We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Saxapahaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay. We were here seven days and loved it. Right on the Pacific beach, surrounded by surfers and had a chic, beach-bum vibe. The villas were simple, yet well done. We shared a two-bedroom bungalow with another couple we travelled with and it had a large bathroom and kitchen. The grocery out the gate supplied us with all we needed to cook during the week. Some really fine restaurants were all within walking distance and we but a cab ride from zip-lining and a great day fishing trip. The staff was great--friendly and all spoke English and accepted my passable Spanish. The pool was clean and housekeeping came every day with fresh towels and flipped the beds. Word of advice: keep the windows closed and the AC on at all times.go outside for the breeze, but keep the Mosquitos outside by closing the windows. The food in the restaurant is ... okay. Habañeros just down the beach is fantastic. As is an Argentinian chicken joint. The hotel has yoga, a spa, massage and lots of comfy beach chairs. I'd go back in a minute. Reasonably priced as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    32
    18
    9
See reviews for
68
108
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my first trip to Santa Teresa, or even Costa Rica for that matter. My boyfriend has been a couple of times and actually stayed at the house to the south of Tropico Latino with his family. It was a great first experience in Central America for me and I truly fell in love with Santa Teresa. Tropico Latino was a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay. Just a couple yards from a super market and 5 minutes walk from great restaurants, bakery's and surf shops. To be honest, you wouldn't really need to leave the resort at all! With an amazing restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and amazing cocktails, and with help from Evelyn at the front desk, you can book ATV's, canopy tours and surf lessons. We stayed for 8 nights and I did a yoga package, which the resort was kind enough to use at my leisure over the 8 days. The pool was a nice addition, as it was quiet most of the time, and the beach was breath taking as well. With hammocks and many chairs to choose from, it was a great place to sip mojitos while watching the amazing sunsets night after night. If you do choose a yoga package with food included, keep receipts as the staff lost count of our meals so it was a great way to show what we had left towards the end of our trip. All in all, Tropico Latino was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in both room 4 (Garden Bungalow) and 7 (Beach Front Bungalow) and they were both perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose Tropico Latino for our honeymoon destination and were not disappointed. The location is beautiful, the beach is not too rocky, the service is fantastic and everyone always had a smile for us. We got a beach bungalow and it was so private and relaxing. There are plenty of things to do in the immediate and surrounding areas. We did a day trip to Tortuga Island and another to Montezuma to see the falls. The food at Tropico Latino is a bit pricey but very good and worth trying at least once. We can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Cabin #7 at the beginning of February for 5 nights. We were quite happy with this location. The bungalow is very close to the Beach, not right on the beach but no issue for us as it was a very short walk .The Tropico Latino's beachfront is relaxing with chairs, lounges and hammocks available although not numerous. Nonetheless, my wife and I always found something to sit on, that someone had not claimed as their very own personal piece furniture lol. There is a good option of shade and sun in the hotel area of the beach. The beach is great, especially for surfing or boogie boarding but still good for anyone even if you want to wade near shore. Costa Rica has us spoiled to the point where we want waves rather than calm waters.(Calm is boring :)) If you are an experienced or beginning surfer, this is an amazing place to come!

The sunset is awesome whether from the hotel, a walk down the beach or from one of the close restaurants that have direct beach access with sunset views. We miss the sunset already *sigh*.

The location of the hotel within Santa Teresa is great, close to many restaurants and shops. We would say the location is rather central to the town. The town aspect for tourists is really one road that runs north/south with hotels shops and restaurants on each side. We liked the area, not too crowed, not too quiet.. less touristy than Tamarindo or the Manuel Antonio. Although we like those areas as well for different reasons!

We felt safe in ST overall but avoided the Beach at night. It is a very simple precaution to take yet some believe they can bypass the common sense aspect of this unwritten rule of not walking on the Beach after sunset. We were out walking at night but on the road where there are people around. We never had any issues. Just bring flashlights and you are good to go.

Santa Teresa was the latest stop in our travels across this beautiful country. We were certainly glad we experienced the area and were completely satisfied with the hotel. We would definitely come back here for a beach, laid back, surfing/boogie boarding, good eats vacation. Also we want to mention that Evelyn who works the office, is very good to deal with and fully understands what strong customer service is all about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 as part of a yoga retreat. We had a wonderful time- the staff was friendly and helpful, the cabinas were clean and spacious, the food was amazing and pool and beach area were favorites for our 8 year old. We had cabina #5 and it was perfect for a family and well situated on the grounds. The yoga deck overlooked the beach and was one of complete inspiration. An amazing place to watch the sunset. The only negative was the air conditioner was awfully loud and squeaky but after a day of yoga, surfing and zip lining we were exhausted and fell right to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Check-in smooth; garden bungalo very good; beach was beautiful; nice pool; restaurant very good; close to town. Went with a group and several people did yoga which was fantastic. Breakfast everyday was excellent; did a few lunches and dinners and they were excellent. Would have liked to get afternoon and evening appetizers with drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Garden Bungalo large; nice front porch; did not like the ants in bungalo; toilet paper had to be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Great location right on the beach. Even the simpler standard rooms were quite nice. Loved the fresh tasty breakfasts. Very nice, helpful staff. Yoga classes were phenomenal. Daniel is an excellent instructor and the view of the beach just steps away from the open air yoga studio was unparalleled. There were always sunchairs and hammocks available under the palm trees. We spent many happy days lounging there. The pool is refreshing and clean. We saw many different places in Santa Teresa and Mal Pais, and you can't beat Tropico Latino for location, access to grocery store and restarants, and value. Plus the direct bus from San Jose stops right accross the street. I will definitely stay at Tropico Latino again on my next visit to this area. Another couple we met has been going there for 9 years and we can see why. Enjoy your stay! The only two funny things were that the transportation we reserved through them with another business didn't arrive on time. We waited a half hour and then decided to organize our transportation to Cabo Blanco on our own. And it's a small thing, but the shower is really lovely and roomy, but the shower head is right next to the wall and you have to plaster yourself next to the wall to get a shower. I will give them feedback on this. It seems easy enough to add an extender and make full use of the beautiful, roomy shower. Overall, we were very pleased with out stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.