We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermosa Rentals
10 km Norte de Cruce Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 111111, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited Playa Hermosa and stayed with Jim & Erin back in February last year. The house is wonderful...spacious, extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and we had full access to the kitchen and living area and deck which has amazing ocean views. Our bedroom also had an ocean view and the most comfy bed I have ever slept in!! We loved staying here because we were made to feel part of the family and Jim & Erin were so helpful and informative about the local area but at the same time gave us space and privacy to enjoy the house and gardens.
The option to rent an ATV, bicycles and surfboards is a definite bonus. Hermosa beach is a 5 minute walk away and there are also some very good restaurants close by.
We loved Playa Hermosa so much that we moved here and now count Jim & Erin as good friends...thanks guys for introducing us to paradise!!

Room Tip: Book the Honeymoon Suite for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a lovely setting! The rooms are clean, Jim & Erin are wonderful hosts, and the laundry service is unbelievable! This truly a beautiful place to stay, cost is extremely reasonable, & your very close to Playa Hermosa! Enjoy if you ever get the chance!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed with Jim and Erin about two years ago for our first vacation in Costa Rica and boy were we impressed!!! The rooms are comfortable and clean and the ocean views right away in the morning will take your breath away. Its just a short walk to a nice, secluded beach that was great for learning to surf (with rented surfboards!). We preferred being in a more secluded setting but did choose to go into Santa Teresa for great food and drinks and we were very impressed. Jim and Erin had great tips for us, we'll definitely be staying again! Thanks for a great stay :)

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" has one bed and ocean views. It wasn't available when we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We came to Costa Rica to study Spanish (and surf) and stayed here as part of a package with the perfect sunset school. The house is really big and very clean. Jim and Erin live there and rent out their rooms. They are very friendly and accommodating, they are very respectful of your privacy and are very willing to help out where ever possible. They have two ATVs and surfboards to rent out, which is very handy for getting to the beach and going into town. It is situated about 15 minutes out of town but this is a definite advantage as the main town can be very busy and dusty during peak season. It is a 5 minute walk from a beautiful, less populated beach (playa hermosa), great for surfing (beginners to advanced!) and swimming. We had a really great stay, we felt very comfortable and at home! Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks Kate and Alex! You two were a blast to get to know. We really enjoyed your company. Hope you two get fluent fast in Spanish and hope your future in Peru is wonderful and exciting! Hope to see you in the future! PURA VIDA from CR Erin and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at Hermosa rentals twice in the past year and will continue to stay there every time we visit Costa Rica. The house is absolutely stunning starting with the grounds and ending with the view. The beach is with walking distance and very easy to access if you have never been there. Its a great place for a quite relaxing vacation yet not to far from the night life. I was very pleased with the many options for outdoor activities and rentals they provided us while there. ( ex: Surfboards, ATVs) Jim and Erin were extremely friendly and very inviting of us into their home. They were very accommodating during our entire stay and keep the house in excellent condition.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have never been to Costa Rica before, but I will definetly go back to Hermosa Rentals. It was very close to beautiful beaches, & the accommedations were wonderful. Gorgeous view of the ocean from the patio.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My stay last spring with Hermosa rentals was a dream come true! I was expecting an average trip but it was first class all the way. The house is absolutely gorgeous with just a short, beautiful walk to the beach and phenomenal surfing. The beach is pristine. I've enjoyed several Costa Rican beaches, but I haven't seen any more beautiful...and it's amazing surfing!
Erin and Jim are the best host and hostess anyone could ask for. They are so friendly and helpful that I instantly felt like their friend. Their home is huge, comfortable and insanely clean. The kitchen has all the utensils and appliances you could wish for OR...you can book a personal chef! All visitors will enjoy lounging on the porch with cool beverage in hand. I can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great! One is larger...the other has the ocean view. I didn't spend much time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermosaRentals, Owner at Hermosa Rentals, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks Mary Gin! You were fun to get to know and hope to see you back here soon! Your school kids are lucky to have such a dedicated teacher!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hermosa Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Rentals

Address: 10 km Norte de Cruce Mal Pais/Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 111111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermosa Rentals is a family owned business. DIRECTLY across from the beach, a five minute walk to the famous sandy surf spot of Playa Hermosa! We rent two rooms, A sea-view suite and a "friend/amigo" suite. The sea-view suite offers a king size bed with ocean views. The "amigo" suite offers a two double beds. Each bedroom shares a full bathroom. Room rentals offer the use of a ocean view deck,fully equipped kitchen,living space. We offer free WIFI. We offer rentals of ATV,surf boards,bicycles,inner tubes and body boards.We are partnered with The Perfect Sunset School which provides professional Spanish courses and Surf lessons. We are directly across from a 5-star restaurant and elegant Yoga studio, Pranamar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hermosa Rentals Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hermosa Rentals to your Saves list