We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had been in Costa Rica for the first time since Aug. 17th, staying in Tamarindo when we decided to hit the road to see more. We took the ferry from Puntarenas over to Paquera and drove. We landed in Playa Carmen after dark and needed to find a place to stay. The first place we tried (which had no AC-we wanted AC) referred Tropico Latino to us. So, we decided to give it a try. It was dark out when we arrived so obviously we could not see the property for what it had to offer. Wandering thru the tropical trails to the office in the dark, I knew we had found the right place to stay. It was like walking through a rainforest...a tropical paradise. The pathways were dimly lit but just enough to see the grounds and it was amazing. It was actually intoxicating!! We checked in to Bungalow No. 12 which was 2 rooms that share a bathroom. We were traveling with a friend. Our room had a king size bed and the other connecting room was a double. The bathroom was huge w/2 separate sinks and a large walk in shower. We walked onto the patio and there was a king size bed out there as well for lounging on during the day or evening while you listen to the music....being the sounds of the waves. The furniture was beautiful, all wood...we were thrilled and it was soooooo quiet which I loved. We could hear the waves and knew that the beach was close...how close we would not find out until morning. When morning came we were was just blown away The beach was RIGHT THERE IN FRONT OF OUR ROOM. We walked around to check out the place and with each passing moment we were even more amazed at the beauty of this property. It is a tropical paradise. We saw lots of squirrels and parrots. Our room was nice but not super modern, but it was perfect for us as we did not plan on spending all of our time there. We loved its rustic/local feel. There are numerous activities: yoga/surf lessons/spa/pool/restaurant/plus many more all on site. The restaurant had a great breakfast but for lunch and dinner we ended up eating at Zula's just across the street. We discovered Zula's our first night because the hotel restaurant was already closed. Zula's is great! We met the owner of Zula's and became quick friends with them.

Speaking of nice guys...we had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Marco, just by chance our first morning there. We were enjoying our coffee on the patio when he walked by to check out the morning surf. We said hello and the conversation went from there. Very nice guy. His vision for this property is amazing!! He was very laid back and easy to talk too. We saw Marco a few times throughout our stay, and the day we were leaving he made sure to stop by and ask how our stay was. We thought that was great...he cares for his customers.

It rained also...which was amazing!!!!

As for the town...it was GREAT. Now if your looking for the hustle and bustle of a "tourist" town this is not the place. It is very laid back and quiet! We had a blast during the time we spent exploring. It has everything you need and the beaches were amazing. The surf was epic.../I/we do not surf butweI know good waves when we see them. There are several areas very close for good fishing, snorkeling, tours and boating. We rented ATV's for a day, these were very nice for seeing and feeling the country, I recommend renting these for your entire stay. ....Playa Carmen, Santa Teressa, Mal Pais and a trip to Montezuma and surrounding areas were the favorite parts of our trip.
"Besides laying in the bed watching surf in the morning!"

All in all I would rate our stay at the Tropico a 10...as great. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    76
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
69
110
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Ronge, SK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed at the Tropico Latino Lodge during our honeymoon (Feb '04). We chose it as a middle of the road price choice and thought that it would be good enough for sleeping, as we planned to spend all our time on the beach anyway. We booked one of the beachfront bungalows but had to stay 1 night in one of the Garden rooms. This room was less than impressive - the walls were thin, it was not super clean, and it generally felt pretty tired. When we got to our private hut the next day we were blown away. It was amazing! It had a king size bed and french doors that opened to a view of the beach and ocean right on the doorstep and even had a front porch with a hammock.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was basic but served good food. The pool was nice to dip in to cool off, as it was about 40C while we were there! This is an amazing surfing area and there are lots of surfer dudes and dudettes hanging out in the area. Overall it just had a really laidback and fun atmosphere. By far the worst part was just getting there (the roads - I use that term loosely - leading to Santa Teresa were horrendous, but worth it!)

HINT: Book a private beachfront bungalow - they aren't much more money than the standard rooms and they are well worth it for the privacy and proximity to the beach

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Ronge, SK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Tropico Latino Lodge during our honeymoon (Feb '04). We chose it as a middle of the road price choice and thought that it would be good enough for sleeping, as we planned to spend all our time on the beach anyway. We booked one of the beachfront bungalows but had to stay 1 night in one of the Garden rooms. This room was less than impressive - the walls were thin, it was not super clean, and it generally felt pretty tired. When we got to our private hut the next day we were blown away. It was amazing! It had a king size bed and french doors that opened to a view of the beach and ocean right on the doorstep and even had a front porch with a hammock.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was basic but served good food. The pool was nice to dip in to cool off, as it was about 40C while we were there! This is an amazing surfing area and there are lots of surfer dudes and dudettes hanging out in the area. Overall it just had a really laidback and fun atmosphere. By far the worst part was just getting there (the roads - I use that term loosely - leading to Santa Teresa were horrendous, but worth it!)

HINT: Book a private beachfront bungalow - they aren't much more money than the standard rooms and they are well worth it for the privacy and proximity to the beach

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

I went to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa for the first time, I was impressed by the natural beauty of this area. The surrounding forest touches the sea, giving an impression of being "lost in paradise" Tropico Latino is a nice lodge, with a convenient location, right in front of the the white sandy beach. The bungalows are spread out in the property, inmersed within a small forest, it provides privacy, quiteness and a feeling of being in the jugle but steps away from the facilities the hotel provides. Although the construction is old and needs some update in their windows system, the beds and with their lights you can enjoy your stay: read your favorite book on one of their hammocks or chairs by the beach, zipping your favorite drink, watch the sunset, or take advantage of their spa or yoga classes.

