We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time, small details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Cabo San Lucas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great time, small details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had wonderful time in Costa Rica, and Santa Teresa was worth every minute!
We traveled with 3 little children and stayed in Tropico latino. It was Great!

The best rooms they have are the bungalows. roomy and well maintained with a large balcony to spend some time. beautiful pool and very good service.

Few comments:

1) With kids - take the bungalows!! not the "casita" (old and dark) nor the "ocean front" (smaller and small balcony).

2) It was the only hotel I have ever been that does not give a full detailed bill. (restaurant and bar, how many nights etc.) Check the bill, we found over 100usd mistake.

I gave it 5 stars as at the bottom line: price, hotel, location it gave us an EXCELLENT experience. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Check bills, use mini bar to keep fruits and other foods for meals or in-beween. don't be afrai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    86
    34
    19
    13
See reviews for
75
124
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in October. The weather wasn't great as it was low season however the resort was great. The staff members were helpful and friendly and the food at the restaurant was delicious. Everywhere we went whether it was small and dinky or expensive the food was amazing! The room we stayed in had it's own hammock which was amazing and the room was huge! It had two king size beds, a singe bed, a mini fridge, and spacious bathroom. The beach had quite a bit of debris on it but the waves were big and the water was the perfect temperature. I attended a yoga class and the instructor was great. I would also suggest renting a four wheeler and exploring the island and visiting the waterfall!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved staying at the Tropico Latino for the first 2 nights of our road trip through Costa Rica. 3 adults one baby stayed very comfortably in a double room with a partition. The restaurant served good food, the pool area had just enough shade and the hammocks on the beach were a great touch. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Tropico Latino has a great location. The hotel consists of separate bungalows and it is right by the beach. The pool is also very nice, big and deep enough. The rooms are spacious. Bathroom was a bit tired, but clean and decent. The staff vas very accommodating as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

this was my second trip to hotel Tropico Latino and it was even better than the first one. we rented a fully equipped bungalow, but it was in the middle of some improvements then they upgraded our reservation to the suite...WOW, it was just an awesome vacation in a beautiful fully-equipped house just in front of the beach with an spectacular view and close to many facilities such as supermarket,bakery, restaurants, surf board renting, etc.

My almost 4 year old toddler had a terrific time playing in the sand and observing all the nature surrounding the hotel.

Definitely a special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Tropico Latino is located in front of a lovely, white, sand beach which allows you to just walk along the shore and listen to the relaxing sound of the waves in front of your cabin.
I arrived early this week and stayed 3 days. Experienced a beautiful Mon. sunny afternoon, had an excellent meal with their high quality staff. I enjoyed every meal during my 3 day stay.
Not to mention the best massage from the Spa which allowed me to return home with a great sense of peace. I stayed in a cabin surrounded by beautiful, colorful gardens & the view of the ocean in front. Nice and quiet. Took lots of pictures of nature since this is one of my hobbies.
The staff in general treated me very well. I find them to be kind people who welcome your stay as if you were at home.The weather was nice and fresh. One of the best vacations I've had.

Room Tip: If you come with family or a group, I would recommend the corner suites which are large and sunny ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The yoga teachers here are excellent! Karen Love is awesome! The guy also wonderful, everyone i had was superior. The spa stone rock massage is worth every penny with the best relaxing music that you can purchase. Hugo and Jamie at the front desk are very helpful in planning daily activities for you. The Bakery is the best place to eat in this tiny place. Gourmet food and coffee and desserts. Alex is the best tour guide in Santa Theresa so please ask Hugo and Jamie to find him for you, he is a great guy! SUP paddle boarding is a must and the guide Andy is wonderful, his wife is a SUP champion!

Room Tip: balcony ocean front room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.