We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Habaneros

Habaneros
Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa 44444, Costa Rica
50626401105
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 64 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful beachfront Mexican fusion restaurant located in the highly rated Playa Cielo hotel. Daily specials according to the catch of the day. Fresh ingredients served to your table. An amazing selection of delicious, naturally flavored maragaritas to sip while watching an incredible sunset. Come and enjoy our food and atmosphere!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a tourist trap. Food was maybe a step above Chili's. I ordered Sea Bass and Shrimp. It came with a tiny piece of sea bass that was covered in cheese and quac. Why you would do that to a piece of fish is beyond me. Converting the price from colones for two meals and a couple of beers ended up being over $70. This is more than double the price we payed anywhere else, and the food was far worse!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    100
    28
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, ma
2 reviews
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location makes the food. the food is fresh and well cooked but the location really makes it a great place to eat and relax.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, great food, okay service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved this place. I would call this more "upscale" Mexican, or "Mexican inspired"...very creative, very delicious, nice size portions. The Aztec soup, amazing! Cervices appetizer was equally delicious. My daughter had the lobster tacos, which were just outstanding, and I had the seabass and shrimp with was excellent. The atmosphere is incredible. We were seated on the beach, and while we missed the sunset, the view of the ocean was outstanding. The only thing that left a bit to be desired, was the service. It wasn't terrible, but it was sort of slow, which, in and of itself doesn't bother me when I'm on vacation in Costa Rica...but it was also unattentive...again, not terrible, and certainly not a deal breaker for visiting this place again. It is worth a second meal! The prices were not cheap, but certainly not a wallet killer. The meal, for 4, came to around $150, which included a pitcher of strong margaritas, 4 apps, and 4 dinners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfect setting, on the beach, with a delightful and friendly wait staff and the best Mexican. We have been twice in a week and hope to go back again before we leave. Great live music. You won't want to leave. It's heaven.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food was outstanding - we had lobster tacos and fish nachos. They have wonderful margaritas as well - a mango/jalapeño margarita! There was great live music, and it's right on the beach. Try to sit away from the kitchen, as our table was REALLY hot. There are tables on the beach that are probably breezier.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habaneros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.