We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Beach House Is Ultimate Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
1 review
“New Beach House Is Ultimate Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My family of four just returned from an amazing week staying at the new Beach House atHotel Tropico. We have stayed with them before and enjoyed our rooms but their new beach house is amazing! Private yet close to the yoga/spa and restaurant and directly on the beach.

While the full house accommodates up to 12 in 5 bedrooms, we only used the first floor with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a full kitchen, dining room and tv. But the outdoor accommodations are what make this truly special.

It has an Infiniti pool ( big enough to do lap swimming) and a jacuzzi plus a wonderful and large sitting area outside both in the sun and in the shade (with fans to keep you cool.

The Beach House is now one of the most luxurious locations available on the beaches of Mal Pais or Santa Teresa. If you are looking for a family (or multiple) retreat you couldn't pick a better spot. Hotel Tropico is a wonderful place to stay but with the addition of the Beach House it just got a whole lot better!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thanks Chris! Im happy you were able to enjoy the week with your family at the beachfront suite. Its always a pleasure to have you over.

See you next time and say hi to the family!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    29
    18
    9
See reviews for
63
101
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

As someone who has been to costs rica over 10 times on surfing trips with my guy friends, I knew when I convinced my wife to give it a try, just the 2 of us, our accommodations needed to be a little better than what 5 guys can deal with. Roughing it for her is no room service. Tropico Latino came through for me, because of their resort, she now loves costa rica and wants to go back! The staff is awesome, the location couldn't be better. I surfed every morning while she jogged on the beach. She felt totally safe being over a mile away on the beach here- its that kind of town where you really don't have to worry about much. Awesome food both at the resort and at a ton of places walking distance. Right across the street is a supermarket, which has everything you could ever need, and surfboard rentals. Highly reccomend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
I'm glad to hear your wife now loves Costa Rica and that our staff was friendly. Let me know when you are coming back and I'll be happy offer you a couple of complementary yoga classes for your wife and a better deal for a nice beachfront bungalow!

Sincerely,
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is located on a great stretch of beach, which was easy walking to the main parts of playa carmen but just far out enough that the beach front wasn't too crowded. We ate once at their restaurant; the food was a bit pricey but it tasted great. Each cabin had its own hammock outside, the inside was roomy, but the plumbing was starting to show its age (our shower only had cold or scalding hot water). Gardens were well maintained and full of lovable iguanas. Nice pool with limited poolside chairs, but there were an abundant amount of hammocks/chairs/loungers for tl hotel guests on the beachfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments!

The uncrowded beaches is also something I love about being here. I'm sorry to hear the water was to warm or cold. I found out the pressure of the main water pump was not properly regulated at the time which consequently had the heater warming the water to much or vice versa. This issue has been corrected and now the temperature of the water is back to normal. I'm sure you will have a nice shower experience next time you come back.
I'm glad you liked our gardens and fauna, or gardeners take great pride in taking care of our grounds.
We have also place more pool side tables for our guests to relax.

We hope to see you once more!

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castalian Springs, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our room had driftwood and basket lamps and a bright quilt on the wall. NO alarm, phone, tv, desk, stationery etc! a huge covered porch with a hammock and adirondack chairs and table. nice bathroom with shower, a safe, a fridge w minibar and snacks. that's it. We didn't need anything else because there was this white graveled path to the pool and the beach in one direction, and town with stores and restaurants steps away. surfboard rentals-- yoga-- open air restaurant all tucked away in the most interesting flowered jungle...The stars at night, the hermit crabs, the benches, hammocks, chairs, lounges exactly where everyone gathers for sunset. we loved it and you will too... if you want to get away from it all... it is bare bones luxury!

Room Tip: we were closest to the street, yet still a minute to the pool and waves...#10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. Our idea of a nice vacation for a guests is that they are able to rest a bit from the modern rush of life and can enjoy the peace and quite of small, cozy hotel in front of the beach. Still we do have wifi internet for them to stay in touch with the world an loved ones.

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the stars at night and the wild life, that is one of the reasons I enjoy living in this area and working for this hotel. Its all a great experience.

I hope you can get to come back and enjoy many more sunsets! We would be happy to offer you a complementary cocktail to go along :)

Take care.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

To be honest, my wife and I ended up at TL after searching for the best rate after arriving in town. While the rate was great, the property is what made us decide to stay.

