We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Latino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Santa Teresa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Great place...nice service...feel like home in paradise... best sunset ever...amazing yoga center facing th ocean..room with nice kitchen facing the ocean and palmtrees...my wife my 3 kids n I had an amazing week even better than the first time in 2009...we will go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words, paradise is exactly how I would describe this area. I also love watching the sunsets here. Let us know if you diced to come back, we will take good care of you.

Warm regards.
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    28
    18
    9
See reviews for
63
100
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We booked a luxe studio on the beach....
By our arival there was no luxe studio available. We get only a small bedroom with bathroom in the luxe villa on the beach and have to share the villa and front porch with other guest's...( also problems with there bookings? ) no kitchen, no privicy. Some things where we ask for, we never get....No excuse...no sorry.... paid to manny for what we get.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

As I sit on the bed that smells like pee, we have had no room service for three days I wonder why we stayed here. Asked for a hammock three days ago, never got it. The shower is gross and goes from freezing to scolding hot, nearly burning my wife. Turned fan on and paint chips rained on us while we slept. Noisiest room I have ever stayed in and I travel all over the world. Breakfast was overpriced and burnt. Rude receptionist, but hey right on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We did not stay at the Hotel Tropico Latino but booked spa treatments there after the owner of our hotel recommended their spa. I am extremely picky about spa treatments--and I was not disappointed. Maria and another therapist provided the Four hands bliss treatment--it was so amazing! The coconut scrub made my skin incredibly soft and the massage, facial and reflexology were amazing. Thank you so much-- I highly recommend this spa!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelTropicoLatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for your feedback on the SPA, its great to hear that you liked the four hands bliss treatment.

Maria and the rest of the staff is still here, let us know if you would like to come next time you visit and we can offer you a better deal on the same treatment or on something new :) The cucumber wrap is also great!

Take care and thanks again for your kind comments, we really appreciate them.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent the tropical portion of our honeymoon at Tropico Latino and had a great time. Luz is fantastic, she helped us out left and right. We arrived unannounced a day early, and they were able to accommodate us in a nice room, then the next day we moved to our beachfront cabina - which was perfect! We arrived the day of a festival and had great food, surfing, and tremendous fun.

To the reviewer who thought they had branches scraping the roof - perhaps it was a roof iguana? There are ropes all over between the roof-lines and trees, I'd imagine to keep heavy iguanas from plopping down on guests heads. This isn't just Tropico, it's all over the area. Metal roof = nice warm place for reptiles to get a little sun. Our roof iguana moved around to the same spots each day, following the sun, and we thought he was quite cool.

Overall, if you're used to a serf buffing your toenails for you upon your arrival at a hotel, this isn't the place for you. If you respect yourself and others, and your planet, want to be right on the beach and have some of Santa Teresa's best food, by all means go to Tropico.

Room Tip: Beachfront cabinas, all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at Tropico Latino from December 24th to December 28th/ 2011. Our kids are 15 & 13. The location is great with regards to proximity to banks/ grocery/ other restaurants/ etc. All within walking distance.

The hotel itself is sweet, lovely/ lush grounds/ meandering pathways through the greenery...very pretty and private. Take note though...to walk on the gravel paths you def need flip-flops or some form of footwear, lol...or ouch! We were in Garden View Bungalow #4. It was perfect in respect to beach proximity/ proximity to pool/ restaurant/ etc. It's large enough with 2 double beds, coffee maker, small fridge, nice bathroom with large shower. They have air co as well as fans, and a very large deck with table, chairs and hammock. We also had a little outdoor tap area to rinse feet. All in all a sweet little bungalow. There were red squirrels & howlers on the property daily btw. All of the "garden view" bungalows are along the same path that runs from the pool/ restaurant area towards the road. So, even #1 which is the closest to the road in truth isn't that close to the rd. Ultimately, the difference between being in Bungalow 2 or 5 is literally a few extra steps, so don't fret over that. The "beach" bungalow does have an ocean view.....but I don't think I'd pay the extra to be in it over a garden view. Now, there are the standard rooms which are at the back of the property by the parking lot/rd. They are large rooms & the least expensive, but farthest from the beach...but "far" is relative...30 extra steps if you are on a budget ....no big deal. They have a beach front suite unit, and the new Beach house...both more $$$, but very lovely. If you are at the pool restaurant area facing the beach they are off to the right a bit.....very lovely indeed if you have the $$. The 2 bedroom house is in behind these in the jungle, a bit by itself.

Now for the restaurant....it recently changed from Al Chile Viola to Shambala so I think they are trying to find their "footing". Staff was sweet and friendly in the resto, but they were only 2 and thus it was quite slow( we weren't in a rush ). But....we found the portions very small & the prices high in comparison to other places of similar rating. Thus, we didn't frequent the restaurant on the property which was a bit of a pain. They need to adjust their prices....

The reception staff was sweet & helpful( thank you Diego) calling cabs, making reservations for us, etc. Check in and check out was fast & great.

The beach directly in front has a bit of rock formation, but a few steps left or right and its no issue...plus the little pools at lowtide are fun.

Santa Teresa is a cool little town, the beach is very beautiful, especially towards Florblanca. So north of Tropico Latino towards Florblanca is the prettiest stretch(imho).Things are indeed stretched out along the one long, dusty rd. You can walk it, just be careful. We cabbed it to restos further away ie Kikas. That would have taken a good twenty minutes to 1/2 hr. And I would never do it at night.

We ate at Kikas, Brisas del Mar, Vista de Olas, and Gumbo Limbo. Our steaks were fab at Vista de Olas. Our meal at Kikas was great. It was "good" at Brisas which is apparently "the" spot....but our best meal was at Gumbo Limbo. And great, friendly service from owner.

Our bank card did get eaten at one bank, and the other was out of cash. We got our card the next am, and the other bank had $$. It was a bit of a pain in the butt to always be going to the bank to get cash....one doesn't want to carry too much $$$ around at one time, and very, very, very few places take credit card. Keep that in mind with your planning.

Ultimately Tropico Latino was a good choice, and we got our bearing with regards to where things are...the layout, etc. Since in the end we cabbed it everywhere ( with the exception of banking/ grocery ) staying up towards the Florblanca area/ or in Malpais would be no issue. WE chose Tropico because we thought it might be more "active" for our teens, ultimately...it wasn't a dealbreaker.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My friend and i were looking to have a nice dinner in Santa Teresa for New Years Eve. Hotel Tropico Latino has a lovely restaurant called Shambala and the special menu was incredible. After sharing the gyozo and brussel sprout appetizers we both had the fish ratatouille which was amazing! After some chocolate cake with passion fruit ice cream the party moved to the beach with fire spinning, african drumming, a massive bonfire and hula hooping. The owners of the hotel are the most lovely people i have met in a very long time. The property is so beautiful and i look forward to going back and spending a few nights there. They also have an amazing spa and yoga studio on the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
Charming, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 25 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#13 of 25 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort, Santa Teresa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 25 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#9 of 25 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 25 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Address: Santa Teresa de Malpais | Cobano, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.