We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milarepa

Save Saved
You added Milarepa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milarepa
101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in bungalow #4, the closest to the beach. It was heavenly to hear the waves crashing just outside our little porch area. Staff at the hotel is super friendly and helpful. Because we were there during the rainy season, we had the place practically to ourselves. They arranged yoga, massage, and surfing lessons for us, gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area and accommodated us in the on site restaurant wonderfully. It's a little off the beaten path, so the beach is very private feeling as well. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

If all you want is paradise by the beach, this is a great choice. It's very small, so totally relaxing, with great breakfasts, a beautiful pool, nice design, fun staff and an idyllic beach. The restaurant has a different chef in the evening, and it goes a bit posher, but does so successfully. But... it does feel like they get a steady stream of people and therefore haven't maybe thought as much about the details as they could. There's no printer to get your boarding card. They forgot a wake up call. The fridges make more noise than the local fauna. The owners are so laid back that they might as well be other guests. So, if what you want is privacy, a beautiful place, without paying the earth, this is great (and ask for one of the cabins nearer the beach). If you want someone to show you around, get you to do activities, etc, then maybe not.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed for nine days in February and it was truly in my top three holidays ever. The setting and the rooms are without fault - simplicity perfectly captured.
The grounds, the rooms, the location, the menu in the restaurant - all these things are pared back to a level that exudes a quiet confidence in the quality of what's on offer.
We spent many happy hours simply sitting by the pool, lazing in the hammocks, watching the sunsets.
An afternoon walk along the beach can take 2 or 3 hours and you might see five people - 3 of them wil be out in the ocean surfing. The fact that none of the hotels, bars, restaurants or houses encroach past the tree line gives a beach walk the feel of a Robinson Crusoe moment (the monkeys, iguanas and exotic birds do nothing to dispel this illusion).
Both the owners and staff and friendly, knowledgeable and the right side of informal. Surf lessons to restaurant reservations to travel arrangements to yoga lessons to massages at sunset are organised with warmth and care.
I'm sure there are people who could find fault with there being no air con - for us that was just one of the many things that kept it beautiful. A gently swishing fan is music to my ears while falling asleep with the Pacific ocean crashing in the distance.
We explored and visited quite a few places on our trip - many very nice for dinner or drinks but none matched the elegance and hospitality of Milarepa. It came to us highly recommended and we can only reiterate that - a perfect place to rejuvenate, whether that's surfing and yoga, or simply reading and walking.
Tips for the area - rent a little 4x4. there's some great exploring to be done and beautiful (if bumpy) drives.
If I could change one thing - I'd love to see the area straight after the rainy season when the greenery must be eye popping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our visit was during the off-season, many stores were closed but there was still plenty to do. After a 6 hour bus/ferry ride, we arrived to find clean quarters, open air bathroom and a spectacular beachfront view! Breakfast, lunch and dinner was served on our open balcony with plenty of wildlife to keep you company (lizards and howler monkeys mostly), plus free WiFi to keep you connected to the grid. Staff was very friendly and had great recommendations.
Definitely see a return trip in our future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Milerapa at the end of November this year ('12) and had a fabulous time. They have about 4 bungalows on the property which makes it extremely private - not to mention it's right on the water. The staff was super cool and lovely - they took care of all of our needs, recommended a great surf instructor and they even have yoga on site. We didn't do yoga on site but we went next door which was great as well. Most evenings they have a great French Chef, Sebastien, who cooked us a delicious meal. It is extremely romantic. Que romantico! There are local dogs that walk along the beach and stop by all hotels but our favorite animal was the Milerapa Kitty, Minnie.

We highly recommend this place for it's laid back atmosphere, helpful staff, yummy food, and amazing location.

One thing to note, if you plan to stay longer than 2 nights, rent an atv or bike. It's an easier way to get around and you save $$ on taxis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at three places on our trip last year to Santa Teresa. This was our favorite by far, the views and the beach, you can't beat it. The vibe of the hotel so super cool, the other guests were all friendly and very chill, we had a wonderful time and will be back.

We loved this part of the beach. Of all the beach spots, this one was our favorite.

Breakfasts were delicious and our bungalow was very simple, no AC, but cool and romantic.

Room Tip: If you can, get the beachfront bungalow, definitely worth a few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned from 6 nights at the Milarepa. We stayed in the beach front cabana and LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR VACATION. I read some negative reviews on-line prior to booking this trip, but went ahead and booked anyway....boy are we glad we did. We found no validation to the negative reviews in our experience staying at the Milarepa. From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptionally professional/friendly and absolutely wonderful to us. Our beach front cabana had everything we needed, a bed with netting, a mini-fridge, and it was all very clean. I will admit that for people who don't enjoy the outdoors, this is probably not for you, but we enjoy both outdoors and luxury and we felt like we got it both in a private location that provided my spouse and I with comfort and the ability to really enjoy each other in this beautiful location.

The owners of the Milarepa should really thank their staff as they made our trip over the top special!!!!

Cheers,

Kelly & Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Address: 101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Milarepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milarepa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.