We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURA VIDA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Curitiba, PR
1 review
“PURA VIDA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Great nature atmosphere and beautifull beach right through the green. Nice hotel, really beautifull, calm and cool, more like for families.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
66
103
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I traveled here to attend a week long surf trip with Pura Vida Adventures. I just want to say that if you are planning a trip and want to improve your surfing you should check out these guys. I have surfed before but I really improved after spending a week here with their guides. Almost all the surf guides were super cool chicas and could surf really well. They were very professional and personable. The food was amazing and the staff was great. They will show you a good time for sure. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Celebrating our 30th year anniversary and being an avid surfer, we needed a very special place to stay and enjoy a natural envoirment.
We shopped it on line and asked around we had heard some very good
feedback about the Tropical Latino.
If you want to bring your own "RPM"s down and take in the earth's gift
(land,sea and sky) go and embrace all that this gift has to offer.
The staff was helpful, courteous, and went out of their way to help us enjoy our time there.
When we left we both felt like we had new friends in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Hi Bill,
I hope you are doing well, its been a long time since you last came in 2010.

Waves are so good now, we've had such a good month in May, consistent back to back south swells.....I've been surfing both the beach breaks and point breaks around here. I actually took a little boat trip on Monday to the other side of the peninsula and surfed a fun new wave I think you would like ....its such long ride....

Anyways, I just wanted to drop you as small message to thank you for your feedback and having choosing us for your 30th anniversary.

Waves are still pumping...let us know if you want to come down and visit! I'll try to get you a nice deal on the beach front bungalow you liked and maybe this time we can catch a surf together.

Take care and thanks again on behalf of all your friends at Tropico!
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I have been staying at the Tropico for the last 11 years. At first my wife and I would travel up and down the coast staying and surfing various locations...and only staying at the Tropico 3 or 4 days and moving to the next place. Inevitably when it came time to move on we did not want to go and were always disappointed to leave. So for the last 7 years we have stayed our entire 2 weeks at the Tropico. It has become heaven and a second home for us.
The short description is for surfers or non-surfers the Tropico is the best travel experience in Costa Rica. It is easy for a surfer's spouse or children to have a thoroughly and safe, enjoyable stay. It is nether a "Club Med" or "Disco" scene. The grounds are spectacular, and the staff fantastic.

Here is a list of points that are important to me:
1) In 11 years I have always surfed good overhead waves at some part of the visit, usually for the most part of the stay. I surf a longboard. When it gets bigger it is the easiest longboard overhead or double overhead surf in the world. There is a 3 break "reform" wave, with sand bottom. So beginners can play easily in smaller waves on the inside. Your cabinas are literally a 30 second walk from the paddle out.

2) They have a shaded palm grove overlooking the break, with hammocks strung between the trunks. My wife can literally turn her head from her book and see me in the water. Within site is a beautiful shaded yoga deck, for morning and afternoon sessions. Behind that a pool and "kiddie pool", partially shaded by beautiful trees in the hot afternoon sun. And behind that a massage and skin care spa. Definitely wife, girlfriend, kids friendly.

3) With just a few cabinas, inevitably you get to know your neighbors. Sweden, Chile, England, everywhere. It's wonderful sharing about different living experiences. The couple from Sweden came and stayed with us in the U.S. last year.

4) The accommodations are more comfortable and spacious than the photos do justice. Marco the owner has made sure every detail is provided. They even have a room safe big enough for your laptop. The broadband on the grounds makes it easy to keep business back home under control. And guess what? ...NO TV. NO TV ANYWHERE on the grounds. I LOVE THAT.

5) The Staff is impeccably professional in their responsibilities, yet so friendly and helpful. They are sincere in their dedication to your enjoyment. And this is consistent from the domestics, gardeners, security, managers, and the owner. Their honesty and their concern for not only your enjoyment but security is always there.

6) Do you need a car? No. It's unnecessary and you'll feel silly for spending the money. You have everything you need at the Tropico. Shops and other restaurants are in easy walking distance.

7) Eating! They have a restaurant that is out of this world. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner! But in the area are more amazing restaurants that the management will be more than happy to suggest and arrange a ride to other places to eat.

8) Have I ever had anything stolen? Yes. One time in 11 years. Very early morning, off the property, on the beach... but not far from the property. A "snatch and grab" of a camera left carelessly out of our control. What was the Tropico's response?
They immediately hired more security, expanded their "lookout" to beyond the property. They took it seriously, and did way more than I would ever expect for an incident that truley had nothing to do with their responsibilities.

Please understand that the Tropico Latino has been my "secret" for quite some time. But I finally felt compelled to write a review after getting off the phone to arrange my this year's visit. The Tropico folks after your first visit will feel like family. You will feel like you have been in a tropical paradise and a surfer's dream....because you have!

Just so anyone wondering if this review is for real, my name is Steven. I'm sixty years old, and have been surfing for 45 years. I live in Ocean City, Maryland. And anyone interested can call me at ---.---.----.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Enjoyed the town, the ocean, the food and the staff. I would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I was there in March 2010 and stayed in bungalow 12- its the one you see on their internet site with the huge outdoor daybed. I decided to be adventurous [being that i was 29 about to turn 30] so I joined a surf camp alone and stayed at T.L. As a single traveller, I would recommend this bungalow, you are right on the beach front and dont have to deal with dimly lit pathways . actually i highly dont recommend staying in the outer bungalows near the main road b/c one of them got broken into- they tried going in through the window , the guest screamed and they ran away.
Yoga was excellent- platform facing the beach- perfect way to get my OM on. Dont forget to catch some waves- its one of the best spots to surf. Make sure you spray yourself with OFF, mosquitos++. also, this bungalow is a connecting to bungalow 11 so you both share a bath/restroom.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in 7 which was very close to the beach, but not "beachfront" as I had hoped. The only one that truly has a beach view is 8. I would recommend staying here, but don't waste your money upgrading to the beachfront. The other cabins are just as nice (as long as you don't get one right off of the road). It's a short walk to the beach from any of the cabins. The pool is okay. Nothing great. The prices at on food at the hotel are too high for the area, and there is no breakfast included which was disappointing. There are awesome breakfast places in town "The Bakery" is amazing. We didn't spend a lot of time here but it served as a great home base for exploring Malpais and Montezuma. We did get our back windshield wiper stolen out of the parking lot at Tropico Latino. This kind of petty theft is typical in Malpais although we NEVER felt unsafe. The rooms are equipped with a very large safe and we never had any problems with anything. The best way to get around in Malpais is to rent an ATV. You don't need a rental car here and chances are something is going to get stolen from it. Of course when we had the ATV parked in Montezuma we busted someone trying to steal the mirror off of it. The laid back atmosphere of Malpais is great, but there are beach bums that don't want to work and will steal silly things so just be aware!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.