We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hermosa

Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came and it was a filthy beach. It was odd, Santa Teresa was clean and so was Mal Pais but this beach was loaded with wood and trash, it seems like it just caught all the trash for some reason, maybe a weird tide or something but personally, I'll stay in Santa Teresa and on the beach next visit, it really is one of the top beaches in the world.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    23
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Best beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our favorite beach in Santa Teresa. Tide pools in the mid-morning low tide are perfect for swimming and full of little critters - crabs, clown fish, etc. Good surfing spot. Not crowded at all. Families mostly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach, Great Surf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Beautiful beach with great surf! As the tides come in and out, you never have to worry because this particular stretch of beach is located in such a place that there is no reef or rocks at any tide! Just make sure a guide with some knowledge of the area shows you the correct places to surf.

This beach also has fantastic views of the coastline surrounding Playa Hermosa. Some of my best pictures from the whole trip were taken right here.

GO! It's paradise

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

It was such a peaceful place to relax with my fiance. I'm glad we found the time to spend an afternoon here!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This beach has it all, perfect sand amazing surf and safe enough for kids and beginners to swim and surf. Paradise

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Hermosa also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Hermosa to your Saves list