We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florblanca Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Florblanca Resort to your Saves list
Florblanca Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   4 KM North of Franks Place | Cobano, Santa Teresa 65771, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Park City Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was our second trip to Florblanca. We usually go somewhere tropical in the spring when we can, St John's, Kauaii, Costa Rica. Since we stumbled upon Florblanca several years ago, I don't think we'll go anywhere else. We just love this place. We spent a week there this trip and again, for a couple days, we were the only people at the resort (same thing last trip). They upgraded us to the honeymoon suite (actually a house) to our surprise and elation. The staff is wonderful and we wanted for nothing except to stay longer. We ate almost all our meals at Nectar's and though the prices are higher than other places in Santa Teresa, It's a lot less than eating out in Park City, very convenient, the food was great and menu changed frequently. The staff set us up on the pool cabana for dinner on our last night, another pleasant surprise. I can't say enough good things about this place, basically, paradise in the ocean front jungle. Made some good friends, ate good food, drank lots of Mojito's, surfed, biked, paddleboarded, walks on the beach, cruising on the ATV, sunsets, afternoon thunderstorms...pure and utter bliss. Thanks to everyone at Floblanca! -Tom and Maria

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    28
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
137
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We spent a fantastic week long holiday here in March/April to celebrate my wife's birthday. The staff was very attentive to the fact it was her birthday and made sure every detail was perfect. The staff was very friendly and engaging. Accomodations were the perfect blend of luxurious details and simple harmony with the rainforest. The A/C is very handy in the bedrooms since the time we were there it was unseasonably hot and dry. By sunset, it started to cool off and we made it a ritual to watch a stunning sunset with a cocktail each nite. The dining was fantastic, with quite a variety of food changing each day depending on availaility. Dining tended to be slow and casual as is common in South American countries. Once we needed to rush a meal in order to accomodate a tour and the staff responded. Our days were filled with tours and adventures, but due to the hot weather and lack of rain, any hiking tours were just too uncomfortable. The fishing was poor due to the red tide. The highlights were the horseback riding and surfing. The pool area was very quiet most days as guests were away on their tours.
It was a lot of fun to make use of the bikes the hotel provides and ride into town (about 10 min) to shop, dine and just mix with the locals. The beach area is beautiful and very quiet. We watched a large sea turtle come in and lay her eggs one evening after dinner. Another nite there was a huge migration of crabs from the rainforest to the ocean to dig holes and mate. There were so many that cars would squish thousands of them on the road. By the next day, the iguanas had eaten them all!
I like the fact this hotel is small yet luxurious with a casual and friendly atmosphere. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I can't say enough good things about our recent stay at Florblanca. The villa we stayed in was fantastic (Loved the hammock! Loved the canopy bed! Loved the outdoor shower!). The staff couldn't have been nicer, the day trip they helped us arrange (fishing/snorkeling) was great, the food was very good, the spa was excellent and the setting absolutely gorgeous. It's true that the ocean is a little rough and the waves/tides are strong, but the pool is lovely (there's also very few people on the beach, which makes it really nice). Not much to do in town, so i would say this is the perfect place to go if you are mostly looking for a relaxing vacation with a few nature activities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Florblanca was the perfect place for us to unwind from the pace of New York City. My grown daughters and wife loved the spa - the deep tissue massage was one of the best! The food and service was wonderful. The staff was easy going and yet very responsive to our needs. The Florblanca staff arranged a fishing trip that was fantastic; and Spencer, Florblanca's chef, prepared our catch for lunch and dinner. The villas are open to the natural foliage, and while most of our time was spent on the beach or on tours, the villa is a very relaxing place to be. Taking a yoga class with Stefano is well worth it - he is an excellent teacher, and our classes were one of the reasons why our stay was so relaxing
We loved our stay at Florblanca and we loved Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palos verdes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our family recently spent one week at Florblanca for Spring Break. Everything was perfect! We absolutely loved our villa which was so comfortable....The food was delicious and the chef is really talented. The menu changes daily so there is always something different to look forward to and experience! The beach has perfect waves and great shells and is just a short walk from the property...The yoga classes on property are amazing...We had massages and facials and the spa was fabulous. The treatments were high quality all the way. We also experienced so much of the area -- we went to Tortuga Island, rode ATVs, went surfing nearby and horseback riding on the beach. The concierge arranged all of that for us which was really great. The whole trip was such an adventure and we loved every moment! We can't wait to return to Costa Rica and Florblanca!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at FlorBlanca for a week and had a great time. The location is beautiful on a stunning deserted beach -although the waves and tide are strong. The beach is more designed for surfing than swimming. The rooms are spacious and well appointed however lighting in the main sitting area is poor and the upstairs in the 2 bedroom villas are cramped and without blinds. The storage space for clothes is also limited and the rooms were sparsely cleaned. The restaurant serves delicious and plentiful food all be it everything comes at a price. The service can also be extremely slow. However around the hotel there is a wide range of excellent restaurants and we ate out most nights. There is a great deal to do in the area including, canopy tours, surfing, riding, fishing, renting quadbikes and visiting the national park. The pool area is also pretty and often you can bE amused by visiting iguanas and monkeys. The concierge staff is very efficient however they make no effort to interact proactively with the guests or to even know them by name which should be simple considering the resort holds only 30-40 people. We had a great time and it wouldn't take much to make this hotel perfect but at present it lacks a certain charm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in the Surf House right on the beach. It was very private and the rooms were great. It is set up a bit strange in that each room has it's own entrance and none are connected. There were 2 seperate bedrooms, a living area/kitchen and a seperate bathroom (you have to go outside to get to the bathroom or any other rooms). There were 2 hammocks and 2 lounge chairs out front. Also, they have free use of surfboards, boogie boards, bikes and snorkling gear. The beach right out front os a bit rocky, however, if you walk just a short distance to the south the beach is Fantastic and all sand. FlorBlanca is outside of the main town, but I thought that was a great thing. The town itself has a dirt road so it is very dusty and dirty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Florblanca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florblanca Resort

Address: 4 KM North of Franks Place | Cobano, Santa Teresa 65771, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Florblanca Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations offer complete privacy and luxury surrounded by beautiful gardens and views of the Pacific Ocean. All villas are only steps away from the surf, open -air dining, our new Spa Bambu, fitness center, a yoga and Pilates studio, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Florblanca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florblanca Hotel Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Florblanca Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.