In regards to the restaurant, now it is run by one of the best chef's in town, Al Chile Viola used to be the best eatery in town, now the Tropico Latino is their home. Mediterranean fare with great taste and reasonable pricing, highly recommended.

If the mediterranean food is not your way, or want to try something else, please take a peak at the Tabaconcito Verde a bit upnorth from the hotel, it has international cuisine, well done and tasty. Run by a couple, both cook and take care of the attention of clientele. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are just fine, and very cheap. The appearance may be more like a small soda, but you gotta try it.

I cannot wait to go back to Santa Teresa, I don't surf but I may even try it!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the hotel. I'm happy to hear you liked the surroundings, the property, the privacy and the sunsets.

Things have changed a bit and we now have a new restaurant with a well known chef that has an international cuisine menu. Maybe you will find an option that better suits your needs this time.
I invite you to try it out!

Please let me know when come again and I'll happy to give you an upgrade!

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Before going to Costa Rica, I used Trip Advisor for hotel advice. Although I read some negative reviews about Hotel Tropico Latino, we decided to take our chances as the photos looked beautiful and the location seemed to be perfect. I am so happy that we took the chance and stayed here!



I think the hotel gets a bad wrap. It is not your cookie-cutter Holiday Inn or beach resort. The bungalows are simple and unique, the grounds are peaceful and the whole place has character. It is definitely one of the nicest places to stay in the area with a resort-like layout, without losing it’s unique charm. The staff could not be nicer or more accommodating. They booked all of our airport transfers/taxis and tours. The receptionist, Richie, even lent us his personal alarm clock so we would wake up for our tour on time. We found the rooms to be clean with fresh towels and hot water, and the maid service stopped by each day.



My boyfriend and I stayed in Room Number 5 and enjoyed waking up and sitting on our porch in the morning while drinking coffee. We enjoyed a couples massage --which was wonderful, and took advantage of the clean, warm pool they have on-site. We also surfed every single day, and it’s clear that Tropico Latino has the BEST break around. We only ate at the restaurant twice since it is a little pricey - however, there are a ton of options within walking distance (sushi, israeli, bbq, mexican, even pizza.) There is also a convenience store across the street which was helpful to stock up on water, snacks, liquor, etc.



Keep in mind that if you are looking for a crowded party/club vibe, this is not the place for you. It was a quiet town, with plenty of bars but no "clubs." We were happy to just eat outside, grab drinks, talk with other travelers and listen to live music. Also – this region of Costa Rica is still pretty undeveloped (which is what we were looking for.) The roads are bumpy and unpaved, in the dry season it gets pretty dusty from the dirt and most seem to drive around on ATV’s. We didn’t mind this – but if you are looking for a place to wear high heels, this isn’t for you.



We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

The hotel was beautiful-great location on the beach and walking distance from some restaurants and markets. The pool was nice, the cabana was gorgeous and spacious. The private porch and landscaping was great and we even saw some howler monkeys come through the property. The surf-the reason we went-was good too and the hammocks on the beach's edge were perfect for a midday nap.
My only problem with this place is that our cabana got broken into and the manager was a maddening phony when it came to helping us. The culprits took everything of value that wasn't in the safe and broke my $70 gerber knife trying to bust into the safe (unsuccessfully). The manager was disingenuous when it came to helping us, claiming the police were on it and "think they know who did it." Every day we asked about our belongings, he claimed the police were "just waiting for the culprits to show up at location X so they could nab them." The guy was clearly full of it. And you know what? This was not the first time my group of friends has been robbed at this hotel. The year before, a friend's rental car got broken into overnight at the Tropico Latino and CDs and the car stereo were taken. And it seems to me that the manager either knows that this goes on and allows it to because he knows the culprits, or he just doesn't care because the hotel has already gotten our money. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice and I'm giving you a bad review and not coming back.
Its a shame, because everything else about this place is absolutely perfect. It breaks my heart that I won't be able to bring myself to go back to this beautiful hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

My wife and I took a trip down to CR for our anniversary and it was the first for both of us. We flew into San Jose and rented a car. The drive was long and slow behind numerous trucks. Caught the 5:30 ferry from Puntarenas to Paquera. Really nice to catch the sunset on the way across. Note: If you are planning on driving in CR get the Sat/Nav. It is worth every penny. Anyway, after traveling down a dirt road for the last hour or so we arrived at Tropico Latino. What a beautiful place. Even in the dark you could tell it was going to be great. We got there around 8:30 and check in was easy and our room was clean and ready for our arrival with a/c. We caught dinner at the Tabacon Cafe just up the road toward Playa Carmen. Great Seafood everywhere around here. The next morning we awoke to a tropical paradise outside our front door. The variety of flowers and trees were astounding. It is neat to see ornamentals you see in the states on steroids. The beach is a short walk from any of the cabins (we were in 4) through the restaurant and pool. Beach is wide and has plenty of shade trees to sit and watch the surfers. My wife and I popped a bottle of champange the second night on the beach watching a beautiful sunset to celebrate our fourth anninversary. What a great place to do it.

Two things you must do: 1. The market across the road from TL has amazing homemade brownies. Get a couple and a peach fruit box. Great snack. 2. Head down toward Malpais and on your right toward the sea is the Soda de Piedra(or something like this) it is one on the coolest places I have ever been. A comida tipico soda literally ten feet from waves crashing over rocks. Sunset here would be Amazing.

Loved the trip and look forward to doing it again soon.

  • Liked — proximity to beach and good food
  • Disliked — Restaurant could have been better (food and value.)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.