We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian passion in every dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of al chile viola

al chile viola
Santa Teresa | 200 mts norte del Supermercado La Hacienda, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
0050626400433
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 56 restaurants in Santa Teresa
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian passion in every dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We dined at Chile Viola 2 nights during our week long visit in Santa Teresa. The drinks we delicious - I recommend Green Feather (made with avocado). The food was excellent and the portions were big. The homemade brownie with banana was fabulous. We loved Emiliano and his wife. They are so dedicated and welcoming. I highly recommend Chile Viola!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    84
    12
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everyone I spoke to mentioned this restaurant. It is a lovely setting.

We had the tuna tartare which was excellent.

Shared the ravioli which was good but not great. Also shared another pasta dish which was very average and they used far too much oil.

Drinks were very good. Overall we liked this restaurant but I would not say that it is the best food in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST FOOD IN TOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

lovely place and great food in family ambient,i order a special plate that the italian chef Emiliano
suggest to me and was amazing, i stay 4 days in santa teresa and i eat there 3 time and always was exelent i realli recomended

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian cuisine with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I returned to Santa Teresa this year and found Al Chile Viola a short walk from our accommodation - Red Palm Villas.

The food here is excellent. Over a ten night stay we ended up eating here on six nights because of the quality of the food and service. We introduced some friends to the restaurant and they joined us for several nights with the same thoughts and compliments.

A wide range of antipasti dishes on the core menu along with some pastas are then added to by an extensive blackboard of specials which changed every evening. Salads, pastas, fish dishes, meat dishes - something for everyone, coupled with a large drinks menu and some specials every night.

Luz and her husband were great hosts, and on every evening we were made to feel very welcome. On the rare occasion that the service was not immaculate (due to the restaurant being busier than expected) we were very quickly apologized to, and a courtesy drink was offered at the end of the meal - a sign to me of true service and someone who cares that their customers are happy.

Highly recommended for anyone who appreciates great food and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife & I along w/ our fellow travelers were hungry and decided to hit the 1st restaurant in Santa Teresa that was open. We happened upon this unassuming place & decided to give it a try. I ordered for an appetizer "Bull's Balls Ravioli" and a fish dish. My wife had a vegetarian dish & the others had different dishes. All were fabulous. The chef, Emiliano, visited our table and his beautiful wife, Luz, was the wait staff. We are. All foodies and spoke at length with Luz about cuisines. She talked about a special Valencian Paella that included no fish, but rabbit and chicken. Luz said that they would put it on the menu the nextFriday. We came and the wait was worth it. We learned an entire new dish. In addition, their Mojitos (with a splash of ginger) out did any Mojitos we had in Puerto Rico. Best restaurant in Santa Teresa is unquestionably Al Chile Viola!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al chile viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas

Been to al chile viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage al chile viola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.