes (Ginger Cafe), the beach and the supermarket was a 2 minute walk down the street. Our time spent at Hotel Raratonga will provide us with many great memories of Costa Rica and Santa Teresa. Lastly, as mentioned in many other reviews, Alessia is great and always there for you. She responded to all my questions in a timely manner while planning our trip and continued to offer her assistance when needed throughout our stay at her hotel. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Enjoyed our time at Hotel Raratonga, firstly because Alessia is so available to help with any needs. The couple of maintenance issues we had were immediately addressed, the accomodations were cute and clean and we would definitely consider Hotel Raratonga on a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa
Address: 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga and Raratonga Apartments.Two places to choose from for travellers of any budget.10 units total,double rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments,swimming pool,A/C, private bathroom,hot water,safety box,wi-fi,daily cleaning.Rates from $35-$55 p/night p/double room.5 minutes walking from the best surf spot of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raratonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.