We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Great People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Raratonga to your Saves list
Hotel Raratonga
3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Value - Great People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the affordable price, Raratonga Apartments was a great choice. You could even save more money if you have friends stay with you and split the apartment. They were clean, simple, wifi was fastest I found in town, A/C worked, pool was nice, and the short walk to the beach was easy. It's also right next to surf shops and Zwart Cafe - yum.
Our friends were staying in two of the other apartments and the guys who worked at Raratonga were super helpful to all of us. From lost bags by the airline to our friend losing his keys. You also saw our hosts around town and they always said hello.
There were also Iguanas all over the property which we thought was pretty cool.
If you want to spend your money on surfing and exploring vs. a private bungalow, or perhaps you are traveling with friends on a budget, this is a great spot for you.
Thanks Raratonga!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    34
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
81
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel Raratonga! It met our needs in a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay with a price that was reasonable. The location is near quality restaurants, cafes (Ginger Cafe), the beach and the supermarket was a 2 minute walk down the street. Our time spent at Hotel Raratonga will provide us with many great memories of Costa Rica and Santa Teresa. Lastly, as mentioned in many other reviews, Alessia is great and always there for you. She responded to all my questions in a timely manner while planning our trip and continued to offer her assistance when needed throughout our stay at her hotel. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Enjoyed our time at Hotel Raratonga, firstly because Alessia is so available to help with any needs. The couple of maintenance issues we had were immediately addressed, the accomodations were cute and clean and we would definitely consider Hotel Raratonga on a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Searching for a balanced Costa Rica location one that provides seclusion yet offers nearby amenities is difficult. Writing this review is difficult bc I dare not want to spoil such a wonderful place. You can find no better than this wonder hotel nestled into a jungle-like atmosphere you feel instantly at home here. Clean, safe, spoilingly friendly between a hotel/hostel/private home there truly is not a better option than Hotel Raratonga. Santa Teresa is a wonderful place and will hopefully preserve what makes it so special. Your time researching should end here as mine did, you will fall in love with this hotel, the staff, the others that stay there. This is pura vida. Respect, preserve, and forever enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed in both the hotel and the apartment locations and both were clean, safe and quiet. The owner speaks English and is super helpful. We had a couple of minor crises and she went out of her way to make phone calls and contacts for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We've travelled to Costa Rica a few times already and Hotel Raratonga is definitely the best place I can imagine. Very friendly stuff, beautiful rooms, very clean, quiet, close to the beach, close to supermarket and excellent restaurants in the midst of a stunning environment.
Go there, you'll love it!

Room Tip: Appartements are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I was looking for a place to be in my visit to Santa Teresa for 2 days. I found this place on a web site and went for it. The wooden apartaments are simple, clean and just enough to have a nice trip to the beach. Full equipped kitchen is a plus, help you save some money by cooking your own meals. Johhny is a nice guy and very kind when helping us in anything. Bottom line, I recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#24 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga and Raratonga Apartments.Two places to choose from for travellers of any budget.10 units total,double rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments,swimming pool,A/C, private bathroom,hot water,safety box,wi-fi,daily cleaning.Rates from $35-$55 p/night p/double room.5 minutes walking from the best surf spot of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raratonga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.