We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good things about this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lots of good things about this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel is in a great location - on a great part of the beach and close to great eats. The staff are absolutely outstanding - warm and helpful. The yoga space is open, earthy and amazing. The hotel grounds are very earthy and lovely.The rooms are very basic and the beds not especially comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant is not open all the time, the food is not very fresh and the chef allows no flexibility.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
106
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I visited this property during my trip for a yoga class. The property is so clean and amazing. The yoga studio is ocean front and the instructor was awesome. It is definitely worth a visit even if you stay someplace else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The beach house worked out great for the 12 in our group. We had an excellent location right on the beach, our own pool, great services in the hotel next door, and great staff support all around. The only real glitches in our trip were the rain (a gutter broke during a torrential rain and almost flooded the upstairs until we fixed it) and the refrigerator kept going out but the hotel adjusted our bill to help make up for this. Overall, this was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The rooms are great, the staff members are INCREDIBLE - good people, good attitudes - so accommodating and always greeted us with a smile! I LOVE this hotel. The food is wonderful, the SPA is tranquil and the beach and surf was better than I could have imagined!! THANK YOU Hotel Tropico Latino for the memories! Can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have only positive things to say about Tropical Latino. The dishes prepared by the chef, Randy, were outstanding and also works of art. Each one seemed to top the one before. We thoroughly enjoyed the couples massage and facial (Nadia is the best!) My husband even took a yoga class with Daniel ! Arnaldo made our dinner on the beach unforgettable... white table cloth w/ beautiful local red flowers scattered around the table, candlelight, 2 burning torches, complimentary bottle of Italian wine, tuna carpaccio, sirloin steaks cooked to perfection. I didn't think anything would compare to our wedding on Santorini on May 9, 1999, but fifteen years later this certainly came close! The waitstaff could not be more attentive --- Marcos, Anthony, Andry made it difficult to say goodbye. We left calling them friends ... Arnaldo and Chef Randy,too !!! After my husband checked in he told me about Hugo that attended Worcester Academy (less than 30 minutes from our home). He and my husband became fast friends and we hope that one day he and his son, Diego, will come back to Massachusetts and stay with us at our home.That invitation is extended to you all ! I also want to mention Evelyn.Unfortunately, I did not meet her until we were checking out, but I just know that she played a large part in making our vacation as special as it was.Thank you so very much! Love, Michael and Linnea from Sterling, MA

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I chose Tropico Latino as the venue for our wedding the first week of April 2014. We visited in 2013 and loved the property, the staff and of course, the beach. We brought a group of about 45 people to Santa Teresa and booked the entire property. There were only a couple minor maintenance issues that were handled promptly. The staff is extremely helpful and will resolve any issue you bring to them. Roberto, the hotel manager, is fantastic and will work to make your stay enjoyable.

The garden bungalows are great with plenty of room for 4 people comfortably. The beachfront bungalows are smaller than the garden type, but they are conveniently located near the beach, pool and restaurant. There is a two bedroom house on the property that is nice for a small family. It is more private, secluded and tucked back away from other room. The two bedroom house has a small kitchen, and there is a grocery store across the street from the hotel.

There are also two large houses on the property that can be rented entirely or on an individual room basis. The beach house has individual beach front rooms as well as the beach front studio. These rooms are spacious and the house is only 100 meters set back from the beach. The second house is the "White House" and has an infinity pool and a whirlpool. This house has the beachfront suite and beachfront superior rooms. The house is amazing. We spent most of our day laying by the pool having drinks, grabbing the boards and hitting the waves, and then coming back to the pool to relax. The individual rooms are great, and I highly recommend having a group of people rent the entire house. If you rent the entire house, you will have full shared access to the kitchen, and the pool will be your private little oasis. Regardless of what room you choose you will not be disappointed.

The hotel restaurant "Shambala" was wonderful. They catered our wedding and we could not have asked for anything more. The service was fantastic, the staff was very friendly and I highly recommend it. I will give a more complete review of the restaurant individually.

Santa Teresa/Mal Pais is a great little getaway. There are tons of restaurants and little shops, coffee houses and bakeries in town. You can rent a car if you have a family, or just rent ATV's to get around. The hotel has a full service concierge desk that can book/arrange any excursion offered in the area. The hotel also has a spa. I got a 60 minute deep tissue relaxation massage. It was amazing. One of the best massages I have ever had. We had multiple guests go to the spa for various services and everyone had a great experience.

We put a lot of trust into Hotel Tropico Latino to provide us with our destination wedding dream. We could not be happier with the service we received, and everyone who came to our wedding is planning on returning to this slice of paradise!

Room Tip: If booking a beachfront bungalow, ask for the one closest to the beach. In the white house, the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Tropico Latino has a beautiful beach, awesome surf (my friends and I were there for a Pura Vida Surf Retreat). We found the staff to be pleasant, the food was very good and the rooms were large and clean. Unfortunately, our last night there we were mugged at gunpoint by two men. We were not even a hundred yards from the hotel. We had asked the staff if it was safe to walk on the beach to the banana bar not even 5 minutes away. Because the sun had just set, they told us that it should be fine. The police were unresponsive and sadly, for the town seem to do little to prevent these robberies from happening. The hotel would do well to post security beach side as well as the security they have at the road. Until the security issues are addressed I cannot recommend this as a safe place to stay- especially for women. We stayed there at the end of January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.