We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel wraps you in a wonderful combination of natural beauty, luxury and a causal relaxed atmosphere.

We stayed in one of the newer second-floor rooms facing the ocean. It was private, clean and very romantic to sit on our balcony and listen to the waves through the palm trees. While we relished the tropical heat, the AC was a godsend at night.

The members of the staff were beyond friendly and accommodating. Hugo in the front office was particularly helpful in arranging activities and dinner reservations. The hotel offers a variety of outings; our favorite was the incredible guided tour of Cabo Blanco National Park. Our guide, Pabro Sanchez from Sapoa Adventures was incredibly knowledgeable and engaging.

The food at the restaurant was consistently delicious -- favorites of ours were the French toast and the desayuno tipico, or typical Costa Rican breakfast. Be sure to ask for the Costa Rican salsa to mix in with the rice and beans! You also have the option of eating breakfast at a group of tables right down at the edge of the sand -- not to be missed.

Beachfront yoga rocks! There were multiple classes to choose from each day.

All in all, this was a super experience. :-D

Also, for great inexpensive taxi services from a super nice local guy (with an adorable son!), call Marco at 8548-1852. He speaks English and is available for local or long range trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    76
    31
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
108
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel tropico Latino beach house was the perfect place for our large group to stay!! The house was immaculate with big clean rooms and bathrooms, a kitchen to cook, a huge veranda (which we spent most of our time), and a gorgeous infinite pool all if which overlooks the ocean that is literally steps away. The resort offers yoga classes, spa services and has its own delicious restaurant that we frequented. It is in a perfect location so that you can walk to restaurants, grocery stores, shops etc. along with all of this there were safes in the rooms, 24 hr security guards patrolling the grounds and daily maid service. Couldn't have been a better experience. This was a perfect Costa Rican getaway!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel Tropico Latino was a very nice and comfortable place to enjoy our stay in Santa Teressa. The hotel grounds were clean and well kept, all of the staff were polite and friendly. The restaurant had excellent food, but was also the most expensive restaurant we found in Santa Teresa. In the evening we would lounge on our patio and enjoy the rain, we were comforted by the frequency and thoroughness of the security we witnessed on the hotel grounds. Our room was comfortable and spacious. With the exception of a musty/moldy smell (not noticeable in the sheets or bed), and a small ant/bug problem in some of the corners of the room, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: Garden View Bungalow #4 was comfortable, private and just far enough from the road so traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Santa Teresa Beach has moved up to #1 of my favorite beaches in Costa Rica! The only place I would stay, of course, is Hotel Tropico Latino! My husband is Costa Rican and I've been living in the country for 12 years ... so, we've visited a few beaches. Santa Teresa is our new favorite.

The hotel's expansive property fronts the beach and protects you from the bustle of the main street and town. You'd never know the rest of the world was there if you didn't leave! Immense fig and "Pochote" trees combine with Pacific Almond and various palms in abundantly lush gardens to give you the feeling of being in a lush tropical oasis. The hammocks right on the beach, lounge chairs and even driftwood trunk "benches" are fantastic for sunset watching. Everyone says so ... but the sunsets REALLY are amazing!

The beach is an incredible mix of pulverized shells and volcanic sea glass, small sand-washed smooth pebbles, and fine light-beige sand. Watching the surfers in those big waves was impressive. There are plenty of little coves for swimming. The beach in front of Hotel Tropico Latino is actually called Playa Carmen, though the entire area and town is known as Playa Santa Teresa. A great day trip is to drive a bit further up the coast to Playa Hermosa and Playa Manzanillo -- gorgeousness in turquoise, jade, aquamarine and deep blues. Great volcanic reef to explore and crystal clear water for swimming or snorkeling.

We wanted to go hiking in Cabo Blanco, but it had rained hard during the night and the early morning. The road to get there was impassable for a flooded river. Just another reason for us to go back. Note to travelers: If you plan to visit anytime between May - December during rainy season, make sure to rent a 4x4! I had to drive in 4-wheel-drive just on the main dirt (turned slick mud) roads. The rain washes all of the summer dust away, which is lovely!

Staff at Tropico Latino are friendly and helpful --- especially Evelyn in Reception, and Roberto, the manager. Chef Randy Siles is a superstar in the restaurant creating incredible gourmet delicacies you'd expect to find in any 5-star dining capital in the world. The black squid ink-tinted tagliatelle pasta is especially delicious, as are the gyoza appetizers and the molten chocolate cake. For breakfast, try the very-filling breakfast burrito with homemade tortillas.

Rooms are all lovely. My favorites are the Beachfront Superior and the Beachfront Suite.

Thanks to all at Tropico Latino for a beautiful anniversary trip. We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Beachfront Superior Rooms have a balcony terrace looking straight out to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed a week at the hotel while doing the Pura Vida Adventures surf camp. Both the hotel and the camp were fabulous. The hotel is clean and beautiful. You couldn't ask for a better location. It is located directly on the beach. I used the spa and the restaurant regularly and the services were impeccable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that occasionally they would run out of shower water for a bit while they waited for the company to come refill the tank.

I also can't recommend Pura Vida highly enough. The instructors and staff were amazing, as was the group of women who participated. If you are looking for a female surf/yoga retreat, this is definitely the one I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel Tropico Latino is perfect, and I can be fussy about hotels. Across the board, the hotel is a perfect balance of genuine Costa Rican and straight-up luxury. The highlights:

The pool - good size, deep, overlooking the ocean

Lounge areas - well maintained, diverse, spacious, casual, gorgeous

The restaurant/bar - beautiful and the staff are stellar

The grounds - well thought-out, well maintained; iguanas roaming

The spa/yoga - picturesque, right on the beach; also probably the best facial and massage I've ever had

The rooms - free-standing (or with one other) cabin style with vaulted ceilings and pretty bath tile; fridge, which not all CR hotels have. Monkeys (high up) in the trees right near the room!

Location - ON the ocean. one of the few. across the street from a market. Hotel is nicely recessed from the road.

Fabulous space for a group of singles, a couple, a family, or a solo traveler. Hotel doesn't have too many rooms, so the place is never crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I got a greeting from hotel on my Birthday - beautiful flowers and my favorite dark chocolate with almonds. It was a surprise! I loved it! Thank you!
The road is really ruff,bumpy and dusty. It wasn't fun to get there.
Breakfast was on the beach with beautiful view, but it wasn't tasty at all, it was unreasonably expensive. We couldn't eat anything but fruits and coffee, and paid $60 for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.