We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in mal pais/santa teresa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Playa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Cabinas Playa
Save Saved
You added Cabinas Playa to your Saves list
In front "LA LORA" Beach, Santa Teresa 89117, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“The place to be in mal pais/santa teresa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location is perfect to get to the best beach break of the area,as its in front of the hostel,you only just have to cross the street.
Very good vibe - you meet a lot of friendly people - staff is looking after you and have loads of cold beers ready for you after a long day surfing. But also the food they make is great.

We first spent 2 nights there and then went travelling across the country but we decided to come back and finish our trip at cabinas playa because you feel just great when you are there.

I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'm gonna write this review from the bottom of my heart, because this is the place where the team of Cabinas Playa and everyone I met there, belong.

Me and my friend arrived to Sta Teresa to spend a few days and ended up staying muuuuuuuuuch more than expected. It was just what where expecting for our holidays, we felt like ¨home¨since the day we arrived, sweaty and tired of looking for an accommodation. They got us the best room and treat us both like part of the group since minute one.

Location is perfect, i truly recommend the sunsets at the beach, just across the street, the movie nights, the food that Antoine cooks with love and and the laughs at the pool with a cool beer.

There is nothing much to add to a place runned by people who love what they do and, day by day, make the effort to make your stay in Sta Teresa, a place to remember.

Keep doing what you do, this is what make Cabinas such a special place :)

we love you guys! big kiss from home in Spain! xx

PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

For a hostel is a nice and comfortable place. The owners are friendly and the stay is fun for the party people and also for the surfers as the hostel is in front of the best surf point! Can't wait to come back with my Brazilian girlfriends to have the perfect party blend: brazil + pura vida! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

After I have been in few hostels which were pretty bad we got a place in the dorms of this hostel.. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing!! The owners, Amir and Idan are two young dudes who would like to give you all the information you need about the place.. The common area was great in order to meet other travelers . I would definitely come back here!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place opposite the disco was overpriced, dirty, with rude staff who like to party at night in the hostel. We also had to share the bathroom of our 5-bed dorm with several people who slept in the hammocks. The room was never cleaned during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I found this place online, not knowing anything about Costa Rica or Santa Teresa. What I found was the perfect combination of incredible beaches, nightlife, amazing food, and the friendliest accommodations around. The cost per night was really affordable, the pool was fresh, the beers cold, the pool table and movies were welcome after all day on the beach. The best beach access in town is right across the street. Highly recommended from an experienced traveler!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks so much Dyamni

We are very happy to hear you liked our place so much.. we loved having you here as well , and enjoyed every moment with you !!
You are a


Hope to see you here again soon - Were leaving you a cold one ready :-)))

Cabinas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The most amazing place ever! Surfing, tanning, chillin' on a beach with a jungle behind you.. It's something you can't describe with words or even with pictures!! And the staff is the best- friendships for life! thanx cabinas playa, Can't wait 2 come back! :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review Danielushhhhhhhhh :-)


We also had a great time having you here, you filled the place with joy and happiness !!
You will definitely be missed here ... The POOL is not the same without you ~
definitely


Hope to see you again next year ----

Cabinas Playa Crew ;-)))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Playa

Address: In front "LA LORA" Beach, Santa Teresa 89117, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Playa - Surf Hotel in Santa Teresa, Welcomes you surfers and travelers Costa Rica. Cabinas Playa is a cabin rental hotel located just 10 meters from the best surf break in the Nicoya Peninsula area - "LA LORA" - This is one of the best locations for surfing in Costa Rica !! We offer private and shared bedrooms with A/C, a private bathroom/shower, kitchen & balcony !! We also have a restaurant that serves amazing dishes for comfortable prices,swimming pool, huge screen, pool table, bicycle and surf boards for rent along with surf lessons (private & groups) laundry service, free WiFi and coffee and much much more !!Cabinas PLaya surf hotel is THE PLACE for young people from all over the world. We are here to provide the best service and make your stay with us at the Cabinas Playa enjoyable, relaxing memorable (-: . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Playa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.