We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
“Tropical paradise on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place was absolutely amazing, and the staff were great! I would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Mal Pais / Santa Teresa. The (room) prices are reasonable, and you really can't beat the location. A big thumbs up!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    76
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
68
109
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We spent the weekend at the beach house and had a great time. Location is the best. So many thing to do right in front of your house. The house is amazing and very confortable. The kids had a great time at the pool and jacuzzi.. The area offers many food and entertainment options for all ages. Make sure you visit hermosa beach, best place to learn surfing in the area. Look for Lolo a great teacher.

Marco, Hugo and the rest of Tropico Latino team, thank you very much. It was a great vacation for all my familly and freidns. Hope to go back very soon...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is located right on the beach which is beautiful, but the hotel itself is just okay at best. We stayed in a cabina closest to the beach which would have been wonderful except for the fact that you cannot open the windows as there is no screen or mosquito netting. So we paid a fortune to be close to the waves and couldn't listen to them without being eaten alive.

The front desk won't bargain AT ALL and they are fairly rude. The staff at the restaurant is also surly and obnoxious. They could definitely use some lessons in manners.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in early mid-September. We loved it! The grounds are beautiful and our bungalow was really nice and spacious - no complaints at all. Since it was the rainy season, we basically had the pool and beach to ourselves. We enjoyed all our meals at Shambula and the service was nice too - Donny and Junior were great. We also found the little grocery store right across the street very convinient. We drove around the area and ate at good places in Santa Teresa. The only thing I regret is flying from America to San Jose and making the drive/ferry ride to Santa Teresa all in one day. But we knew that it would be a long day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach bungalow closest to the beach, #8. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tropico Latino Hotel for six nights in late August 2012. We'd spent the prior week on Costa Rica's Caribbean coast and a couple of nights on Arenal volcano, and this west coast, beachfront hotel was the perfect way to end our trip. Our room (bungalow?) opened up to a small "front yard," which opened up to the beach. We were in room 12, which is a room on what appeared to be a quadplex. For most of the week, I think we were the only ones in that whole building.

Anyway, the hotel itself is gorgeous. The bungalows are spread out around the property and are mostly individual little cabins/bungalows that are tucked behind trees and seem very private. The restaurant (Shambala) is right in the middle and offers an interesting combination of Indian, Asian, and Costa Rican food. We had the Gyoza every night, it was so good. Also very good was the Red Snapper, which was the "fish special of the day" every day that week. The wine selection isn't much, but you can get a glass of wine (decent pour too!) for $5, and a small bottle (250mL) for $9, so the prices weren't steep.

No meals are included and the average breakfast price was $7-8. Dinner ranged from $9-17.

Hotel Tropico Latino also includes a Spa, the Yoga Spa Natural. This was one of my favorite parts, as we could do yoga with a beachview every day we were there (and we did!). The yoga studio is right in front of the pool (though separated by some bushes), and since this was the slow season there were really only a couple of times anyone (kids) were using the pool and we could hear them in our class. This isn't bothersome at all to me, but I thought would be worth mentioning. I'm not sure if the noise from the pool influences the yoga classes at all during the busy seasons.

The yoga instructors are all wonderful, and teach various styles of classes. We took classes with Maria, Jenny, and Daniel. Jenny is a bubbly Canadian now living in Costa Rica and teaches a quick-paced, upbeat class. Maria's class started with Pranayama breathing, then moved into a Vinyasa, and finished with a 15 minute savasana (longest I've ever enjoyed! My teachers at home in Minnesota, Oregon, and Colorado have all wrapped up in 2-5 minutes). They're all vinyasa classes, but since each teacher brings his/her own personality and experience into it, they vary accordingly and are all beautiful classes. When your drishti is a tree in front of the ocean, it's a good, good thing.

Our only spa experience was the reflexology, which we loved. However, we'd never done reflexology before and were expecting more of a consultation based on what was felt in our feet. Instead, it was essentially just a really, really great foot massage with a note at the end about how she felt some blockage or tension in my right foot. So, I'm not really sure what we should've expected, but the foot massage part was incredibly relaxing.

All in all, we'd absolutely stay here again. In fact, their rates for the bigger rooms/suites are so good that we've talked about trying to talk a group of friends into coming back here with us sometime.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a two-bedroom suite in a duplex right next to the yoga studio and that opens into a big f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice location, very nice grounds and everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

The food at the restaurant was good but the options and choices were very few and and portions were very small which didn't help. Through the open door I caught sight of the cook not being the "strictest" in his preparation of breakfast. Of course most of his "infringements" most likely common in many kitchens, just not observed by any of us. The beer we were served always had at least one bottle of each order with an expired date, this semi admitted by one of the servers. Must have had a lot of old beer.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Rustic but with all the amenities. Had free WiFi but no real signal in our room, had to go to the restaurant/pool area to pick up the signal.

Even though we had the low season prices, we did find it pricey. However, being fair, it was well within the range of what other places at that beach were charging. Very very inconvenient to have to pay for your room cash or money transfer, they do have credit card machines for "other" charges, but room is paid in cash only!! Very inconvenient since it is pricey place and one does not feel that safe carrying and traveling with so much cash!! This is an absurd practice.!!

The beach is not a swimming beach at all, plenty of surfing though. Great beach to walk long distances. around 2 miles long. Great for sunning as well.

Plenty of small eating places near by with great food and normal size servings. A mini super market across the street with the basics plus beer and liquor.

Room Tip: Only one beach front room, not really worth it unless you plan to stay on the porch all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed our time. The hotel is small and right beside the beach. Although with rocks and not perfect for swimming, it is an attractive beach and the hammocks are laid out right beside it. The restaurant is not cheap, but we were really surprised by the excellent quality. Out of 6 nights altogether in the area, this was our best dinner easily. The beach front cabins were our favourite, the one closest to the beach being a favourite with honeymooners. The hotel is also roughly in the middle of the long road stretching from south Malpais to north Sta Teresa, so well-positioned for heading out to restaurants. There is a a well-stocked supermarket right opposite, and rooms have fridges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.