We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views and great hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermosa Rentals
Save Saved
You added Hermosa Rentals to your Saves list
10 km Norte de Cruce Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 111111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Great location, great views and great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week and could not have asked for a better location or place to stay! The house is huge and rooms are very spacious. Jim and Erin are great hosts, coffee was always hot and ready when we woke up and the breakfasts were delicious-both Costa Rican and American style! With amazing views and the beach only minutes away its hard to imagine staying anywhere else! We highly recommend it!

Sean and Desi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks Dezi and Sean! Was fun getting to know you two and remember you two are always welcome back! Thanks Jim and Erin-- see you in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steffisburg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The holidays by Erin and Jim are wonderful. Its a beautiful place above the sea, with view on the sea. All rooms are nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. We stayed twice at Erin and each time it was like coming home. Thank you Erin and Jim for your hospitality. Richard and Theresa

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks Richard and Theresa! It was wonderful getting to know you and you two are welcome back anytime! You two were great guests and thanks for all the techy help! :) Enjoy your beautiful home and remodeling but don't let Theresa talk you into making more shoe closets! HAHAH! Best Regards Jim and Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here Feb 2013 for 15 days, up the hill, out of the dust!!!, but still steps from the beach with Jim and Erin. Such amazing hospitality you basically feel like it is your own home while you are staying there. Super clean, great location and the best sunset views in the area! cant wait to come back and visit next year! Thanks a mill guys for an awesome stay and say hi to Ginger for me!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks Scott! You were a blast to get to know! Glad you could celebrate your Birthday here with us and you liked Jim's BBQ turkey! Will send you the recipe! Hope to see you again ! Thanks Jim and Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Playa Hermosa and stayed with Jim & Erin back in February last year. The house is wonderful...spacious, extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and we had full access to the kitchen and living area and deck which has amazing ocean views. Our bedroom also had an ocean view and the most comfy bed I have ever slept in!! We loved staying here because we were made to feel part of the family and Jim & Erin were so helpful and informative about the local area but at the same time gave us space and privacy to enjoy the house and gardens.
The option to rent an ATV, bicycles and surfboards is a definite bonus. Hermosa beach is a 5 minute walk away and there are also some very good restaurants close by.
We loved Playa Hermosa so much that we moved here and now count Jim & Erin as good friends...thanks guys for introducing us to paradise!!

Room Tip: Book the Honeymoon Suite for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a lovely setting! The rooms are clean, Jim & Erin are wonderful hosts, and the laundry service is unbelievable! This truly a beautiful place to stay, cost is extremely reasonable, & your very close to Playa Hermosa! Enjoy if you ever get the chance!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed with Jim and Erin about two years ago for our first vacation in Costa Rica and boy were we impressed!!! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the ocean views right away in the morning will take your breath away. Its just a short walk to a nice, secluded beach that was great for learning to surf (with rented surfboards!). We preferred being in a more secluded setting but did choose to go into Santa Teresa for great food and drinks and we were very impressed. Jim and Erin had great tips for us, we'll definitely be staying again! Thanks for a great stay :)

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" has one bed and ocean views. It wasn't available when we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We came to Costa Rica to study Spanish (and surf) and stayed here as part of a package with the perfect sunset school. The house is really big and very clean. Jim and Erin live there and rent out their rooms. They are very friendly and accommodating, they are very respectful of your privacy and are very willing to help out where ever possible. They have two ATVs and surfboards to rent out, which is very handy for getting to the beach and going into town. It is situated about 15 minutes out of town but this is a definite advantage as the main town can be very busy and dusty during peak season. It is a 5 minute walk from a beautiful, less populated beach (playa hermosa), great for surfing (beginners to advanced!) and swimming. We had a really great stay, we felt very comfortable and at home! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks Kate and Alex! You two were a blast to get to know. We really enjoyed your company. Hope you two get fluent fast in Spanish and hope your future in Peru is wonderful and exciting! Hope to see you in the future! PURA VIDA from CR Erin and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermosa Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Rentals

Address: 10 km Norte de Cruce Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 111111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermosa Rentals is a family owned business. DIRECTLY across from the beach, a five minute walk to the famous sandy surf spot of Playa Hermosa! We rent two rooms, A sea-view suite and a "friend/amigo" suite. The sea-view suite offers a king size bed with ocean views. The "amigo" suite offers a two double beds. Each bedroom shares a full bathroom. Room rentals offer the use of a ocean view deck,fully equipped kitchen,living space. We offer free WIFI. We offer rentals of ATV,surf boards,bicycles,inner tubes and body boards.We are partnered with The Perfect Sunset School which provides professional Spanish courses and Surf lessons. We are directly across from a 5-star restaurant and elegant Yoga studio, Pranamar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hermosa Rentals Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.