We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, natural, luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florblanca Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Florblanca Resort to your Saves list
Florblanca Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4 KM North of Franks Place | Cobano, Santa Teresa 1315361, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Los Angeles
1 review
“Unique, natural, luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Florblanca is such a unique spot, I will be returning for a third time! A short (and beautiful) flight from San Jose and a short drive from Tambor can seem like a little extra effort but it is well worth it once you arrive.

They have managed to balance an authentic experience of nature with luxurious touches. From fresh flowers in the villa, to wonderful ylang-ylang products in the bath, to excellent linens and a fluffy down comforter to keep you comfortable in the air conditioned bedrooms, they have thought of every detail. The villas are enormous and uniquely designed to give you the feeling you are living in nature. One entire wall of the living room is open to the jungle with a private hammock for you to comfortably watch the monkeys swing from the trees and forage for food. The huge bath is likewise 'open air' with an enormous stone bath tub but my favorite was the huge "rain" shower head ~ DIVINE!

The staff is friendly, knowledgable, and happy to accommodate any special request you may have -- when possible. It IS the tip of a peninsula in Costa Rica, after all -- a fact that is easy to forget while you're there. The food is VERY good, organic and sourced locally whenever possible, I believe. The infinity pool is perfection. Really, my only complaint is they make it hard to ever leave the property!!

The coastline is wild and natural and unpopulated - - this is still an undiscovered spot and one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever had !! Go.

Room Tip: They are all good and the ocean can be heard from any. Villas not at the top of the property (by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    27
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
124
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The first night I arrived at FlorBlanca there was no one to check me in...except the sleepy security guard. That very first night someone broke into my villa at 5am and stole my surf board, while I was sleeping in the bedroom. They did gave me a night free, but only after I complained rather harshly. At $450 a night, that IS NOT SUPPOSED to happen. They never got back to me the whole 8 days about the break in. Crime has spun completely out of control in Santa Teresa. Also, the Dengue fever epidemic from mosquitos has become a nightmare. Its turned into a ghetto where criminals prey on tourists. The drought has caused a dust bowl on the town road which is giving local children asthma. The last morning a cat jumped on our breakfast table and ate my breakfast - and no one did a thing. No wonder why they are empty. The management doesn't care, they are just there for the surf. Don't go. Hawaii or Mexico is much safer and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorblancaManager, Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveller,

As we are sorry you had such a horrible experience at Florblanca, we do feel obligated to clarify the facts.

When your rental surf board went missing from your villa, we did pay for the board and immediately rented you a new one for the remainder of your stay. We also offered to give you a full refund and offered to help relocate you to a different hotel in Costa Rica. You declined that offer and decided to stay at Florblanca. You stayed an additional seven nights. Since you decided to stay, we did take care of your first night. Upper management talked to you multiple times during your entire vacation ensuring you were taken care of. You seemed to be relaxing, surfing and enjoying very much your vacation.

There is no outbreak of dengue fever in Santa Teresa. Regarding the dust, In our area of Costa Rica, we do have two seasons. The dry season does bring some dust as our road is not paved.

Florblanca goes above and beyond to take care of those who journey to visit our piece of paradise. We encourage you to read all the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Most of our wonderful clients have a trip of a lifetime, and many return year after year.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a short flight from San Jose to Tambor, Florblanca picked us up for a short/scenic 50min ride to the hotel. A cold drink was waiting and we were checked in immediately curbside. No commercial lobby, no lines, and complete privacy. Our Villa 2 was spectacular, beautifully appointed, gorgeous bathroom, and the a/c worked perfectly in the bedrooms. The grounds were beautiful, after all you're in the jungle, but oceanfront! The layout of the property is easy to navigate, but the villas all insure privacy. We had a couples massage one day and it was perfect. The spa is crazy beautiful, but serene and completely chill. Food is a 10, and as healthy as you want it to be. Cody the GM is always around to see to it your stay runs smoothly-always with a smile! We were lucky enough to meet the owners Susan and Rusty who were very gracious and clearly care about their guests and their hotel. They want to provide an amazing experience to their guests, and to me, they deliver. I'll be back. Wayne W-NYC

Room Tip: Go for villa 1 or 2, or the honeymoon villa if you can swing it. However, if you don't need the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

There are simply not enough superlatives to describe just how incredible the whole experience at Florblanca was. My boyfriend and I arrived mid-April after spending a month researching and planning our "perfect" vacation. We are self-admitted perfectionists and were looking for a 5 star, beautiful, tropical beach resort with impeccable service, food, yoga and spa, while being indigenous and not formulaic (such as the four seasons). We were so not disappointed! The sheer beauty and warm smiles upon arrival eased our souls from our long day of travel. The closed kitchen suddenly became open for a lovely light and fresh lunch and rose wine for us. Our villa (#2) was beyond our expectations - and as I said to the fantastic manager, Cody and owners (Rusty and Susan) the pictures on the website simply do not do the resort justice in capturing the utter natural beauty. We settled into a daily routine of waking up to AMAZING fresh, daily smoothies, a walk and swim on the beach, beautiful morning yoga classes and a scrumptious breakfast. The afternoons were spent exploring the local town, the various beautiful beaches, the Montezuma falls and a hike with a botanist guide in coba blanco - all which Florblanca helped arrange. We had couples massages and I had a pedicure - first class all the way. It was hard not to fall in love here! Unfortunately, on our 4th day we had a terrible atv accidentt (we arranged the atv outside of the hotel) and had to be airlifted out of Santa Teresa to the hospital in San Jose. At this moment in time, already in love with Florblanca and the staff ("no" was simply not a part of their vocabulary), and then the REAL need for emergency help kicked in. Cody and her team arranged for our local doctor, ambulance, assisted in the helicopter to airlift us out, packed our bags, stayed with us to help translate and to be of comfort until we took off, arranged for my hotel accommodations in San Jose while my boyfriend was in the hospital, arranged for our car rental to be picked up (and got the keys that I accidentally brought to San Jose), took care of the ATV rental and getting our passports back so we could travel, checked in on us constantly to make sure we were ok and if there was anything more they could do, and in the very end when I finally left San Jose 4 days later, arranged to pick up my camera left behind, in another, un-related hotel, and shipped it back for me. I am literally without words (that doesn't come easy!) to express my gratitude to the staff in their assistance in time of such an emergency. I couldn't think of a better team to support you when emergency fell. And am still not over the beauty and love of Florblanca. Sad our vacation ended so fast and in the way it did - and hope to come back once all healed. My advice: GO GO GO!!! (just don't ride an atv!)

