We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great surf!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location, great surf!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff was great, yoga class was a highlight of the stay, thank you Daniel! We enjoyed being close to the beach and a quick walk to any restaurants. The only downside to the room was that we were close to another room and could hear through the walls.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
67
106
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Santa teresa, on the beach, simply but nicely decorated and in very good order, it is extremely peaceful and quite, and we loved the fact that it was on the beach, close to a lovely beach bar full of young surfers, baby surfers and yummy mummies! the pool is also gorgeous, and if the waters of mal pais are a bit to rough for you (or your kids) it gives you a break and it offers you a good swim!
The only thing that could be improved is the food at the restaurant! The staff is very nice but food is not great, not bad either but just mediocre. However breakfast on the beach was extremely nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Santa Teresa is a surf town, first and foremost. Hotel Tropico Latino is probably the most upscale hotel around, with a nicely maintained property, adequately secluded from the surrounding craziness (which, as it turns out, I happen to enjoy, but, just a heads-up that this place is NOT typical, and the "town" is not much more than a one-lane (really bad) road with cheap restaurants, hostels, campgrounds and surf shops). Don't plan to come here to hang with rich ex-pats who like to play golf. BUT - if surfing is your thing, and you want a little pampering (i.e., a nice place to stay), I can highly recommend Tropico Latino. The staff is great, and the ambiance is chill and accommodating. The restaurant and bar staff are a lot of fun, but you'll have to ask them to speak Spanish if you want to practice, because they all want to practice ENGLISH. The food is only ok, though. Beautiful presentations, but the food is fussy, not well cooked, and too contrived. We got better fish at Basta Pasta, up the road. The cook there knows when to stop cooking a good piece of fish. Not so much at Shambala.

We'll definitely go back, but will eat dinner elsewhere.

Oh yeah - this place isn't easy to get to - be sure to take the ferry (we didn't), but even with that, you still have 10k of gut-busting dirt road to negotiate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week over New Years. The New Years party summed it up for us. There was a drum band (very high energy) which played on the beach around a huge bon fire. People were dancing like mad and running around the bon fire. Very primal and super fun. Ok, so the hotel. The resort is real nice, not super fancy and not over the top, making it very comfortable. We stayed in the garden view two bedroom house which was real close to the beach but I'd say if you can get the beach front house do it. The resort is obviously on the beach side of the road and all the houses/rooms are seconds from the beach. The security was exceptional. The bar drinks were great, the restaurant food was alright. There is so much good food in this area that you really don't need to eat at the resort. The location is pretty much in the heart of the town but believe me you don't feel like it. The resort is very quite and the general vibe from others staying here was friendly and really mellow. I would recommend this place to my friends, parents and anyone looking to have a very relaxing experience. Don't expect anything excessively lavish but it is really nice. Do I even need to mention that the beach, water and waves are incredible here? World class beach, like I said, just seconds from each room here.

Room Tip: Tip for a room, the closer to the beach the better but you can't go wrong with any of them. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my first time in Santa Teresa, apart from the beauty of the beach and nature, the experience in Tropico Latino was way much better than expected. Beautiful vegetation surrounding the Hotel, nice swimming pool, few steps from the beach, remarkable customer service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at Tropico Latino in July as part of the Pura Vida Adventures camp. I had a wonderful time here, but to be fair - I think a lot of that must be attributed to the Pura Vida staff and not necessarily the hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodations and had an overall wonderful stay.

Gorgeous property right on the beach - never experienced anything like this. My room was connected to another room, where we shared a bathroom, and I was quite impressed. I received the room with the gorgeous balcony and beachfront view, however, while the other room was very dark and had just a small window. Bathroom was too cool with screened in shower/toilet area. Very "Costa Rica".

I only have good things to say about the restaurant, spa, and staff. Wonderful!

My only complaints would be with the front desk. While the staff did their best to be courteous and nice, I had no idea that I had to pay my hotel bill (an entire week) in cash. Considering I was not prepared for this, the hotel finally allowed me to have money wired to the hotel from home. I think their "cash only" policy (for everything - spa included) should be made much more clear. Another small worry with the front desk: many times no one was there. Since we leave our keys at the desk, it was common practice for me and many other women on the Pura Vida camp to just grab our keys from the desk in order to get to our rooms. A little disconcerting that anyone could just grab a key....

But despite these small things, I really had the trip of a lifetime and would definitely consider returning here. If you want an adventure with absolutely GORGEOUS surroundings that can't be beat (isn't that why you travel anyway?) then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel sits on a good break, usually crowded but a good wave. The restaurant is mediocre, I had pasta one night, not very good, had mahi mahi another, awesome, so it's spotty, stick to the fish...I think.

The rooms, you get what you pay for but I wasn't totally stoked, with a little love and care and not much more invested it could have gotten my highest approval but honestly, a little run down/tired and lacking any shine to sign of loving attention.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.