We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milarepa
Save
You added Milarepa to your Saves list
101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“A true gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Perfect setting under a jungle canopy of vegetation abutting Santa Teresa beach, families of howling monkeys overhead dining on mangoes that they pull from trees, Small, boutique, charming with simply yet chic decor. The food is sensational, gourmet and fresh, prepared most evenings by Chef Sebastien and during the days by another lovely woman, it feels as if everything is home cooked (and, it is!). The staff is young and very helpful and pleasant. The owners, Philippe and Caroline are amazing, really cool and kind. The staff couldn't have made life there easier or more enjoyable. Oh, and Cristina the yoga instructor and masseuse is sensational, inspired. In all, a perfect spot with a phenomenal staff. Can't wait to go back!! Only issue is it's remoteness makes getting there from an international airport somewhat of a challenge-- small aircraft vs. auto/ferry/auto (however, the drive IS beautiful) and easy to hire a driver/car (Milarepa helps set that up too, with a terrific gentleman named Gilberto). A+++++++ !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here many years ago. The beach was amazing, secluded. It was expensive then, but it was a very unique experience. The only negative thing i would say is the people running this place give a negative vibe of superiority and rudeness quite opposite to the spirit of warmth and hospitality. It is a shame because it is a great spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place is amazing! I stayed here, somewhat on a whim, for 4 nights at the end of January, and left feeling that I had completely lucked out w/ my choice. The bungalows are simple, clean and open - everything you need and nothing you don't. The location is unbeatable, and the grounds open up to a beautiful and secluded beach that offers a spectacular sunset, which can be enjoyed from a hammock suspended between the palm trees. I found the staff to be an awesome group. Professional, welcoming and very friendly.... it would be difficult to spend any amount of time here and not feel both happy and relaxed. If you surf, definitely get out a couple days in with the staff! The food, as others mention, is reason enough to come here. It's a chalkboard menu and the plates are creative, cooked for a small group (only about 6 tables) and always fresh. I recommend opting for whatever the day's fresh fish. Will definitely be back.

Graham

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We only had dinner here as we were staying at a resort next door. The food was fantastic! This is a tiny restaurant with only 4 or 5 tables. I have never seen shrimp so big! It had a very elegant but laid back vibe, and most of the guests seemed very relaxed and happy. The service was attentive, but the meal could drag on for a couple of hours if you want it to, as most of the guests were just soaking up the atmosphere with wine and extra courses. My god, they made a pineapple/apple/banana crumble for dessert that was phenomenal!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We've just returned from Santa Teresa where we stayed for 3 nights at Milarepa. The location is outstanding, there are only 4 bungalows, and everything within this tiny hotel is easy to reach - the beach, the restaurant, the pool, and an easy walk to other hotels down the beach. There is a wonderful feeling of belonging that sets in immediately. The bungalows are very simple, with no a/c, but that fits right in with the casualness of Santa Teresa in general. And, our bungalow had an incredible ocean view, and the pounding surf lulled us to sleep every night. But, the main reason we were in Santa Teresa was for our son's wedding and Milarepa was our venue for the rehearsal dinner. We had 100 guests dining poolside and Milarepa's staff was terrific. It looked gorgeous. A memorable evening for all. We would go back there in a heartbeat. Gail Young, Mount Pleasant, SC

Room Tip: Ask for one of the beachfront bungalows. Or the ocean view that's closer to the beach. the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We didn't stay here for night, but came here every day (while we were in the area) for breakfast and some meals. Fabulous food! They have different items on the menu each day. I loved their beef wrap with sauce that they had the one day. The next day I was disappointed that they did not have it on the menu. The server found out and said that they would see if they had the ingredients. They ended up making it specially for us. While we were eating the one morning, someone came from the beach to say there was a whale close by. We all rushed to the beach to catch a glimpse of the whale's tail. Although we did not stay here for night, everything looked great and the prices are reasonable for this location. The location with the deserted beaches are what makes this place so very special. The sunsets alone are worth the trip to this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The food at the restaurant was very good. BUT, our server was not with the program. She ignored us for the most part. We had to ask repeatedly for everything. I ordered a margarita. When it finally arrived it was the worst drink I have ever had. Seriously. One sip, no more. The lady never even asked if it was OK givien the fact it sat through the entire lunch. After she handed us our check, she then said oh, should have asked if you would like anything else! There was also a price for our meal in US dollars as well as colones. If we had paid in US dollars, it would have been a true rip off. Anyway, service horrible. Luck of the draw perhaps. The food was great though. The surroundings are also very beautiful and enjoyable. If only our server had been!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Address: 101 Oceano Pacifico, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milarepa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.