We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel tropico latino playa Santa Teresa COSTA RICA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
DF
1 review
“Hotel tropico latino playa Santa Teresa COSTA RICA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a magical place, wonderful nature sourrounding, excellent food and kind staff. The beach is amazing! Santa teresa is one of the MUST beaches in Costa RIca - only grat and layback people will be found there. It is perfect for familly trips as well as for friends, relax or adventure experiences.

Room Tip: Even rooms with garden view are really close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    74
    28
    18
    9
See reviews for
62
99
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotels in this part of Costa Rica really do cover every budget and level of service/hospitality, which is why I put Tropico Latino right in the middle. Christina, who runs the Yoga studio is OUTSTANDING. Love her spiritual but modern approach. And morning yoga on a platform facing the ocean is pretty special. The hammocks on the beach are fantastic for lazing around, and the surf is at your doorstep, as long as you have an idea of what you are doing (watch out for rocks!) The sand is beautiful, the sunsets perfect, the water is warm (okay, none of that is about the hotel, but hey, they built in the right place). The guys in the restaurant/bar are super-sweet. Also had a great massage in the outdoor room, listening to the waves and even a few drops of rain. The grounds are lovely, with lots of flowers and iguanas and the staff definitely take care to keep everything looking great. I stayed as part of Pura Vida Surf Camp and had a shared room (#4, two beds, lots of space, decent bath). It was a little dark, but nice and clean, and the AC worked really well when we needed it. It was great to have our own little front porch as well. But age is starting to show a little bit. Friends were in the semi-private rooms (private room, bath shared with one other) that face the beach, and these were really beautiful. Food was definitely good - delicious fresh juices, good salads, lots of fresh fish. Not much in the way of nightlife, but that's not what this place is about, anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived after dark and after we checked in, the front desk closed 8pm. During the night we had several problems with the room. The air conditioner started beeping and continued through the night. The hot water ran out before the tub was half full, the lamp did not work, and other minor problems. I feel that since we had a sleepless night due to the loud beeping, among other problems, possibly a reduced rate would have been appropriate. When I looked under the beds at checkout, the filth was scary! ALso, I will not stay here again because you have to pay for everything in cash. I did not feel comfortable having to carry that much cash our entire vacation. The beachfront bungalow where we stayed did not have a view of the beach. We could have saved money and stayed in the garden bungalow or the rooms. The only positive note was that the staff was friendly and courteous, always trying to be helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapote, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The good: Friendly service, good food and very good price for a beach front hotel.

The bad:

1- Our room (#10) is right next to the staff laundry room, they are always noisy, you can hear them talking loud all day and you can hear their radios very early in the morning, we talked to the girl on the front desk but nothing changed.

2- Because of a special price they gave us, they only accepted cash, but they never told us that until we got to the hotel, so we went to the ATM to get cash and when we returned to the hotel they told us that we needed to pay the Spa with cash otherwise they would have to charge extra. Why they didn't tell us that before we went to get cash?

3- One day we got to the room and the cleaning staff keys were on the door, but nobody was there, maybe they forgot the keys there, but this is a very delicate security breach.

Room Tip: The more you paid the better room you get, that's the rule everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in one of the rooms in the beach house and the best thing about this room was the very large oceanview patio. The rooms are very basic, kind of dark and a bit musty (bring a scented candle) but the beachfront location makes up for a lot. The outdoor yoga studio is awesome and the massages at the spa were really great and well priced. The restaurant and bar served great food and drinks in a lovely outdoor, candlelit area. The pool is small but in a natural setting. The ocean here is pretty rough so only suitable for strong swimmers. A friend had the beachfront bungalow and I would definitely request this room next time. Other good local restaurants are Mary's (pizza is perfect) and Kika's.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow is really quaint and well positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I'm kind of on the fence about this place.
The location is great but it's quite evident that this place is in need of a serious overhaul.
The reception staff was nice and helpful.
The restaurant was ridiculously slow. 2 Nescafé coffees cost $5 and took 15 min.
The rooms are nice but definitely dated.
We stayed in 2 rooms during our stay there. The shower drains in both rooms didn't drain properly.
And the towels are frayed and rougher than sand paper.

The property backs right onto the beach, which was a great spot to sit and watch the sunset surf sessions.

We were there during low season so we were paying about $120 a night. I could not imagine paying their $200/night high season rate.

My biggest problem with this place is that they only take cash for the rooms. Credit cards work at the bar. But you have to go get a stack of cash to pay for your room.
Just seems a little sketchy to me. Make sure you double check your bill when you leave.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westphalia, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently had an amazing stay in the Beach House at Tropico Latino. Often you are disappointed as the resort is not as nice as the pictures. That is not the case here!! This place is gorgeous. We are two adult couple in our late 50's and we have traveled extensively. We all were in awe of the Beach House. It is set up perfect for two couples but has one additional unit on the ground floor plus two units upstairs so it would be great for a large group of adults. The kitchen had modern stainless steel applicances including a dishwasher. Everything in the unit is concrete...floor, counters, cabinets, bed frame...this makes it a little stark but quite functional.

My husband and I both had a massage. Mine was the full treatment with Maria and I have never had such a great scrub, wrap, facial & massage. His was just a massage with Nathan and he was also very pleased. We only ate at the restaurant once and it was very good even though the menu is rather limited. We prefer to explore the area and visit different restaurants. It is quite convenient to venture across the road to the grocery for lunch and breakfast items. We were a little disappointed as we visited in low season and many restaurants and shops were still closed. No night life at all that we could find. We did think it was a rather long way to get to Santa Teresa from San Jose. You should plan on an entire day for this venture. Great place for R & R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.