We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-will return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location-will return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

You can't ask or a better location. Directly on the beach yet on the main road. We did not rent a car; grocery across the street, restaurants all walking distance. If you need ATV's-go with Pacific Dirt Road Adventures. (http://quadtourscostarica.com/) They are less expensive than the hotel-brand new Honda's. Not to mention, great for tours. We used them all week.

Pro's:
Size of rooms-perfect for a small family (2 bed villa)
Beach
Restaurant is excellent-steak was unreal and chicken salad sandwich to die for!
Location, location, location
Grounds are gorgeous-lush-jungle like
Staff-extremely friendly and helpful. Waiters in the restaurant were great!
Monkeys, Iguanas, wild horses on beach and the friendliest stray dogs! :)
Villa was secluded and quiet

Con's:
*Bedding is horrible-we stayed in the 2 bedroom/1bath villa. Beds are old and loud. Every bed made a noise when you barely touched it. We didn't sleep well at night. They need to use a mattress cover-sheets came off constantly and kids would wake up in the middle of night directly on mattress. Ugh.
*Cash Only for hotel portion-but you can use a CC for the spa and restaurant. I don't get it.
*Shower door needs replaced-pretty old and kept falling off hinges.
*Could add some hooks in the bathrooms to hang towels, etc.

I would still return as this is the most unique hotel. Rustic jungle setting- yet very clean and nice. There's something about it that makes you finally feel like you've left it all behind....hammocks on beach helped! There are just some little things that could make big impacts in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
63
101
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is nice. A bit darkish but nice. The pool is too deep, and small so people wanting to use it would just sit in the edge or in the jacuzzi since it was too deep to stand but too small to swim, I guess a design fault.

I stayed in three different hotels, this one gave me sinus all three nights I stayed there. I am not really allergic to mostly anything I guess it must have been either the AC, or the Bug-spray they use.

Beach is nice once you walk some to the right as on tis part of the beach is mostly stones over the sand. I would say the beaches are quite muddy, compared to other beaches in the world. The further north you went the more muddy they are.

It has this nice resting spot just before the beach under the shade of tall palms.

They said it is three businesses in one, the Hotel, which you cannot pay with Credit Card, the Restaurant which you cannot pay either with creditcard, alghough they say you can, and the SPA which you can pay with credit card.

To me this makes no sese, You cannot pay the nights with your credit card but they can always charge your credit card through the open voucher/deposit you leave at the reception. So they want the cash. Don't know how much cash CostaRican hotels think you will bring, no Amex office anywhere to take money out. The only way was through ATM's with charge, and through the Banco Nacional. So a bit of a hassle, you have to bring lots of cash in case your credit card goes blocked for International security/fraud reasons.

The yoga class was nice, yet they lied to us saying that the class teacher was someone else.

There was this sect of Yogis/inis from Vancouver who you could not talk to, weird but true, I guess it is not the hotel's fault, but it is. as we stayed there to meet new people, Most of the hotel was taken by them although you saw people there you couldn't really get to meet any of them. I thought you could meet them through a yoga class, but the class came to be in a different spot and mostly empty of people, what bothers me is that they misinform you about that.

Bathrooms are badrooms, really cheap for the price.

Once a week two guys would play guitar at dinner which was very nice.

Food is great, but since they say it is three different business I guess I should review the restaurant in a different page. Tea was nice. Mojito was averagely poor.

Locals are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here the 3rd week in June, 2 adults and 2 children. We rented the 2 bedroom house. It was nice and comfortable, dated though - nothing like the pictures give you the impression of. My children loved the fact that the had the entire pool to themselves the 2 days we stayed there. It didn't seem like a family hotel, more so for Yoga friendly people that like to go on vacation and get spa treatments. The beach is beautiful and quiet. The Mexican restaurant down the street was excellent. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Word to the wise, keep your car doors locked, people come through the hotel property at night and check car handles for access. Nice too check out, too much of a young hippy feel to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

very nice hotel right on the beautyfull beach, very safe,we spend a good time and in the night you can go outside on the beach and see a very impressive sky full of stars, the restaurant is not the best in town and i found very expensive for what they offers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel wraps you in a wonderful combination of natural beauty, luxury and a causal relaxed atmosphere.

We stayed in one of the newer second-floor rooms facing the ocean. It was private, clean and very romantic to sit on our balcony and listen to the waves through the palm trees. While we relished the tropical heat, the AC was a godsend at night.

The members of the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating. Hugo in the front office was particularly helpful in arranging activities and dinner reservations. The hotel offers a variety of outings; our favorite was the incredible guided tour of Cabo Blanco National Park. Our guide, Pabro Sanchez from Sapoa Adventures was incredibly knowledgeable and engaging.

The food at the restaurant was consistently delicious -- favorites of ours were the French toast and the desayuno tipico, or typical Costa Rican breakfast. Be sure to ask for the Costa Rican salsa to mix in with the rice and beans! You also have the option of eating breakfast at a group of tables right down at the edge of the sand -- not to be missed.

Beachfront yoga rocks! There were multiple classes to choose from each day.

All in all, this was a super experience. :-D

Also, for great inexpensive taxi services from a super nice local guy (with an adorable son!), call Marco at 8548-1852. He speaks English and is available for local or long range trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel tropico Latino beach house was the perfect place for our large group to stay!! The house was immaculate with big clean rooms and bathrooms, a kitchen to cook, a huge veranda (which we spent most of our time), and a gorgeous infinite pool all if which overlooks the ocean that is literally steps away. The resort offers yoga classes, spa services and has its own delicious restaurant that we frequented. It is in a perfect location so that you can walk to restaurants, grocery stores, shops etc. along with all of this there were safes in the rooms, 24 hr security guards patrolling the grounds and daily maid service. Couldn't have been a better experience. This was a perfect Costa Rican getaway!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Tropico Latino was a very nice and comfortable place to enjoy our stay in Santa Teressa. The hotel grounds were clean and well kept, all of the staff were polite and friendly. The restaurant had excellent food, but was also the most expensive restaurant we found in Santa Teresa. In the evening we would lounge on our patio and enjoy the rain, we were comforted by the frequency and thoroughness of the security we witnessed on the hotel grounds. Our room was comfortable and spacious. With the exception of a musty/moldy smell (not noticeable in the sheets or bed), and a small ant/bug problem in some of the corners of the room, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Garden View Bungalow #4 was comfortable, private and just far enough from the road so traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.