We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed a week at the hotel while doing the Pura Vida Adventures surf camp. Both the hotel and the camp were fabulous. The hotel is clean and beautiful. You couldn't ask for a better location. It is located directly on the beach. I used the spa and the restaurant regularly and the services were impeccable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The only negative was that occasionally they would run out of shower water for a bit while they waited for the company to come refill the tank.

I also can't recommend Pura Vida highly enough. The instructors and staff were amazing, as was the group of women who participated. If you are looking for a female surf/yoga retreat, this is definitely the one I would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
106
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel Tropico Latino is perfect, and I can be fussy about hotels. Across the board, the hotel is a perfect balance of genuine Costa Rican and straight-up luxury. The highlights:

The pool - good size, deep, overlooking the ocean

Lounge areas - well maintained, diverse, spacious, casual, gorgeous

The restaurant/bar - beautiful and the staff are stellar

The grounds - well thought-out, well maintained; iguanas roaming

The spa/yoga - picturesque, right on the beach; also probably the best facial and massage I've ever had

The rooms - free-standing (or with one other) cabin style with vaulted ceilings and pretty bath tile; fridge, which not all CR hotels have. Monkeys (high up) in the trees right near the room!

Location - ON the ocean. one of the few. across the street from a market. Hotel is nicely recessed from the road.

Fabulous space for a group of singles, a couple, a family, or a solo traveler. Hotel doesn't have too many rooms, so the place is never crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I got a greeting from hotel on my Birthday - beautiful flowers and my favorite dark chocolate with almonds. It was a surprise! I loved it! Thank you!
The road is really ruff,bumpy and dusty. It wasn't fun to get there.
Breakfast was on the beach with beautiful view, but it wasn't tasty at all, it was unreasonably expensive. We couldn't eat anything but fruits and coffee, and paid $60 for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved it! The hotel was lovely. The staff excellent. When we couldn't get hot water in the shower, they sorted it out immediately and we had a brand new shower by the end of the day. The restaurant was very good and didn't mind us sharing lunch when too hot for one each. The horseback riding was great fun and the beach lovely. Though watch out for the waves with children. We had a bungalow and probably didn't need it as we were just three. But the location was great and close to the pool and beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here with 2 girlfriends and had a blast! Santa Teresa is pretty quiet in terms of nightlife but this hotel and the activities they offer will keep any group busy and content. Bungalows are spacious and sleep 5 comfortably. Personal hammocks on the porches and privacy make the rooms perfect. Dining is in casual setting yet 5 star in taste and presentation- try to the white fish with pesto--- delish! Roberto D. -the GM -is considerate and truly makes an effort to ensure all guests enjoy their stay to the fullest. Try the massages, Paddle boarding with Andy in Mal Pais, and canopy---all offered at the hotel! Having a store across the street is key too for snacks and vino stops :). They also had the "Beach house" that looked modern and private with own pool. Seemed ideal for families or larger parties..... GO CHECK IT OUT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights on our honeymoon here back in November 2012. We checked in our #8 beachfront villa, first of all I felt completely creeped out by the men building the yoga hut just steps away from our front door. They stopped working and stared the whole time while we were getting settled in and continued to do so throughout our stay. I also got sexually harassed by a man walking the beach while my husband was surfing...never felt so uncomfortable in my life. He was clearly "on the prowl" and left me alone (finally) when my 6'6 husband came back in. ....so gross! Other than that...this place was pretty decent. Great location, delicious food, friendly staff and we loved the pool. It was nice having a mini fridge in the room to keep our rum cold (there is a grocery and liquor store within walking distance). The beds however, could have been a little more comfortable and the only wifi we got was in the restaurant area. Overall we enjoyed our stay. WE LOVE MAL PAIS & SANTA TERESA!!! Rent an ATV while you are there and explore everything this little surf town has to offer. And be sure to take a surf lesson from Jobbie....he's the coolest dude you will meet there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our recent stay at Tropico Latino was better than ever. This is our 2nd time staying there. We rented the beachside suite. It was the perfect accommodation for us. We have 2 teenage kids so having a kitchen for breakfast and lunch was wonderful. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They helped to arrange horseback riding right from the property. They also arranged surf lessons. The instructor was very knowledgeable and made it possible for even the 55+ to catch a wave or two.
The only negative which is beyond their control. Is the local people with loud kids like to take over the hammocks and bench directly in front that are owned by tropico Latino but the beach is public so they have a right to be on the beach but not the hammocks etc. I liked to have peace and quiet and relax and I found this a bit annoying at times. I would highly recommend stay here and plan to return again as often as I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.