We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you're a stinky surf bum.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luz De Vida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Luz De Vida
Save Saved
You added Hotel Luz De Vida to your Saves list
Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 02254, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place if you're a stinky surf bum.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed here twice, 2005 and 2012. The place has gone totally downhill. The only redeeming qualities are that they replaced the old louver shutters with windows at some point, the outdoor areas(hotel grounds) are kept very clean and the staff are accommodating at least as far as our needs were at the time. The beds are in serious need of replacement. The door locks are questionable. Leaving you to stuff anything valuable in the safe if you can get it all in there. The tree line on the beach used to be for guests of the hotel more or less. Now its just a hang out for every bum and floozy on that beach. All the youngsters who have decided to drop out of life congregate there, every day all day long. So a peaceful day at the beach will have you walking at least 100 meters north unless you want to see them hanging all over each other. So good luck getting a chair or hammock.
One thing I enjoyed in 2005 was waking up, walking to the restaurant on premises, getting a coffee then taking an early swim or relaxing on the beach. The restaurant has now been leased to a group of rude guys from Chicago who open later in the day. So now if ya want a coffee in the morning you have to walk a good bit to find one.
They advertise that it's authentic Italian food. Thats a laugh. All they have is overpriced pizza($14.00 for cheese and sauce), pasta dishes and get this, Imperial for $5.00?
They also just throw their old junk and trash right behind the pizza oven right there on the beach. The toilets at this restaurant are overflowing with used toilet paper and other trash.
Literally piled in the corner next to the toilet. Luz De Vida needs to do something about this. It's still their property I presume. The only thing nice was the bartenders. They were cool guys. The family/owners are jerks.
Anyhow, do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. There are plenty of places in Santa Teresa now that are cleaner and much much cheaper. Even the hostels are nicer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Rooms are on the side of the road which makes it noisy and dusty, not clean, old, pool is dirty. Rooms are big enough for a family and the location is perfect, on the beach, nice beach, good smoothies, verrrrry friendly surf instructors for kids, kids loved the place, the pool and the beach, walking distance from some nice restaurants. Just up date the room, clean the pool and it is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The people that take care of you on desk go above and beyond to please and accommodate

Room Tip: we loved this place great location everyone there is so nice in taking care of you and pleasant. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We got our own private bungalo with outdoor shower rocking chairs on the deck and a hamock. Even tho it was right in the middle of the resort we still felt quite tucked away. Inside was ac,fridge, tv, a king sized bed and beautiful bathroom.
There's a beautiful pool, restaurant, beach bar and even a pool table and ping pong. The resort runs road to beach so you're right there - perfect for beach time and sunset strolls.
About the crabs and iguanas, they're everywhere in every size. They are not a nuisance, just a really cool feature. And the turtles, we were on a sunset stroll one night and came upon baby green turtles climbing out of their beach nest and heading straight for the water. There were 15-20 of them taking the plunge and we were lucky enough catch it.
Luz de vida was the beach paradise we were looking for.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

We stumbled across this place and it was exactly what we needed! We wish we never left our little piece of paradise!

We stayed in our own large cabin that was very clean and had a king size bed. We had our own porch with rocking chairs to relax and watch the lizards. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was clean and spacious, it even had a rainshower faucet! If you lime, there are outdoor showers as well after your time on the beach - which is about a 45 second walk from your door.

Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They rent surfboards on site and will arrange tours for you.

We were so lucky to see turtles hatching right on their beach!! This place was awesome!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Arrived on xmas day 2010...our Cabina was right on the dusty road than runs the lengh of Santa Teresa, so that wasn't great.
Rooms are fairly dated, and water cut out on several occasions during our 5 day stay.

The people on reception were strangely incapable of basic communication.

We had a very unfortunate incident occur on our stay - the hotel booked us a taxi (and we agreed our destination and a price before we got in the cab). However, the driver then refused to take us to where we agreed, and ended up punching me in the face when we said we werent willing to pay (he tried to kick us out the cab in the middle of nowhere).

Obviously this wasn't Hotel Luz Da Vidas fault strictly speaking, but it was their reaction to it that was so dissapointing. Something like this can ruin a holiday, but they didn't seem to care that they had booked us a taxi with the local psycho! And when I asked to report the driver to the police, they were not helpful at all.

The beach front that Luz Da Vida sits on is truly stunning - and chilling out in the hammocks and surfing infront of the hotel bar is great - however I feel that the owners are happy to rip tourists off with high rates (on rooms, and drinks etc) and offer poor service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Stayed here for 16 days, had a great time. The staff was very friendly, the beachfront fantastic. This is where the best surfing happens, and we love to watch. (a little too old to participate) Beach bar at Happy Hour is busy with lots of folks watching the sunset and surfers. The beaches in both directions are awesome, white sand stretches with rocky points to explore the tide pools or even swim in. Shore fishing is alot of fun, too. The negative reviews are posted by 'all inclusive' types, and bugs are everywhere in Costa Rica, so don't be swayed. Great place for families, we will be returning.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luz De Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz De Vida

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 02254, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 8 garden view rooms and 5 pool view bungalows, all of them equipped with a/c, phone, safe and hot water. We also have an international cuisine restaurant, a spa and pool. We have a nice kids area, and a volleyball field. We are a beautiful beachfront resort in a nice piece of paradise. Santa Teresa, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Luz De Vida
Luz De Vida Hotel
Hotel Luz De Vida Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luz De Vida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.