We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The true pura vida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Playa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Playa
Save Saved
You added Cabinas Playa to your Saves list
In front "LA LORA" Beach, Santa Teresa 89117, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“The true pura vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Cabina's playa & their crew is simply the essence of Santa Teresa Costa Rica, seriously if you are looking for good times, music, friends, and sweet memories you should stay there, beast location so close to the hottest surfing point, I met their some awesome people wile I stay for two weeks. Especially the guys that run the place Idan & Amir they are the coolest, make me feel like I am a part of the place, you can book thru them a surfing and yoga lessons. Also when we stay there the chef was a nice Argentinean guy that cooked good food and the best banana ice crème you will ever taste. Clean rooms, hot water, wif, community kitchen, pool table, swimming pool, surfer movies, good energy end everything you need to be happy and live the Pura Vida

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't get a closer spot to the best surf break on the beach which was perfect for my boyfriend who went out every day and had some great waves. Our room had a balcony which had a lovely view of the garden. Unfortunately this place is let down by a few things we were expecting after reading their website and some glowing TA reviews. The pool is out of service; apparently it just needed filling up but that didnt happen. We saw the cleaning lady offering cleaning to other guests, but we weren't offered anything (we dont expect 5-star service). Perhaps we had to request it...but everywhere else we have stayed throughout Central America including places a lot less nicer, includes the offer to clean the room without asking. The communal kitchen is woefully inadequate and dirty, it was lucky we had our own cutlery with us. I wasn't sure who worked there and who was just hanging out, and it was difficult to get their attention; we felt like we were interrupting their conversations. So if you're expecting a kitchen you can cook in, a pool, and basic room service then you may be disappointed; maybe thats what you get for this price in Santa Teresa. But if you just want to surf or hang out down the beach all day and arent worried about those things, then go, as I've said the location couldn't be better!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Well Kiwi chick


Im very sorry to read this review of yours for many reasons.. mainly is that i think you write about a few things you dont know about ..
like the pool - That was being repaired because the pump needed a new engine as well as having a few minor wholes ! NOT "Just needed being filled up" .


Also you mention that other guests were being offered to clean their room and yours not for any reason..???
.Do i need to mention that you stayed for only 3 nights, and if you would of just bother to ask someone it would been cleaned with pleasure .

Also you say that that the kitchen was without cutlery --- THAT'S ABSURD -- we have everything you need to cock as you can see from other TripAdvisor reviews ...Also you can come back here and ill show you myself , maybe all you needed is,to ask.

I was personally here when you were staying as guests and you never bothered to mention any of this to me when i was here.. am i supposed to read your mind about this fixable problems ??


Besides that im happy you and your boyfriend enjoyed the good waves in front and our balcony room with the nice view


Pura Vida
Amir Berkovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three months, what else to say. I cried on the bus to san jose. The best location, the staff treated you like family, pumping waves, good party, clean and good facilities. Woow woow waa! Hope ill come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
OLLLLLEEEEEEEEEE



Happy you enjoyed your stay here ..WE CRYED TO...

Well we dont need to tell u how much we (cabinas playa crew ) enjoyed you and Jacob AND Erick and crazy simon stay here >>>> we love you and cant wait to see you again ,,, here or sweden what ever come first


MISS U BROTHERRRRR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The best vibe of all hostels. Closest to the best surf spot in Santa, and I've stayed at most, and been to all. Best price for value. Awesome staff! Lots of nice people from all over. The only thing I'd wish for is that I could stay longer...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cabinas Playa was totally perfect, the crew, the place, the atmosphere, the service, everything! We had the best time there. We met some really nice people and we love the relax and cool atmosphere. We always had a place to chill and enjoy la pura vida de costa rica. Moreover, the access to the beach is just in front of the hostel. The nicest place in Santa Teresa!!!! Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cabinas playa was a really awesome place to stay! First of all it is right next to the beach entrance and a bar! Also the crew and relaxed atmosphere were really fun, we met a bunch of cool people. I highly recommend this hostel and i'm going back for sure next year :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Valerieeeeeeeee !!!! :-)


Muchas gracias estuve un placer a conocerte y Phenlope ustedes muy amables.

We allready miss u girls,,,

Hope to see u soon again :-0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Iv'e been to alot of hostels, and nothing came close to this in terms of hospitality, service and vibe. Its the difference between feeling like a tourist and feeling like a local. Highly recommended!!!!!! Also 5 min from the best surf spot in santa and costa rica

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Playa

Address: In front "LA LORA" Beach, Santa Teresa 89117, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Playa - Surf Hotel in Santa Teresa, Welcomes you surfers and travelers Costa Rica. Cabinas Playa is a cabin rental hotel located just 10 meters from the best surf break in the Nicoya Peninsula area - "LA LORA" - This is one of the best locations for surfing in Costa Rica !! We offer private and shared bedrooms with A/C, a private bathroom/shower, kitchen & balcony !! We also have a restaurant that serves amazing dishes for comfortable prices,swimming pool, huge screen, pool table, bicycle and surf boards for rent along with surf lessons (private & groups) laundry service, free WiFi and coffee and much much more !!Cabinas PLaya surf hotel is THE PLACE for young people from all over the world. We are here to provide the best service and make your stay with us at the Cabinas Playa enjoyable, relaxing memorable (-: . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Playa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.