We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favorite place in costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi

Save Saved
You added Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi
Santa Teresa St, 100 m' from 'Zula' restaurant and 50 m' from 'Super fresco', Santa Teresa 123456, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
“my favorite place in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

we came to the hostel for one week and decided to stay another week. moved on to Jaco and understood that we miss what we had in Santa Teresa so we came back until the end of the vacation.
Maximo and Asi (and Gingi who we met in the last week) who worked there lived according the saying "pura vide" and created very calm atmosphere. the place built in very social structure that make every bode feel comfortable to come and meet the other travelers but still you have private spots.
the population of travelers who comes to the hostel are mostly surfers and very high quality people. we met there people that we definitely call friends.
The beaches and the waves are amazing but of course I can tell whole pages about that!
two last things:
1. be carful in the beaches and don't bring things that expensive or important to you cus there are a lot (!!!) thief there. like in the whole south and central America.
2. if you don't know haw to surf- do(!) take a surf lesson from Maximo! he is great!
love you hostel seven!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a private room in Hostel 7. It is in a great location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Very helpful, friendly staff. Always willing to go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. Private rooms are clean with a fair bit of room. Lots of hammocks on the grounds so plenty of places to chill out. Book exchange also available if you are in need a new book in your travels. All in all a great place to stay in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My post about Gingi's was not submitted months ago, but this place is so great I needed to share it again! I was welcomed at Gingi's when I showed up, my first time in Costa Rica. I was so happy with the friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. I stayed in a room with 4 bunks. Everything was clean and bright. There's always someone hanging out to talk with, and it's the best place to stay if you want to learn to surf. The beach is just down the road, and it is gorgeous...
If you want a laid-back place to stay with interesting folks, relax on the beach, close to shops and food... Gingi's is the place to go! I can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent about 1 month in Hostel 7. There seem to always be people staying for extended periods in the hostel so it feels like you're living in a house rather than a hostel. The staff are excellent and the owner is really involved, passing by many times per day to see how things are. I slept in a hammock outside during my stay. The property is covered with trees, many bearing edible fruit. It is about 100m off the main road so you don't get smothered in dust that Santa Teresa is infamous for nor the noise of all the quads and motorbikes bombing around. At the corner of the main road there is one of the best supermarkets and above the supermarket is a surfshop. The road the hostel is on is decent for birding in the mornings. There is a pool table and I think Gingi is putting in a pingpong table within a week. If you stay here, please do you dishes, including at night!! The best waves for surfing are in Santa Teresa which is about 20 minutes walking. There are surf breaks 5 minutes walking from the hostel, too (Banana Beach and Playa Carmen).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Gingi is a great person and his hotel was a great experience for me.
the place is clean and with great atmosphere!
the hostel is close to the beach, restaurants etc.
there is a lot to do in the hostel if you decide to stay and not going out.
have to try it if you visit Santa Teresa

thank you Hostel Seven and see you next time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hostel 7 Casa de Gingi on and off from January thru March 2013. It is by far the best hostel in Santa Teresa. The location is perfect. Hostel 7 is on a quiet side street, set back off the main road. Only 2 min walk to supermarket, restaurants, surfshop, etc... The beach is about a 5 min walk. The hostel has clean rooms, nice big clean kitchen (w 2 fridges) for guests to use, pool table, basketball hoop, bikes and surfboards for rent, WIFI, and a huge yard w lots of hammocks and palm trees and nice shady spots to camp (they rent out tents as well). Without a doubt, one of the best parts about Hostel 7 is the great staff working there. All really helpful, friendly folks- in particular the owner, Gingi. He goes out of his way to make sure every one is enjoying their stay. Gingi knows the area incredibly well and anything you want to know- he is the man to ask. Hostel 7 is an awesome spot and we cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We want to give a warm recommendation of Hostel seven in Santa Teresa. The original plan was to stay two nights, and we end up staying over a week , thanks to the good atmosphere and worm feeling we resived from the staff. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. the shared kitchen is clean and fully equipped. the staff is very friendly and always willing to help with anything ,with a smile and good will. The location is great -close to the beach and to the center. Gingi,the owner of the place, has an extensive knowledge and always ready to give advice and help. Gingi also has new upgraded luxury apartments (close to the hostel ) with a privet upgraded fully equipped kitchen which we stayed in for a few nights and had the best time. Shortly-go to hostel seven!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi

Address: Santa Teresa St, 100 m' from 'Zula' restaurant and 50 m' from 'Super fresco', Santa Teresa 123456, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Specialty lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors, Welcome to Santa Teresa Costa Rica – HOSTEL SEVEN7 Casa Del GingiHostel 7 also known as "Gingi house" (Casa Del Gingi) is situated about 100 meters from the beach and is located in the center of the jungle the "heart" of Santa Teresa.We have privacy Cabins, including air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water, refrigerator private double or single bed, and more.. We also have a beautiful large House with shared rooms and some private space too, which includes a giant kitchen that has everything you need to make your holiday special time. In addition there is a common living room with sitting areas with satellite TV with all channels, PlayStation and full of comfortable sofas that you can relax whenever you want. Outside the house there is a huge garden full of tropical natural fruit trees including mango, papaya, bananas, coconut and more. In our place we also got a basketball court which is the best in the area, and there is a magnificent Pool table too. All our guests can enjoy our free Wi-Fi connection.It is possible to sleep in tents or rental tents for those who did not want to carry much from the house (:There is also an excellent restaurant that includes fresh smoothies and Israeli tasty food with many options that you also can choose what will come to your imagination.There are sitting areas and hammocks scattered all over the place comfortable sofas and most importantly a warm atmosphere of laughter and lots of fun.In Hostel 7 you can also get information on activities in the hottest extreme adventure and also to get a discount for surfing lessons. And of course you can also get laundry service whenever you like to.Hope to see you, Hostel 7 team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.