We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milarepa

Save Saved
You added Milarepa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milarepa
101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at three places on our trip last year to Santa Teresa. This was our favorite by far, the views and the beach, you can't beat it. The vibe of the hotel so super cool, the other guests were all friendly and very chill, we had a wonderful time and will be back.

We loved this part of the beach. Of all the beach spots, this one was our favorite.

Breakfasts were delicious and our bungalow was very simple, no AC, but cool and romantic.

Room Tip: If you can, get the beachfront bungalow, definitely worth a few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned from 6 nights at the Milarepa. We stayed in the beach front cabana and LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF OUR VACATION. I read some negative reviews on-line prior to booking this trip, but went ahead and booked anyway....boy are we glad we did. We found no validation to the negative reviews in our experience staying at the Milarepa. From the moment we arrived the staff were exceptionally professional/friendly and absolutely wonderful to us. Our beach front cabana had everything we needed, a bed with netting, a mini-fridge, and it was all very clean. I will admit that for people who don't enjoy the outdoors, this is probably not for you, but we enjoy both outdoors and luxury and we felt like we got it both in a private location that provided my spouse and I with comfort and the ability to really enjoy each other in this beautiful location.

The owners of the Milarepa should really thank their staff as they made our trip over the top special!!!!

Cheers,

Kelly & Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from 10 days in beautiful Santa Teresa, staying at Milarepa.
We've been to Santa Teresa several times and always have a great stay there.
Milarepa was fantastic in every respect. The grounds are lush tropical, beautiful, and well-kept. The general atmosphere is laid-back and relaxing, but with plenty of things to do and people to meet if you choose.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, always willing to help out with making reservations and special requests.
The rooms are open-air style, not at all like a standard closed hotel room if that's what you are looking for. But, if you like a relaxed stay, fresh air, and view of the jungle, ocean, and wildlife, its perfect. The rooms have overhead fans, small refridgerators, valuables safe, insect nets, front patios and shutter windows and slider doors for full privacy at night. There is good wi-fi should you choose to use it.
Excellent surf is right around the corner within a few minutes walk.
The restaurant is superb, featuring a renowned local French chef, Sebastion, for dinners. Breakfasts and lunches are tasty, healthy, and reasonably priced.

Overall, great place to stay and enjoy time in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Recommend one of the two beach front rooms if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited Santa Terasa in October. We stayed at another hotel but had a dinner at Milarepa. It was fabulous. Have dinner here and order whatever fresh fish is on the menu. Don't miss the the dessert either. The food is outstanding.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed next door at the Red Palm Villas and our package included breakfast at the Milarepa Hotel and Restaurant. Everything was great, the food was exceptional, we had lunch here most days and dinner a few nights. The Mahi Mahi was the best fish I ever tasted and the chocolate tart is not to be shared, no matter how full you are, you can eat one by yourself.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel while traveling the peninsula early July 2012 (start of rain season.) This hotel is located a bit away from the busy era of Santa Teresa and Malpais. Great friendly service and in a quiet little hotel of 4 bungalows. We had the beachfront bungalow #3, had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. This is not your typical accommodation: open roof bathroom, bamboo build, no sealed windows, net over bed to protect from mosquitoes at night... but this was perfect for us. We loved it. Our bungalow's front porch was overlooking the ocean. We left it wide open all night listening to the ocean and watching lightening and thunderstorm. We had a fabulous lighting show over the ocean during our dinner (+1.5hr) at their open air restaurant. Food was delicious. French tropical fusion prepare with local fresh produces, decent wine list.
After dinner, we went for a night walk before rain started. The beach is safe at night in this area. In the morning the howler monkeys were right above our bathroom watching us taking shower.
The hotel has free WiFi Internet access. A safe in the bungalow, there is a pool and no fitness room, but there are several activities that can be arrange or do on your own: swim, yoga, snorkeling, surf, boogie board, run, walk, etc.
I definitely recommend this hotel to any one who doesn't mind the open air accommodation.

Room Tip: Bungalow # 4 has best view but may be a bit less intimate as it is closer to beach. Bungalow #3 st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in March this year for 5 nights. We stayed in the back bungalow for the first 2 nights and then switched to a beachfront one. Both were great and we really enjoyed the experience of the ocean breezes coming in the big open doors. The back bungalow definitely provided more privacy but it's a small resort so there are not many people around. Our experience at the restaurant was always great. The food was always tasty and delicious and service was good too. She even made us her own sangria even though it was not on the menu. The sunsets at the beach were incredible, we even had a bonfire one evening. We can't wait to go back to Santa T and stay here again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Address: 101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Milarepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milarepa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.