Room Tip: We thought the only good ones (before arriving) were villa 1 or 2 - as they have "ocean views&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorblancaManager, Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your awesome review. It was a joy getting to know you and spend time with your during your recent stay. We were saddened by your early departure due to your quad accident, but of course are happy you both are ok. We are dedicated to our guests overall well-being and do our best to have access to the the fastest and most professional medical care in the country. It is great to know your experience was as smooth as can be.

The entire staff sends a huge hug to you all, and we look forward to you returning again someday soon. Until then, wishing you very well. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is our second trip to Florblanca which we enjoyed greatly. The only reason that I only gave it 4 stars is because the dinner was average at best. As my wife commented" not bad"

This is a beautiful place and the villas are beyond expectations. It is the only place that I take 4 showers a day just to take advantage of the experience.

The staff was very friendly and service was excellent.

We got the walk in rate which was a 25% discount that you can take advantage of in April.

All the rooms are great but you should pick one out based on how close you want to be to the pool and dining area.

Breakfast was included and that was beyond expectations.

We plan to go back next April.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool, check room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

If you love the outdoors, you'll love the rooms at Florblanca...falling asleep to the sounds of howler monkeys and the waves. The stretch of beach is pristine and long! Great for walking or surfing-a bit challenging! Grateful we had a room near the water, as the roads were extremely dusty-rooms closer to the road were a bit dusty as well.
Good was good, fresh- just not as creative as some other places in the area. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorblancaManager, Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveller,

Your title says it all! Falling asleep to the howlers is one of our favorite things about Florblanca. For nature lovers, our boutique hotel is a dream. The howlers have a home with us and we typically see then swinging through the trees each day. Florblanca also has many different types of birds throughout the property as well as iguanas, butterflies and more.

And, yes Santa Teresa beach is stunning. Whether an early morning walk, a soak in a crystal clear tide pool, or a sunset jog, spending time on our beach is a must.

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Pura Vida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had an absolutely perfect honeymoon at Florblanca. I really can't recommend this place enough.

Accommodations: We initially stayed in Villa 7, which was wonderful. The villas are unique, with most of the living space outside (including the bathroom) except for an inside bedroom w/ AC. There is plenty of privacy (including the outdoor shower), but this makes for some interesting encounters with local wildlife. We could see howler monkeys sleeping in the trees above us, there were iguanas just over our deck and we shared the place with a few crabs. Despite all this, it is an extremely clean and relaxing stay. We were also upgraded to the Honeymoon House because we were there on our honeymoon and because of a slight mix-up with the booking. The Honeymoon House is incredible. Its a two story villa with views of the ocean, its own kitchen and two bathrooms. It was like staying in our a beautiful vacation home by the sea.

Food: The Nectar restaurant on the property is great. Great fish dishes and some local flavors. Ask them to set up a table on the beach for you if you want something special (it was also my birthday one of the evenings). There are plenty of other places in the area worth trying - especially Koji (sushi is as good as in new york or tokyo) and Brisas del Mar (incredible views and not expensive).

Activities: This area is known for its surfing; we had a lesson from a guy named Eric that picked up at the hotel and took us to Playa Bonita (we also got lots of recommendations on other local things to do). We took a day trip on a boat to Isla Tortuga, where we explored beaches, caught deep sea fish and went scuba diving (I'd highly recommend this excursion, which the hotel arranges). The most fun thing we did all week was to rent an ATV and drive a few hours up the beach towards Playa Coyote (it was exciting and a bit difficult!). The spa at the hotel is amazing; try the couples massage with a jacuzzi soak afterwards.

Staff: The staff is amazing at Florblanca. They really are what make the place special. Each and every person we interacted with was so pleasant to be around, engaging, and fun. We had such a wonderful time getting to know them -- the bar staff, concierge, reservations, etc. A special thanks to Patricia the reservations manager for helping us have a wonderful stay.

Five star honeymoon. You must try this place!

Room Tip: Stay in the Honeymoon House. Its worth spending a bit extra for this luxury villa. Its still far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florblanca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florblanca Resort

Address: 4 KM North of Franks Place | Cobano, Santa Teresa 1315361, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Florblanca Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations offer complete privacy and luxury surrounded by beautiful gardens and views of the Pacific Ocean. All villas are only steps away from the surf, open -air dining, our new Spa Bambu, fitness center, a yoga and Pilates studio, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Florblanca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florblanca Hotel Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florblanca Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.