We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located PERFECTLY if you are a beach baby or like to hang out in town. The staff are very nice and the landscape/layout of the property is excellent. We stayed in a standard room for a week, then upgraded to a Beachfront room for our anniversary - just sayin'... Stick to the standard room. The pictures of the rooms online are deceiving. After being there for a week, I would advise for you to pick ANY garden view room before ANY beachfront room. One would assume visa versa as beachfront seems luxurious...but the layout of the rooms are off and the area of the property is far less interesting and beautiful as the garden view rooms and bungalows.

I will come back again and will refer friends to stay at this hotel!

The restaurant was 5 stars! Beautiful dishes, good prices, excellent flavor. Great job on such a wonderful Restaurant, very very successful. Wish more people ate there, only one or two tables the whole time we were there - which was shocking because it was so good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
106
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent almost 3 weeks driving through Panama and Costa Rica in February, 2013 and only stayed in each location 1 - 3 days. By the time we got to our last destination (Mal Pais), we were ready to relax and unwind in one location for our last 5 nights. And we were so thankful that we had chosen Tropico Latino. The property was perfect. It felt very private with bungalow-style rooms surrounded by gardens, a great pool overlooking the water, awesome food and a beautiful beach with lounge chairs and hammocks. The yoga studios both overlook the water and the classes were great. We loved everything about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The location of the Hotel was PERFECT! Right across the street is a local market and surf shop. Only a 5 to 10 minute walk to town and excellent places to eat all around! As vegetarians/vegans, the market across the street was IDEAL for fresh fruit and the Barefoot Gormet deli and market was only a few minutes away as well, offering organic produce.

The grounds were VERY well kept by the friendliest gardener you'll ever meet. We found fresh limes, starfruit, mangos, and coconuts on the property to enjoy which was an amazing treat! The beach is right there! The pool is a nice touch. Wildlife (iguanas, agaoti, monkeys, variety of birds) was so much fun to experience for our first time in Costa Rica. An easy spot for killer photos of wildlife, vegetation, and the beach!

The staff was unbelievable! From the gardener to the receptionist to the wait staff to the maids, it was MORE than excellent. There was even security gaurds patrolling the property to make you feel extra, extra safe. We had several times where we left the rooms for hours and forgot to lock the door and never had any problems!

Hotel Tropico Latino was the perfect place to stay! We are very happy with our decision and if we return to Santa Teresa, we will be booking our rooms here.

The rooms were very nice. Basic and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic suites (king bed with small twin) and they were very nice and private. A lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went here multiples during a week in Santa Teresa for the yoga classes. I loved it. You can not beat the location of the yoga platform here, tucked in the trees on the beach. It is shaded and breezy, you can hear and watch the waves while in the class. Check it out! We also tried out the food and spa. The service was great and the food was delicious (and reasonably priced)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jouqueviel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice location for surfers, and we found a beautiful Belgian bakery with quality goods.
The gravel roads are very dusty, but the beach is verg nice.
The restaurant is good, but there are no fans to cool down.
If you stay in rooms 8-9 or 10 BUY EARPLUGS !!!!

Room Tip: Room 9 10 and 11 to close to the road,day and night quads and motorcicles traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel, but was recommended by our hotel for massages at Yoga and Spa Natural. I booked the detoxifying body wrap treatment which included a facial treatment and massage - it was 90 minutes of one of the best treatments I've ever had. My appointment was with Nadia - she was awesome, so relaxing, that I fell asleep. The vibe was great, service was great - and the spa is right on the beach, it was peaceful to hear the waves while getting my treatment - overall an amazing experience - lovely and clean. Thanks again Nadia.
Mae K.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin Gateway, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found Tropico Latino in the Frommers guide and then I reviewed them online. My wife and I chose them for our honeymoon and we had NO regrets. We did have probably the best room for the price however and that was the beach front bungalow. It was just the best deal you could imagine. Overall everything was great. We were very hesitant to send the required deposit by wire but it was just fine. It takes at least 7-9 business days for it to go through from the states so do it early and be patient.

Room Tip: Beach front Bungalow #8. Best room without a doubt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;