We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families or Clans of Friends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for Families or Clans of Friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here with 2 girlfriends and had a blast! Santa Teresa is pretty quiet in terms of nightlife but this hotel and the activities they offer will keep any group busy and content. Bungalows are spacious and sleep 5 comfortably. Personal hammocks on the porches and privacy make the rooms perfect. Dining is in casual setting yet 5 star in taste and presentation- try to the white fish with pesto--- delish! Roberto D. -the GM -is considerate and truly makes an effort to ensure all guests enjoy their stay to the fullest. Try the massages, Paddle boarding with Andy in Mal Pais, and canopy---all offered at the hotel! Having a store across the street is key too for snacks and vino stops :). They also had the "Beach house" that looked modern and private with own pool. Seemed ideal for families or larger parties..... GO CHECK IT OUT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
66
103
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights on our honeymoon here back in November 2012. We checked in our #8 beachfront villa, first of all I felt completely creeped out by the men building the yoga hut just steps away from our front door. They stopped working and stared the whole time while we were getting settled in and continued to do so throughout our stay. I also got sexually harassed by a man walking the beach while my husband was surfing...never felt so uncomfortable in my life. He was clearly "on the prowl" and left me alone (finally) when my 6'6 husband came back in. ....so gross! Other than that...this place was pretty decent. Great location, delicious food, friendly staff and we loved the pool. It was nice having a mini fridge in the room to keep our rum cold (there is a grocery and liquor store within walking distance). The beds however, could have been a little more comfortable and the only wifi we got was in the restaurant area. Overall we enjoyed our stay. WE LOVE MAL PAIS & SANTA TERESA!!! Rent an ATV while you are there and explore everything this little surf town has to offer. And be sure to take a surf lesson from Jobbie....he's the coolest dude you will meet there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our recent stay at Tropico Latino was better than ever. This is our 2nd time staying there. We rented the beachside suite. It was the perfect accommodation for us. We have 2 teenage kids so having a kitchen for breakfast and lunch was wonderful. There is a wonderful grocery store across the street. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They helped to arrange horseback riding right from the property. They also arranged surf lessons. The instructor was very knowledgeable and made it possible for even the 55+ to catch a wave or two.
The only negative which is beyond their control. Is the local people with loud kids like to take over the hammocks and bench directly in front that are owned by tropico Latino but the beach is public so they have a right to be on the beach but not the hammocks etc. I liked to have peace and quiet and relax and I found this a bit annoying at times. I would highly recommend stay here and plan to return again as often as I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As far as I could tell, this is the best hotel in Santa Teresa although I may have missed a few. The staff was great. We stayed in a garden bungalow. The rooms were clean and spacious, the property is nicely landscaped, and it's on one of the best parts of the beach. The wifi is iffy at best and there is no TV. It's pricey and nothing is included, but if you have the money. We had a great time. Thanks again to Hugo, Evelyn, Arnaldo, and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: They have a credit card reader.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had a great experience here. The room was very, very nice and perfectly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The setting: lovely. I would go back here without a second thought. Oh and I got a facial - it was super relaxing, comfortable and overall very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Folks not good choice for me.
Went with wife and son 4y
1st day arrived át. 15hs and the room was not ready, we have to wait until 17hs!!
2nd day the A/C was not working and because was sunday nobody could repair, too hot, impossible to stay inside the room, i had to ask and discuss to get a solution, i informed the problem right in the morning and only at 19hs they took action and call another guy to repair.
3rd day the hotel was with no energy and no water for a couple hours.

The only good were the 2 guys from the restaurant Arnaldo and Manoel were nice and did a good attention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'll start with a complement, the grounds are nice. Now where to begin. Don't book the Superior Beach front rooms, if you do stay here which I am not recommending, rent the garden bungalows! Our room felt like a large jail cell, concrete walls floors and ceilings. The bed was uncomfortable, oh and there were stains on the sheets. You can't drink the water out of the tap, the shower pressure and temp is all over the place, and the wifi was non existent. I also killed a cockroach in the bathroom on our first night, yuck!

To keep their overhead low the front desk staff leaves around dark, so when we arrived late after flying and driving all day, and into the night, there was no one to check us in other then the night guards who speak no english, yes I know I'm in Costa Rica, but when the majority of the country speaks english, and you charge this much, I have some base expectations. Outside the building where our room was located, there was a noticeable odor of sewage.

The food was mediocre at the hotel, and unlike every other place we stayed in Costa Rica nothing was included. We stayed at places that were almost half as much and they still served us breakfast.

Also all the rooms are super easy to break into, so lock your valuables. This place is sandwiched between the main road and the beach so there is a lot of traffic thus all the guards they hire to patrol the grounds. To make matters worse, my wife lost her phone on the last day while swinging on one of the hammocks next to the beach, and when we went back 20 mins later to look for it, it was gone!

Finally, we were over charged for our food at the restaurant. You settle up at the end of your stay for the food and other amenities. The bill I saw at our meal did not match what the front desk charged us for our breakfast on site. When I asked for them to produce the receipt from the meal two mornings earlier, they said they didn't have it, BS! Lesson learned, always ask for a copy of any receipts when stuff is charged to your room, otherwise they may take advantage of you. This "classy establishment" apparently only takes cash to settle up, but surprise surprise, after we argued that we had no cash, and about to walk away in udder frustration, BAM, they busted out their credit card machine. If you consider yourself a legit hotel, and you have internet service, yet you try to extort cash from guests, I call you freekin liars! Not professional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;