Each little bungalow is nestled among bushes and trees which makes it feel very private, save for the many iguanas that roam the property. While harmless, they sure make a 'thump' when they fall out of trees!

We found the food to be a bit pricey but the quality was good as was the service. Each morning we had breakfast before starting our busy day (on the Nicoya Pen. this means laying on the beach, eating burritos and wasting the afternoon away with a beer and a book).

On our last full day we woke up and did yoga with only one other person and the instructor. After which we ate breakfast then took advantage of the spa services with a massage. The massage was located right next to the beach in a little open-air hut and I can honestly say it was in my top 5 massages. Sort of a hybrid Thai massage that worked out a season of cycling crashes and soreness!

All in all, this is a must visit if you're unsure on where to stay. It felt private, was reasonably priced and felt very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We booked way ahead to stay at this hotel. I did my usual research, reviews looked pretty good - and made sure that we booked a beachfront cabin unit. The hotel advertises two of them- # 7 and # 8. From their site plan I could tell that #8 was the only one that was truly beachfront, so confirmed with them by e-mail (got it in writing!) that we had #8.

Imagine our frustration when we arrived, and they handed us the key for #7. At first the staff person denied they had confirmed we had #8- but when I said I would pull up the email and show her, she changed her story to "the guy that told you that doesn't work here anymore". Not the right answer. She then searched our email exchanges herself and had to admit there was in fact a confirmation given to us. Turns out there was a wedding at the hotel and they had rented #8 and a bunch of other rooms to the wedding guests.

Long story short, we reluctantly stayed in #7- see photo of the "view"- this unit is close to the beach, but certainly not beachfront and with no view.

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, no complaints there. Pool is nice too. The coffee making situation in the rooms is a joke. They have these thimble sized styro cups- I've never seen anything so small- that are provided for you to drink your coffee from. Just really ridiculous.

Now- the restaurant. We had talked to the waiter (Jose) during the day and he raved about the food, the chef, on and on. We thought- we have to eat here. Big mistake. What an unfortunate menu. Of a total of about 9 dishes to choose from, I think 5 of them had eggplant included in some way. My husband hates eggplant! And it is expensive. The waiter is absolutely fabulous, so we decided to tough it out and stay. I have to say it was the worst, most expensive meal we had in Costa Rica. We felt so sorry for the waiter, he was trying so hard, but when the food is this bad, you know he won't be doing too well for tips. We basically ended up laughing ourselves silly because there was nothing else we could do.

The day we left, we had a very early shuttle, so (stupid us!) we thought- they can't ruin breakfast, let's eat here, rather than trying to find somewhere up the road that early. Well they did. Different waiter- a very surly fellow- and the prices! $11 for 2 eggs, about 1/2 cup of potatoes, 2 overcooked pieces of bacon and 1 1/2 pieces of toast.

There is competition in the area. There are WAY better restaurants in the area. They have to be able to do better than what they are offering.

We walked the beach and there are great alternate places to stay- and we will- we loved Santa Teresa, the beach and the sunsets are amazing. Just never at Tropico Latino again!

Room Tip: If you must stay here- and I wouldn't- if you are expecting beachfront, you may be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I didn't actually stay here, but I feel I am allowed to write a review because I spent more time there than my hotel. I had a bad experience with my hotel, so I fell in live with Tropico. I walked in from the beach at it was so peaceful and beautiful. I immediately booked the Valentines Package special for me and my boyfriend. 155 for couples massage and dinner, you can't beat that The Spa attendant was so friendly and told us we could hang out there. And we did, everyday! We ordered drinks, sat by the pool, hung out in the hammocks and beachfront chairs. It is a great location with fantastic staff and atmosphere. If my hotel didn't let me cancel my reservation I would have stayed here in a hot second(and I probably will next time I visit.) The massage was fantastic and so relaxing located in an outdoor kind of hut on the ocean. The dinner was so fantastic and the best food I've had in a long time. Fish, wine, chocolate cake. I couldn't have been more happier (unless of course I was staying here) Plus it was across from Zula, the best Israeli food ever! You will have a good time here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for your review! Its so nice to hear that you fell in love our hotel. Are you planning to come anytime soon? Please let us know and we will make sure to give you a better deal on your second visit... !

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.